We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent! Service and FRESH FOOD!”
Review of Coriander

Coriander
Ranked #467 of 2,295 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chorlton
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Always excellent! Service and FRESH FOOD!”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The service we had on Saturday night was second to none, the staff were so attentive and on the ball with where we were up to with the meal, always bringing extra food if we had run out! They are so polite here, I have visited ten times in the last year and every time has been superb. I would not go anywhere else in Manchester for a curries, The fact it I busy EVERY weekend is testimony to the place - do book as only small and you wont get in. People coming to collect take always is such a small inconvenience, you hardy notice when you are in conversation and eating fabulous food. It consistently tastes sooooo fresh!!! New one opened in Withington with is gr

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lancashire_Freckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    71
    27
    19
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST CURRY I HAVE HAD IN MANCHESTER IN MY 5 YEARS HERE”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I have been to this curry house around 6-7 times now and it has now taken over top spot from the ones I used to go to in Rusholme & the city centre and luckily for me its only 3 miles away. Fantastic food is the main reason, the mango chutney is by far the best i have had, not the usual with the tasteless colourings. Coriander pride itself on using no colourings or additives and there is never a layer of oil that you get with most takeaways or curry houses in the main meal. As for the review on poor service by a fellow reviewer, I cannot understand where they are coming from. I have been there on numerous occasions and have found the staff to be extremely attentive and polite. In fact, they are always nearby asking if we need anything and constantly smiling, a suspicious review me thinks! Try it and you will not be disappointed, if you want flash surroundings then akbars in town is for you, if you want great service & more importantly, AMAZING FOOD..go here.. x

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnyboy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautifully-cooked meat, but sauces far too salty”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We live very locally, and around 3 years ago used to get takeaway from here around once a month.. Back then it was a solid 5* place. And then sadly, it all started going downhill.. A couple of years ago the problem was that the meat was cooked awfully and was consistently chewy.

Having just sampled the place again, it's nice that the meat's back to the incredibly tender slow-cooked stuff that they used to do.. but sadly, the once-incredible sauces are now overly salty, and they packed my chips into a plastic tub, so they were very soggy. It's a shame because I'd been hoping the place might be getting back to its old ways.

We also never found the restaurant to be that pleasant due to the stream of customers turning up to collect their takeaway orders.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melaniefnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad experience.”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Staff was rude and they had a 15% discount introductory offer on the bored outside but refused to give it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Curry Heaven”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

First class. Excellent service, good value but most importantly, great food. Have been dining here regulalrly for about 5 years and haven't sampled a better curry in Manchester in that time.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coriander also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Coriander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing