We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1847 Manchester

1847 Manchester
Ranked #125 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $37
Cuisines: British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Entrance on Booth Street
Transit: Tram Stops: Mosley St or St Peters Square
Description: Manchester city centres only Vegetarian restaurant, open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner. Our kitchen is headed by Roman Labat with menus inspired by British classics with a twist. Head Chef Sam Morgan
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I am a vegan and my boyfriend is a vegetarian and we have been meaning to visit this restaurant for a while and we were not disappointed. There was an amazing atmosphere and we had a wonderful table right by the window. It was very busy and even though the restaurant is quite small you could still hear yourself.

The food was just amazing and the cocktails were divine. The waitresses were friendly and helpful and it was an all round perfect evening. It is definitely our new favourite restaurant and we will be returning very soon to sample more of the menu and the cocktails!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    249
    109
    74
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited January 2014, starter of ice on bread which didn't match description, main wasn't nice and still charged for started despite complaining twice. Booked table for two was the size of a postage stamp and cutlery recycled between meals

Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienDavenport, Owner at 1847 Manchester, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Really sorry to hear about your experience of 1847.

The dish you mention is the vodka tomato 'crostini', smoked celery, tabasco ketchup topped with apple granita. This dish has been popular since introducing it although I am sorry to hear you never enjoyed. I'm not too sure of your main course?

We do replenish used cutlery between courses as we feel it better for customers to have clean cutlery for any course.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any further feedback. damien@bistro1847.co.uk

Kind Regards

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Visiting Manchester I had looked on trip adviser in search of vegetarian places to eat - the bistro sounded good and certainly lived up to the other good reviews. Although this little gem has quite small Menu I could have chosen every item off of the menu - it has had great thought gone into it, unusual, very beautiful and delicious dishes - full marks to the chef on flavours and presentation!! We also had 2 of the very unique cocktails which were equally exquisite - a totally enjoyable evening!! Just rubbish that we live in Cornwall and won't be able to visit again more frequently now found :-/

Helpful?
Thank Lozilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire1
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Improved with new chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have eaten here a few times but it can be very quiet at times.

We are strict vegetarian but had been disappointed by the lack of variety. Same menu- year in year out- so why come back?

It does seem as though things have changed with a new chef and more varied menu. Cocktails were VERY nice too.

I hope things continue to improve- the food was a vast improvement last time we went

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshire159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Okay, we did all order the same dish, but the idea of serving fish & chips with halloumi replacing the fish (which we first encountered in Terre a Terre, Brighton) is growing in popularity and rightly so.
Here, though there's a twist: you can order smoked tofu in place of the cheese! So that's what I did, with the other two going for the halloumi.
It was fabulous, (if that doesn't sound too luvvie). The hand-cut chips and mushy peas set it all off very well, and the (early Sunday lunch) service was quick enough for our busy schedule.
Well impressed, and we'll be back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank harry_harris_norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1847 Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to 1847 Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing