We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Japanese” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yuzu Manchester

Yuzu Manchester
Ranked #312 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our visit here, it's quite small, but a lot of attention goes into the dishes, it's reasonably priced and you will be full at the end of the meal. Thought the service was good too, would recommend to anyone who wants an authentic Japanese meal!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    60
    24
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had an exceptional meal here last week, food was delicious, everything you want from Japanese cuisine: clean and refreshing, doesn't sit heavy on the stomach but delivers huge flavours and interesting textures. Will be returning asap to eat more. Nice selection of Sake too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CampingJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I went to Yuzu for the third time on Friday and as usual, everything was perfect. The restaurant is small and cosy and looks great. The service came with a smile and our food was brought promptly and with excellent presentation. I had a Sapporo lager which was delightful and started with Gyoza which was light, tasty and the perfect size for a starter. I chose the Tendon for my main which was tempura battered King Prawns and Veg served with rice. Again, this delicious and light. The prawns were meaty and tasty and the rice perfectly cooked. To top it off, the food is remarkably reasonably priced. This isn't my primary consideration when it comes to eating out but I could not fail to be impressed when the total bill for two drinks, two starters and two mains comes to £33.

This is one of my absolute favourite restaurants in Manchester and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UWuderkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The only authentic Japanese in Manchester.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stung by Sapporo? Terrified by Teriyaki? Walloped by Wasabi?

Of all the purported "Japanese" places in Manchester, none can match Yuzu in terms of authenticity. The sashimi is fresh (not powdery and icky, raw fish is delicate business that can go so very wrong so very quickly), the rice dishes whilst not wildly exciting were executed undisappointingly, and the Agedashi tofu comes perfectly proportioned, not the cheap tempura batter other places try to pass off as Agedashi tofu.

Pity about the lack of proper dining space though, and the Vietnamese karaoke bar next door or this place would've been 5/5

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Proper Japanese in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

At last, a real Japanese restaurant in Manchester at realistic prices arrives (and it's probably been open for some time). The chicken kara age was different but still had foundations in the traditional - coming with a zingy citrus sauce instead. Whilst my maguro don was a reasonably portioned dish.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank algray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuzu Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Yuzu Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing