We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit to Greens”

Greens Restaurant - Didsbury
Ranked #110 of 2,279 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“first visit to Greens”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Group of 4, 2 veggies, 2 not! However we all thoroughly enjoyed the food, the choice was fabulous and Ed all cleared our plates and planned when we will return. The staff were friendly and helpful without being 'too much'. If any negative comment it would be the noise level, the decor is good to look at but from an acoustic perspective was like having a conversation at a swimming pool. We were seated through to the back so not sure if this applies all round.
Homebrew we will be sure to return, I am particularly keen to try the Sunday roast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverlyT366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    224
    103
    48
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“just perfect”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A great restaurant with warm and helpful staff, very pleasant decor. The menu had just the right amount of choices. Portions sizes perfect. As was the meal itself. We will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“2meat eaters and a veggie restaurant !!!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

After having been recommended this restaurant by a friend ( also a meat eater) thought we would give it a try , so booked for a Saturday night for our 35 wedding anniversary ,thought after all these years we'd try something different ! After a fraught time attempting to park and panicking about being late we entered a busy restaurant and felt immediately at ease the waitress was very good and really friendly and looking round everyone seemed relaxed and happy. The food was exceptional and for a 1st veggie meal I was pretty blown away the deep fried oyster mushrooms followed by the pepper pot stew and the polenta cake ,really couldn't fault anything,and didn't miss the meats at all !!!!! We will definitely be returning and recommending to other friends ! Thank brill,,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“disappointing gourmet night but still my fave place”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

my husband and i visited greens yet again because we love it.......not the best this time.....it was gourmet night which we have been to before and loved it .....it took ages for the food to arrive and we had no nibbles while we waited so we were starving by the time the very small starter arrived.it was ok but didn't blow me away.still hungry.main course was actually terrible.the pastry was burnt on top and soggy on bottom and the filling was bland.the dessert was ok but on the way home we got a takeaway from the indian restaurant as we were still hungry.i will go again as it is normally fantastic but i wont be going to a gourmet night as there is not enough food and there is far too much waiting around on uncomfortable seats......backache.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joebloggs90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A menu to excite any vegetarian”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The menu is a real treat for vegetarians as of course you could eat anything - but the food is so well prepared that carnivores would have to be churlish not to really enjoy it.
The first courses are different and very well prepared- samphire, potatoes and crispy egg is a wonderful combination, beautifully presented and delicious - so much better that the description. There is a great range of first courses which make deciding difficult. Main courses have some more common dishes like spinach in filo and squash with veg and chilli - all good but the veg black pudding kedgeree was different and really delicious. Deserts were ok.
Good atmosphere and good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanrobertsforgetmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens Restaurant - Didsbury also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Greens Restaurant - Didsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing