We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - again”

Don Marco Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 2,252 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
yorkshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent - again”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We went again for our annual University Motorcycle Club re-union.
Once again the food was first class and the staff very attentive, but to be fair, it was quiet.
Reasonably priced as well.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smith1dv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    258
    78
    31
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hen Party”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

29 of us went here for my hen party. The staff were well organised and well accommodating. Excellent food and service!

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We ate here after a day of Christmas shopping, the menu isn't big or has anything 'special' to other italians, however the food is excellent. Both of us had pasta which was nicely cooked - the lobster ravioli had a nice delicate taste. Despite the weather being horrendous we sat outside in the alley, but this was still warm and comfortable. The service was very good. We will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hafodty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“delightful and traditional!”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Loved this place as it was very cosy and service was very friendly and efficient. four of us had starters ,garlic bread and olives. Four mains pizza and pastas all delicious. Beer and prosseco and coffees for just over 100 pounds. which we were more than happy with. would def return and recomend .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect evening, I have already booked to return!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Wow, what can I say. My friend and I booked a table at Don Marcos for 8.30pm on a Friday night. We arrived on time to be told our table would be a little late, understandable as every table was taken. The staff were very courteous and apologetic about our wait which was refreshing.
After 10 minutes the manager came over and apologised, offering us a drink each on the house, good start, especially when we were in no hurry!
We sat down about 20 minutes late, but we came for a catch up and a good time so were not bothered at all. We ordered a cheesy garlic bread(approx £3) for starter which was one of the best i have ever had (and I eat out very regularly) we then shared a smoked salmon cream pasta( highly recommended!)(approx £7.50) and a spicy sausage pizza (approx £8) which was also delicious.
A food porter brought the food out to us and our waiter ran over to him saying 'no no no! they are sharing, take it back!!' so our waiter then went to the kitchen and came back with half of the pizza on a plate each and had separated the pasta in to two smaller bowls for us, such a nice touch! After our meal we were given complimentary Italian liquors which was just an added bonus to a faultless evening. We definitely felt spoilt (and a bit like royalty!). Charming, happy staff who look like they genuinely love their job, exceptional value for money and of course fantastic food, makes Don Marco's one of the best restaurants either of us have ever been to! I have booked in another two times for the next two weeks, I am hoping we will be as impressed as the first time!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Marco Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Don Marco Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing