We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not much sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Manchester
Ranked #36 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Overall the hotel was clean and welcomiing. Just picked the wrong time as a hen party was staying and we ended up with not getting any sleep. Also when we booked the room on the internet we booked at triple room which was clearly stated on bookng , but when we arrived was told there is no triple rooms. This was a slight inconveinience

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemsmith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,852)
There are newer reviews for Jurys Inn Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,639 - 2,645 of 2,852 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

We arrived at the hotel on Monday 31st October for a 2 night stay.

The look of the hotel was modern and well kept.
Check in was painless, maybe a little clinical but ok. Although we did have to ask where breakfast was served and the times as well, barring that everything was OK.

The room on the second floor was well maintained, the view from the window was of the oposite side of the hotel, but it was quiet, decent TV and comfortable bed.

The Showers are NOT power showers and were a big disappointment.

Breakfast down stairs was intresting. Having to wait to be seated, I got my name ticked off the sheet and said go on in. SO I was not waiting to be seated, just get my name checked off and then fight for some seating!
The breakfast area was packed and most tables being used. I finally found an empty table and then had to find knives forks spoons and napkins myself to put on it!
I thought this may just have been a one off, but exactly the shame thing happened the next day!
Having said that the hot breakfast was delicious and regularly topped up.

So all in all the hotel was fine and if you get a good Bed & Breakfast rate its worth booking.

There is No parking at the hotel so you have to use the NCP underneath Manchester Central (GMEX as was) the hotel offer a 15% discount on the NCP rate which is £18.60 per 24 hours. So not cheap and just something to be aware of!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwallis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stopped here for 1 night due to seeing a concert at the Bridgewater Hall. Truthfully I wished we had stayed in the Premier Inn! We booked 2 rooms connecting and when we arrived were told that we had not booked this. We were told however that we had booked a room on the lower floor which we did not? Even though the hotel said we had booked a room on the lower floor they decided to put us on floor 6 (which happens to be the highest floor in the hotel). The staff member that checked us in was not very helpful and everything seemed like it was a problem. She even told us that for our troubles atleast our room faced onto the canal however when we got to our room there was no canal view! All we could see was a brick wall! Our room stank of a damp sweat type of smell. We thought it had something to do with the shower curtain in the bathroom so we had to had the window open as wide as possible for the duration of our stay. The rooms are extremely small. Breakfast was ok. The only thing really good about this hotel is that it is very close to the Bridgewater Hall so if you are going to see a concert there its only a 2 minute walk! Have stayed at the Jurys Inn in Newcastle in the past and really enjoyed it. I would personally not recommend the Jurys Inn Manchester and will not be staying at anymore Jurys Inn Hotels in the future.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the 6th floor. All you can see if a brick wall from your window!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The staff at the reception desk were very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel was only 3 minutes walk from the city centre. I paid for 66 gbp for a Sunday night, it was worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAOJUN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This low cost hotel is ideal for that short /weekedn break.

Clean and well presented rooms, plus Family rooms for 3 persons
Pleasant and helpful staff
Located centrally for the city ammenities

Room Tip: Girls in a group? Get a family room- sleeps 3 with lots of room
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haigh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I arrived with my partner on Monday 24 October for a short stay whilst being on a Granada studios production. This was for 2 days and would have extended to 3 if we was needed. Thank god that did not happen as this place was awful.

To start with I will say the room was nice and fresh and clean and the hotel looks welcoming but looks and appeal can be deceiving.

First of all we was shocked to find although the safety deposit box was free from reception if you lost your key it was a whopping £250 deposit, yes £250 I am not kidding you. That to us was extreme as no replacement key for a safety deposit box would ever cost that much maybe £25 and up to £50 but no more its just extreme greed. We had to for one day for our passports but soon gave it back as we couldn't pay it if it had been lost and wouldn't have paid that much anyway and on doing so was told which was not done at the beginning when given the key that we had to have a master key first which took a sloppy and grumpy worked receptionist 20 minutes to do so.

The rooms well the key had to be recharged one day it it somehow would not let us use it for the lift (yes you needed it for the lift) the place was like a high security prison.When we reached are rooms tired from a 3 hour and a half journey from Skegness we found No bottled water in our rooms, the pillows with holes in them and the bathroom with soap and shampoo that didn't lather up well, a toilet that made a lot of noise when flushed so it woke the other person up in the middle of the night if you went, a view not to die for meaning a stinky canal and opposite offices meaning to get any peace and privacy you needed you curtains shut at all times, and a window that hardly opened and air conditioning that was faulty.

We went to breakfast on the last morning to find No milk for cereals or coffee or tea and no bananas, and as for the breakfast items of sausages,eggs and bacon very poorly cooked and dry as a bone.

We also visited the bar and asked for a small wine which wasn't poured up to the line and a half of beer which the bar man said they didn't serve half pints, we were flummoxed we asked how much a pint was and it was £3.78 which we declined, we asked why they had no half pints and the bar man called Donald said he did not know what a half pint looks like and had none but we saw one and pointed it out after which he remarked is that a half pint glass,we chuckled and said yes, the wine we asked for was supposed to be dry but it came out medium he clearly wasn't trained enough. Our bar bill came to £4.90. The brewery and weights and measures would have a ball. Anyhow we immediately afterwards complained and was offered a free drink but refused as it wasn't the principal and loud football on in the background with lager louts wasn't our forte. We didn't take it lightly to being ripped off at Night Club prices.

We never had dinner there as fish and chips for instance was £9.95 and a plain filled sandwich was over £5 I mean come on they are not the Ritz!!!

When it came to the last morning on our departure day we had a wake up call at 7am sharp of a loud telephone ring which we had not asked for as we planned to get up later around 9.30 am and then there was a loud noise of a bang on the reverse wall from another room how charming, so we got up, dressed only one of us had breakfast and then we packed and went to reception to check out and get out of the place. We told the receptionist of the loud bang and wake up call which we had not planned or bargained for and the receptionist said because we asked for an early morning wake up call on the Tuesday Morning it was automatically on the system for the next day and would not be taken off, I explained that if we did not ask for another one the next morning they should have taken it off the system, we were not impressed. So we checked out and left the Hotel not to be going back there again unless forced.

I would say view this hotel with caution as the prices are ridiculous for what you get and if you do try this place buy a B&B as a breakfast alone is £8.95 very expensive.

Just because its 5 minutes from the city centre does not mean they have to have city centre prices!

Book here at your own risk is all we can say.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the canal, only get a safety deposit box if you really have to, and be war...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

6 of us went down to Manchester for a night out - we had 3 people in each room comfortably. Very clean - good central location - friendly staff - a shame there is no onsite car park - bar quite expensive, but like I said good for what we needed. Good Value

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IWH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,539 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Manchester

Address: 56 Great Bridgewater Street, Manchester M1 5LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Manchester
#25 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#29 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $86 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Manchester 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Manchester offers 265 new stylish and spacious bedrooms including free high speed WiFi, air conditioning, generous work desk area with an ergonomic chair, bespoke DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, 42” flat screen TV with Free View. Guests can kick start their day with an extensive selection of hot, cold and healthy options from the breakfast buffet. Enjoy a freshly brewed Bean to Cup organic coffee to perk up for the day ahead. Lunch and dinner is also available from Oddsocks Bar & Kitchen located on the lower ground floor and offers a selection of tasty food and drinks in a quirky and contemporary setting. The main menu features a range of traditional range of main course options including their signature Burgers alongside other British favourites. Jurys inn is located in the centre of Manchester, close to St Peters Square and directly opposite Manchester Central Convention Centre and the Bridgewater Hall – perfect for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jurys Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Manchester Hotel Manchester
Jurys Hotel Manchester
Manchester Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing