We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous food, great drinks and wonderful ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester

Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester
Ranked #347 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Waxy O'Connors is located in the heart of Manchester's vibrant city centre within The Printworks entertainment complex. Waxy's is regarded as a unique venue with a labyrinth of 3 bars, covering 4 levels and 9 separate areas that are all linked by a maze of staircases & passages.The interior decor features church like timber carvings, stained glass windows & distinctive tiled floors, but most unusual is a 250 year old tree! The Waxy's tree was brought over from Ireland in 2002 and is now at the heart of the pub stretching from the back of Church Bar right up to the Sofa Gallery on the fourth level. A sight you cannot miss on arrival!Waxy's is renowned for creating hearty Irish influenced food, with it's signature dishes being Irish Stew, Clonakilty Black Pudding with Cabbage & Bacon & Stuffed Chicken (a chicken supreme filled with Irish cheddar & Ballymaloe Relish, wrapped in bacon & served on mash with a chive cream sauce)!....and of course you can't beat the All Day Irish Breakfast with black & white pudding! The Bar is well stocked with all the big names and a well selected wine list compliments the menu. The Guinness & Irish Coffee are both Fantastic!Whether you are after somewhere to enjoy a chat over a glass of wine, a bite to eat whilst shopping, a welcome lunch break or an after work get together, a place to cheer on your team or you just want to dance and laugh the night away WE HAVE IT ALL AT WAXY'S!!
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, great drinks and wonderful ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The atmosphere of Waxy's has always been a winner, and I've been eating here on visits since 2006. The sandwiches and main meals are smilarly great, and anything with the Caffrey's batter is a winner (I usually hate battered food as well!). My last visit I had the irish stew and it was delicious and hearty with a lovely side order of irish soda bread - deeelish! All washed down with a pint of cider, can't lose!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldfranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riki B, General Manager at Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
The Irish Stew is my favourite! Say hello next time your in! Riki - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    65
    17
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
462 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Got in touch with this venue as needed a venue for about 20-30 people - service was excellent from booking, through to leaving.

The entrance belies how big the place is - 3 bars on 3 floors. You would be right in thinking this is an Irish themed decor - sadly no cask ales if that takes your fancy but a good selection of everything else. The nature of the layout meant that it was a great place to have a group of people together and still be 'part of the bar'

Staff were friendly and helpful, drinks not overly expensive - food plater portions were huge and I thought great value.

Would definitely recommend that we used the bar again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andymwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riki B, General Manager at Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Great to hear that your Party was a success Andy! Look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This place is buzzing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I visited with friends whilst shopping at the Manchester Christmas markets. We just stumbled across it when looking for food and it was buzzing with a lively Christmas atmosphere. Was wonderful coming in from the cold and enjoying a nice pint, good food and log fire. Food is pub grub; well presented and delicious. I highly recommend a visit during the Winter months.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oceanangel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We also had a Living Social voucher and went at a lunchtime rather than risk it being really crowded in the evening. The building alone is worth a visit, so many different areas, nooks and crannies to explore. The music was lively without being overpowering and the staff were very friendly. I had the scampi and I can honestly say it was the lightest batter I've ever tasted, he had the chicken with mash which was great. The only problem for us was that the portions were too big and a bit off-putting.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tobypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We used our living Social Deals voucher for a drink and meal.

There are 3 bars on 3 floors, Irish themed decor, with a giant tree growing through the center! They often have live Irish bands and Sport on TV.

Our meals were huge, my Guinness/steak pie and mash was tasty, his battered cod was crispy with nice chips.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dellas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing