We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, top drawer, please visit !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1847 Manchester

1847 Manchester
Ranked #124 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Entrance on Booth Street
Transit: Tram Stops: Mosley St or St Peters Square
Description: Manchester city centres only Vegetarian restaurant, open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner. Our kitchen is headed by Roman Labat with menus inspired by British classics with a twist. Head Chef Sam Morgan
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect, top drawer, please visit !!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited this restaurant on Sat 8 June 2013, a table for 2 at 5pm.
My partner is a veggie but i'm not and as it was a treat for her that evening I booked this place as a surprise.
WE LOVED IT!!!
I have to say , this was the best food we have had in a long time. Everything was perfect.
The restaurant wasn't packed as we booked at 5pm but still had a nice atmosphere.
**Fast service.
**Nice menu.
**Very good food.
**Good selection of drinks.
**Very good value.

please visit and take no notice of (1 or 2 ) strange people on here who were disappointed.

Amazing start to an evening topped off by Rod Stewart in concert later!

Neil & Carole
Stockton Heath,Warrington.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nvernon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    254
    109
    74
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the second time I've been here, and the food was fantastic. It was great quality and value for money and the staff were friendly. It was very quiet (for some reason) when we visited but it still had a lovely atmosphere and the visit was thoroughly enjoyable. We will be visiting again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolutely pleasure”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've visited 1847 a few times now and every visit has been a delight. The food is beautifully presented and tastes wonderful, noting I'm neither vegetarian, or vegan. The service is excellent, with very friendly and attentive staff. The restaurant itself is very cosy and quaint, a good size so conversation isn't drowned out, offering a very enjoyable experience all round.

Would happily recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My partner and I were in search of a good vegetarian meal following our overnight flight into Manchester, and we didn't have to look far. We almost literally stumbled across 1847 Bistro after visiting the Manchester Museum -- and we were lucky we did! Both food and service here are top quality. The menu provides a wealth of vegetarian and vegan choices; so many, in fact, we had a hard time making our final selection. The creative and tasty food reminded us of the finest vegan and vegetarian restaurants we have eaten at. The atmosphere is high-end, with modern furnishings and tasteful decorations. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plt981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Vegan 'Fish' and Chips!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The food here was excellent. We both had the 'Fish' & Chips, one the vegetarian battered haloumi version, the other the battered tofu. Both were fantastic and came served with a pea puree, capers.
The only down point was the lack of choice of vegan desserts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmmaMark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1847 Manchester also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to 1847 Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing