We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Italian restaurant”

Don Marco Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 2,296 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian restaurant”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been this restaurant several times now, and it never fails to impress. We travel from south cheshire, but the the journey is well worth it. The service has always been inpecible, never rushed, and very friendly staff, and of course the wonderful food. Will definitely be back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobandJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    274
    82
    31
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After a full day shopping we got here sunday evening without booking at about 6pm for our first ever visit. The main inside part was quite full. Waiters funny but not domineering. Main meenu was great but i had a special, squid then a full dover sole with my wife having a lovely chicken pasta dish. Food nice, came quickly and I thought quite reasonable price for what was an excellent overall dining experience - with food quality superb. Only very minor criticism was that there was maybe a bit too much olive oil on the side salad but i'm sure if you ask them they can not add it/or so much of it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_Smelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A nice gem to fall upon...”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

After another restaurant cancelled our booking (we were a group of 5 individuals on a business dinner), we stumbled upon Don Marco's which seemed to be just down the road.

The restaurant is a very small indoor restaurant, although the effects of the large mirrored walls give it an illusion of grandeur. Yet, they make the most of the indoor space, with elegant lighting, and some very nice murals on the wall.

The entrance of the restaurant takes you into the Campfield Arcade, and the outside seating with large heaters is very nice, especially with the red lighting, making it quite romantic.

Inside, there were lots of different groups of people- a large student group, couples, friends and businesses, which is indicative of the service the place is providing- it is open for all, and it has one simple reason why, because the main product is the food. This is what many restaurants forget, but I'm glad Don Marco's did not.

We were sat outside for a little while, as they were clearing a table inside. The waiter, Hanibal, was very good. Service was with a smile, and he was making jokes with us, so it was always a light mood. After a while though, the heaters made my face believe they were in the Caribbean, whilst my legs felt they were travelling through the North Pole. My mid-section was confused.

Inside we were seated on a small table for 5. Although, most of the tables are small, as the width of the restaurant meant it was difficult for 2 people to stand next to each other! However, as they say, good things come in small packages, and this was evident of that.

Food:

Starters: Garlic bread with cheese (8.5/10) and normal garlic bread (6.5/10). The garlic breads come pizza sized and are put on a stand to give you more space on the table itself. The cheese one was lovely, but the normal one was over cooked and a little dry.
I also had the small portion of the Spinach and Ricotta ravioli (9/10), which was still quite a large portion. It was beautifully made, and seemed very authentic in it's cooking.

Mains: I had the Beef Lasagne (9/10)- one of the best I've eaten. Lovely sauces, scrumptious beef and a nice ratio of cheese. Overall, a really wonderful, and very filling dish! Portion size was impressive for the price.

Desserts: We didn't get any, as we were incredibly full, but we were given 3 free Frangelico's and a Bailey's. Which was really nice, and tasted lovely.

The service was top notch at the restaurant. We had to wait a little bit for the bill as the large groups were paying, but we didn't mind. Overall, for 5 of us including service charge and 2 bottles of white wine (7/10), it cost £144. This was a great deal!

This is truly a case of a small package holding a great thing! Wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBhatt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great traditional Italian eatery!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I visitd Don Marco on 15/3/13 and ordered from the unch menu which runs Mon-Fri until 4pm.

Firstly, £7.95 for a large serving of Tagliatelle and a drink of choice was a bargain!
Secondly, it was spot on in terms of quality!

7 of us eat there that day and all spoke really highly afterwards. I was tempted to oder a pizza but all to often they are a thin based small serving - not here though! we were all envious of one of the guys who opted for a pizza as it looked lush & was massive!

The restaruant has an authentic feel and there is an outdoor area for the summer time which would be nice.
It was also quite busy which speaks for itself.

The staff were great, services was ace and the restaurant well maintained and clean!

I will be returning here for a look at the main menu so i cannot recommend anything as yet but will update my review when i do!

Good location for a quiet drink in castlefield or before madness on the locks!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeanMcReviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Restaurant!!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely little italian visited on a monday evening and was still busy, first visit to don marco after trying lots of italians in manchester. The food was out of this world, the quality of the food and the portions were amazing. Will be coming back to here for sure! Defiantly the best italian in manchester!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claremcxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Marco Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Don Marco Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing