We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST”

Royal Exchange Theatre
Ranked #5 of 175 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We're an award-winning producing Theatre in the centre of Manchester. As well as classics from William Shakespeare, Tennessee Williams, Oscar Wilde, Noel Coward, and Anton Chekhov, we're also one of the country's leading theatres for new writing, with over 125 premieres in the theatre history! The unique design means that none of the 760 seats are more than nine metres from the circular stage, with seats placed all around the auditorium, giving views from all angles.The Great Hall surrounds the Theatre, and this houses The Round restaurant, Bar Exchange, the Craft Shop and exhibitions, the Education Lounge and workshops, the Information Point, the Mezzanine Gallery exhibitions, as well as Friday evenings' FREE entertainment SPECIAL FX.And we're open on a Sunday too! With brunch served in our Great Hall cafe and free entertainment during the day.
cambridge,england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is without doubt a very special theatre experience and one of which Manchester should be rightly proud. We have been coming to productions here for over 20 years and never been disappointed yet.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank buckdenbursar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    208
    23
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Manchesters finest theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

It's a joy to just walk around inside the Royal Exchange Theatre, and even moreso to watch a well produced play in intimate surroundings.

The Accrington Pals makes great use of the set and the close proximity of the audience adds to a moving production.

Well done to all.

Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Our Top Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The most amazing space with a great mix of theatrical productions, we always have a good visit even though we have been here many times, we often buy a season ticket which can save about 20% on normal ticket prices. The bar, Cafe and shop are all good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nwspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a wonderful building - pity about the plays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The building is wonderful but the programme of plays is very mixed. It either the old faithfuls like Shakespeare and Shaw or very modern experimental offerings. Choose your production carefully and you'll have a great experience

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank redpetronella45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
173 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“rats tails amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

visited the theatre to see the christmas show twice and the excellent reviews were accurate, music amazing. The theatre and the old building in which it is situated is significant and well presented.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank skiersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Exchange Theatre also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Royal Exchange Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing