We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 11:30 PM
  
Ways to Experience Royal Exchange Theatre
from $0.03
More Info
from $12.73
More Info
from $19.09
More Info
from $0.03
More Info
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
777
247
28
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
777
247
28
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maxine peake cotton exchange stage level banquette seats stock exchange corn exchange front row old building beautiful building last night great atmosphere great night production actors play tickets producers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It has been awhile since I visited here, but the bonus to this place is that you don't have to see a play to visit, with the cafe, bar and restaurant its a good building to relax and have a coffee or food.

The added bonus is that you get to see some great plays in an amazing setting,

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank Emma1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The craft shop is well worth a visit for pretty things at reasonable prices. The café is also excellent but service a little slow.

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A brilliant piece of architecture/planning to build a modern theatre in to the Manchester Royal Exchange, a listed building from 1914 but built on the old foundations dating back 300 years. It is like a tardis sitting in the atrium of the entrance hall. large steel construction with fantastic seat layout so that everyone (700) have a very good view and the sound quality is excellent. I did see the Victoria Wood play "The Day we Sang" in December but to be honest this is a review about the theatre and loved it. Centrally located in Manchester in St Annes Square, no immediate car parking but plenty close by. Huge number of bars /Restaurants etc within walking distance, did not think the bar prices were silly like some places and you have the chance to sit and enjoy the old building during the interval. Enjoy.

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I took my children (12 and 14 - the youngest did have his eyes and ears covered at one point!) to their first visit to the Royal Exchange to watch Blindsided. They were impressed by the architecture and the unusual layout of the theatre (they are very used to conventional theatre layouts). I was a little nervous about watching this with my children having read the reviews however both boys were captivated by the script and the staging and watched enthralled as the story unfolded. It was an emotional and gripping tale which left us all speechless. The cast were sensational - taking us on a roller coaster of emotion, leaving my children with many questions which continued well into the following day.
If the aim of theatre is to stir up emotions, create thought provoking images and questions then Blindsided delivered. Well done to all involved.

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank beccaw965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

All theatres should be like this one!!! Set in a beautiful building with first rate performances, the theatre in the round makes you feel so close to the action.

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank Garethfromllandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews