We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy retreat from the Manchester weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“cosy retreat from the Manchester weather”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed for one night between Christmas and New Year using free reward points. Have stayed before and happy to see that the good standard continues. The hotel is converted from old warehouses and this gives it character.
Our room was large and overlooked the river. Staff are nice and the bar serves a particularly good and reasonably priced vodka martini.
Marriott beds have got to be the most comfortable of any of the chains. Looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is made up of two connected warehouses and the one furthest down the corridors from recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faddywaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    598
    230
    80
    59
See reviews for
194
787
57
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
anglesey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We have visited this hotel for at least 15 yrs on/off ,never been disappointed,we only do b&b and also great position,city center and yet not noisy.x

Room Tip: parking extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skibabyAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the manchester marriot hotel, the hotel is furnished to a high standard, and the staff friendly and helpful. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever experianced. City centre is around ten mins walk, opera theatre 5 min walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Staying at this hotel was actually better than I had expected. The location is probably a bit further out than some of the more central Manchester hotels (if you're walking) but the hotel is tastefully decorated (albeit in typical Mariott chinzy / country house style), clean and rooms are spacious. I wouldn't necessarily stay here on an ongoing basis but if you need somewhere to stay overnight it's a good option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We arrived on Friday 30th for a 2 night break including the masquerade ball and it was just perfect from start to finish.

We had a standard room (216) and this was perfect for us, our friends had upgraded to a suite at an additional cost but we decided not to upgrade and was not disappointed with our room quote the opposite it had real character and charm. Plus the bed was huge and so comfy that we really didn't want to get out......

Breakfast.... well they do say this is the most important meal of the day and V & A certainly make sure you have a feast to set you up for the day!! The mushrooms were amazing and everything was fresh, the room is small but no one was waiting long before you get a table.

Lunch..... on our first day we decided to get a bite to eat and the food again was lovely. My husband enjoyed his fish and chips!

Masquerade Ball....the food was devine from the first course to the coffee. Each course was as tasty as the last and cooked to perfection. Now, may be I am slightly biased as I love beef medallion's medium cooked. The whole evening was perfect we had a fabulous table and met 4 lovely girls and really ended 2011 in style and welcomed in 2012.

The downside..... the prices for drinks......

When will hotels learn that charging excessive prices for drinks is a big no no..... we ordered 4 small cokes and was charged over £10 now that is a crime.......

However, this did not ruin our evening.

I will return....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I used to stay at this hotel quite often, but gave up when both room heaters and hot water systems weren't maintained properly. I like a hotel in a building with some character - and these old warehouses have exposed beams etc. The memorabilia from the nearby Granada Studios seems to have disappeared, but at least the room heaters don't bang and rattle!

That said, I stayed in a room at the end of the property that was chilly, especially the bathroom. The room itself was large, clean and fairly well maintained. I'd love the addition of a bedside radio, free wifi, and a night light in the bathroom, but the basis were all present and correct.

Parking is a problem - but the nearest multi storey is not far away - NCP on Spinningfields.

Try and bag a seat in the restaurant that overlooks the water - and watch the rowers going up and down as you tuck into a full english!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keitharrowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed here while attending a concert at MEN arena, easy walking to city centre and MEN. The hotel is made up of 2 old docks, Victoria and Albert, hence the name. Our room was actually in the next building connected via a long corridor and due to building regulations not like the normal Marriott, large and a little quaint. Light switches all in the wrong place. Car was valet parked in a warehouse next door so there was no quick get away. When we needed the car had to summon staff as no bell boys waiting. Didn't stay for dinner or breakfast, walked into town for both.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HbsLittlehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4,940 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing