We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bargain lunch special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yuzu Manchester

Yuzu Manchester
Ranked #319 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bargain lunch special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

£8.95 for 4 perfect (and large) prawn gyoza, rice pickles and miso. I'll definitely be back to try the rest of the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    60
    23
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“small but delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

After reading the review in the Guardian we booked a table for five on Saturday evening. This is a very small restaurant and we had to sit in a row facing the wall, which made it difficult to talk to one another, but the food was excellent. The waiters served us, but did not keep coming back fussing and asking if all was ok as in some places is what happens. We ordered starters and main courses and asked for them to come all at the same time, and this is what we got. Very pleasant. Only changes I would make are turn off the pop music, only one toilet meant having to queue and having to sit facing the wall was not ideal. Otherwise very good. would certainly return if I am in Manchester again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brummyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire Uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

As you enter you think you are in for a treat sadly dissapointing. NO yakitori, amateur waitress who didn't understand the dishes. Main courses all deep fried.lukewarm green tea , lukewarm miso soup.More non fried options please
Most Japanese restaurants are spotless whilst it wasn't dirty it somehow didn't feel like Japanese restaurants I have visited elsewhere.
Shame as I think it has potential.in the end wished I'd eaten in a Chinese or Yo Sushi

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank malabar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked for dinner after its review in The Guardian however the experience was a real disappointment. Some of the food was no longer available on the menu and when the food finally arrived they may have tasted great because they came out so late and we were hungry. The staff didn't clear the used plates when they brought out new dishes. They served us the miso soups without spoons and we had no chopsticks for the other dishes. They had to be told on a couple of occasions how to do the simplest of their job. There was no obvious manager on duty. The staff were not attentive and stayed out of sight unless they were serving food. They forgot some of our order so we cancelled those dishes and they weren't even apologetic or offered us any compensation. We won't be returning there again. Our local Kyotoya in Withington is far better in food and service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ran out of prawns, Tuna, chicken thighs, etc etc”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

After reading some great reviews we travelled from near Leeds for a Birthday on a Saturday evening 8.00pm. (Not late)
Sat down reading menu, and was told 4 menu items were not available and no Tuna! So we ordered our meals 5 minutes later we were told sorry no Prawns, no chicken thighs so we had to order more from by this time quite a limited menu, oh and no Pork dish! This was a Saturday evening and not late where you expect to be able to have Tuna, & prawns at the very least.
Never mind all the other things they had run out of. I rang 3 other restaurants of course all full. We stayed and enjoyed what we had but very disappointed. Particularly when we drove a total of 1hr 40minutes to go somewhere authentic! Very disappointed, would we go again, what do you think!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuzu Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Yuzu Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing