We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of RBG Restaurant

RBG Restaurant
Ranked #1,542 of 2,296 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American, French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a lovely meal, the food was great. Only downside was the drinks were a bit pricey but is expected in Manchester I guess.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luckys961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    21
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dalton in Furness
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Only use if no other option”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Went here tonight only because we were stopping in the Hotel and were off to a gig later in evening, after a day of traipsing round stores we couldn't face another hike out to eat.

Vastly over priced for what was pretty under whelming fare.
I had a 'Pulled pork' burger with fries while my partner had Lamb rump with a handful of sweet potato, four halves of lager, no starters or sweets yet the bill was over £34.00, I know it's a Hotel and the whole 'Hotel price' thing but sorry, this is still vastly overpriced very average food...at best.

Would I recommend?.....no, get a taxi or walk there's far better restaurant's to be had by far.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother !”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited last night , hoping to get a nice meal before Bruno Mars concert at the nearby Manchester Arena. We were seated and ordered drinks( water & a glass of wine ) which took 15 mins to arrive. Our food order was taken ,pizza & chicken burger!and45mins later no food!
After several ensures as to where our food was and complaining. Our food finally arrived after a 55min wait. Food was below average and service from staff was very poor.it would be quicker to go to Mcdonals ! Avoid !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unityhaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Truly terrible and never actually got fed!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having made a reservation for my wife and I for a pre-concert meal at 6pm (before going to a concert at the nearby Manchester Arena) and having pre-selected their special pre-concert menu I was pleased to see my reservation marked for the pre-concert deal on the sheet at the front desk on arrival. So far so good, but sadly, that was the last thing that went right!

It turned out that, although they had taken the reservation - and we were on time - no table had actually been reserved for us and all were full with the exception of what appeared to be some bar stools at a high table in one corner to which we were ushered.

We were given menus and then ignored for a while. Unable to get anyone's attention and upon going back to the desk to ask if the menu we were selecting from was the pre-concert menu we were advised it wasn't and were presented with another one.

Having selected our meals we were then informed that because they were very busy,it would take an hour or more to serve us. And this for a pre-booked limited menu pre-concert deal where time is obviously crucial!

Not wanting to miss the concert, we had no option but to leave and go to the Arena without ever actually getting a meal at all.

Hard to see how the restaurant could have managed this any worse really.

Avoid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royinyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Typical hotel restaurant”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

They have changed the menu since I was here in December 2012 and in my opinion it is better. There is a set 3-course menu for £18 or a la carte selection. Friendly staff, good selection of food at reasonable prices.
Food was delivered in good time and was enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank McDoogan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RBG Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to RBG Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing