We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

San Carlo Cicchetti
Ranked #171 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We usually eat In San Carlos but have been put off lately for various reasons. Tried this out before a concert and loved it. But like Italian tapas and the food was excellent. Service was good and loved the restaurant decor. Would recommend a visit-,we loved it!

Helpful?
Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    286
    120
    83
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“size doesn't always matter!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

San Carlo Cicchetti on Bridge Street, Manchester is attached to Kendals (House of Fraser) Store on Deansgate. The menu is fairly short yet very appetising. Dishes are small and designed for sharing or to be eaten by one person, a little like the Italian version of Tapas. The restaurant is buzzing (we ate at lunch time Saturday) and has a very welcoming atmosphere. The decor is very Italianate (not the traditional type of Italianate - more contemporary and very stylish. The waiters almost sing their greetings and appear to be happy all the time! Mrs. D Had spaghetti carbonara which, she said, was the best she has ever had. I and the rugrat had Gamberoni Piccanti (Prawns in lemon and garlic) with a mixed salad for me and patatas frittas (fries - not sure of the spelling) for Little 'un. It was all delicious and I will not hesitate to go back for more! Price is relatively high but worth every penny. (our bill with 2 small dishes of asorted bread and a bottle of sparkling water was around £38.) Definitely recommended! Nuf said.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeferDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice! ”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely and delicious finger food. Incase you don't know, it's small
Plates of good food. So when they offer more and more, it's because it's served in small portions!

Love the authentic atmosphere and amazing food!

Helpful?
2 Thank MyloKayeDreamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great food, relaxed environment, top service”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were taken to San Carlo Cicchetti in Manchester last night by friends. They had been several times, this was our first visit.
There was a short wait for the table, so we sat at the bar and started a bottle of wine. I asked the head barman for his recommendations for red wine for the meal, and he gave very helpful comments.
The food is Italian tapas style, and the restaurant advises 5-6 dishes per couple. We followed this advice and had plenty to eat.
Every dish was really enjoyable, with fresh ingredients and very beautifully prepared. The queen scallops were the best I've ever had, so tender and tasty.
Service was attentive throughout, friendly and informed. The only small criticism is that the different dishes came faster than we would have liked ideally, perhaps because the restaurant was not packed being a Monday night, or maybe the chef wanted to watch the world cup match at 9.00 pm!
Strongly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slick & Stylish”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Much prefer Cicchetti to the main San Carlo - much more sociable and relaxed - sharing good quality food with friends accompanied with a glass of wine - splendid

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MunchBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlo Cicchetti also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to San Carlo Cicchetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing