We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere & Cocktails”
Review of The Alchemist

The Alchemist
Ranked #114 of 2,252 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & Cocktails”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Visited with my partner on a Friday night last month. The reception was very warm and we were immediatley shown to our table. The cocktail menu is quite vast but the cocktails themselves are lovely. We both had food, which was average for an average price but we did get to keep our table for the remainder of the night without a problem however the later it got the longer it took to be served drinks, which is to be excpected I think on a Friday night.
We will visit again but probably not for food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleFish2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    461
    161
    66
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing cocktails”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

One of my favourite bars in Manchester. It's gorgeous inside and they have awesome cocktails, some with a takeaway hip flask.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“amazing cocktails”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

came here in march after going for some food in spinningfields, it was a soaking wet rainy cold day and wow did this place make the day better!
Myself and my boyfriend literally sat in here for about 6 hours trying almost every cocktail on the menu!
my favourite being the 'colour changing one' and my partner enjoying the 'cola bottle'.

Really innovative cocktail ideas including once with smoke coming out of them and allsorts!
it got really busy as it was a friday evening but luckily we had some good seats by the window as we had been in here hours lol.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very poor!! Will not return”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Spent 45 minutes waiting to be served. After which, when we did sit to enjoy our cocktail, we found that they had loads of slithers of glass in them! One of the waiters admitted this has happend for a few months now (which is appauling!) and when the manager came over, all he did was replace the cocktails we were drinking and said the next two were on the house - not any drinks for the four of us, as in our parterns too, no, just the two of us. Not a sufice compensation for having drank GLASS and terrible bar management.

The manager also didnt seem to care much at all about this situation.

Will not return to this bar unfortuately.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cocktails are magic but food is not!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Glam place to be seen but the menu was limited which is ok if it is good food but it was bland and far from satisfactory. We shared two portions of nachos and chicken skewers for starters. The portions were skimpy.The men both had Fajitas, which were average, but our Jerk Chicken was terrible. Chicken Thigh and drum sticks supposedly cooked in spices was tastless on a bed of plan rice and peas served in a bowl that made it impossible to bone the chicken. It came with 3 dried dumplings that were like biscuits and the sauce was greasy and bland, without a hint of spice. Drinks were expensive too..The staff did not even ask if the meal was ok. Will not be going back. There are far better restaurants in Manchester.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boltonlass0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alchemist also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Alchemist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing