We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“limp lettuce”

The Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #334 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Here at the Slug and Lettuce, we like to start the day early and are open for breakfast from 10am to 12pm. Lunchtime is ideal for dropping in for a bite to eat - why not try a dish from our £5 lunch menu! Our main menu offers great, fresh food at affordable prices which we serve up until 10pm. In the evening, we transform into a stylish yet comfortable bar! We have a vast selection of drinks including 2-4-1 cocktails all day every day! Join us at the weekend and dance the night away to music from the ever popular DJ Vital.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“limp lettuce”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

overcrowded, overpriced and less than average, tables dirty, few staff doing anything. might have been a staff change over or a busy time but no excuse for the poor overall experience

Helpful?
Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    121
    66
    34
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great cocktails”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

we went here with group of friends and had a great night with the 2-4-1 cocktails would visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandaj290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great deal on a monday!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Went with a couple of friend for a cheap meal as it was 50% off on a monday! It was really busy and the service was pretty poor! Took ages for drinks and to place your order! You think if management are going run a deal theyll anticipate it being busy and have more staff on!!? Food was not bad! Although asked for the sauce on my burger to be seperate and it came all together! After waiting all that time for the food i was starving so i was hardly going to send it back while they made me another one!! Also had the cookie dessert which was quite yumny! Would probably go again but only on a monday!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R8H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went for a meal about 2pm after the lunchtime rush, so was not too crowded. The food was excellent & well presented, & very reasonable priced. As a veggie there was plenty of choice, & I choose the aubergine & tomato bake, with a side salad. It was very tasty & the salad had plenty of variety, not just lettuce & tomato! We were served by a lovely waitress, Chantal who was friendly & very helpful. This Slug & Lettuce has a lovely atmosphere, much more than the Spinngfields one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Short and sweet...... I enjoyed my food and drink. The staff were fantastic and made me feel very welcome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing