We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed!!”

Bella Italia - Manchester Arndale
Ranked #1,165 of 2,245 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The legendary Arndale Centre in central Manchester is home to the excellent Bella Italia, where great Italian food at great prices is served. Set amongst the hundreds of shops in this huge indoor shopping complex, Bella Italia offers rustic yet stylish interiors, with lots of dark polished wood and walls adorned with poster prints. There is a lovely terrace outside the main dining room where diners can enjoy the buzz of the shopping centre. Aside from the a la carte menu Bella Italia offers great value set menus too where you might start with a warming soup of the day with ciabatta followed by a Sorrentina Fusilli (fusilli pasta with tomato, mozzarella and basil sauce). Finish with a zesty lemon tart with cream.
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Impressed!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to eat on a very busy saturday in Manchester. This place was very busy , but we were seated straight away and given a menu to browse. We both opted for pizza's and I must say, after not expecting them to be great, they were very very tasty. Would definately go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThePalminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    66
    69
    49
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was good, Terrible service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were seated in a very cold spot with people walking by and then waited quite a bit to even receive a menu which in my opinion we should have been given when we were seated. I must say when the food arrived it was very nice although my friend had potatoes that were cold that came with her seabass mines was a nice lemony herb chicken and pasta dish. When we finished eating we stacked out plates on top of each other and proceeded to wait for someone to come over and take them away and offer us the bill but whilst they did this for a family who were seated after us they ignored me and my friend and eventually after a very long time i had to basically shout someone over to ask for the bill even although the lady who seated people could clearly see that we were waiting for the bill but failed to inform her fellow employees.

This was on my birthday so i wasnt happy and tipped them about 30p because you tip for service and quite frankly it was appaulling I felt ignored and undervalued and Ive eaten in the bella italia in Glasgow and it was a friendly authentic italian atmosphere and this one did not meet my expectations!

Even although i personally think nandos is overrated its next door to this restaurant and i suggest you go there for better service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Long wait - luke warm food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Visiting the Arndale centre in Manchester decided to rest our weary feet and enjoy a lunch special at the Bella Italia restaurant. Having been shown to a table we were attended to by friendly staff and ordered our two course lunch, the first course arrived swiftly but we waited an age for the second course ( Pizza ) which seemed very odd as the restaurant was not very busy. During our wait we were approached by a customer sitting not far from us who came over to express her disgust in having to return her pizza as it was stone cold we were sympathetic but could not really comment, she then abruptly left the restaurant.
Eventually we received our second course (Pizza) and found that whilst the plates were hot the food was to say the least only luke warm, we did not protest but decided that should we return to the Arndale Centre we would not be eating at Bella Italia. In conclusion it would appear the restaurant manager needs to investigate why the long interval between courses and why the temperature of the food is not up to standard or are we talking of straight from freezer to microwave? without adequate care!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnHerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visited with 5 family members on a Saturday at 5.30 having previously booked a table. On arrival we were told no table had been reserved but eventually one was provided. one main dish was off the menu but following that we were visited at table 5 times with problems. They ran out of draught beer! chilled wine, small desserts etc. We were offered alternatives but the alternatives were not satisfactory.and incurred extra costs to us. The waiter was nice enough and it was not his fault but I think he was embarassed by the end. We would not visit there again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food not bad, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

It was quite busy when we tried our luck for a table so we were expecting quite a wait. We probably waited about 20 minutes for the food once ordered, it was fine, as expected from a large franchise really and the service was very good, the waiter polite.

We were eating with our 3 children, they all enjoyed it and made the most of their colouring packs that they each got.

I'd definitely eat here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShellyBobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia - Manchester Arndale also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Salford, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bella Italia - Manchester Arndale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing