We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best plays in the North”

Royal Exchange Theatre
Ranked #5 of 174 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We're an award-winning producing Theatre in the centre of Manchester. As well as classics from William Shakespeare, Tennessee Williams, Oscar Wilde, Noel Coward, and Anton Chekhov, we're also one of the country's leading theatres for new writing, with over 125 premieres in the theatre history! The unique design means that none of the 760 seats are more than nine metres from the circular stage, with seats placed all around the auditorium, giving views from all angles.The Great Hall surrounds the Theatre, and this houses The Round restaurant, Bar Exchange, the Craft Shop and exhibitions, the Education Lounge and workshops, the Information Point, the Mezzanine Gallery exhibitions, as well as Friday evenings' FREE entertainment SPECIAL FX.And we're open on a Sunday too! With brunch served in our Great Hall cafe and free entertainment during the day.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best plays in the North”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very high quality productions, great theater, great ice-creams, great seats, great costumes, great restaurant!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Esme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    207
    23
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great little theatre-in-the-round in the heart of Manchester. Consistantly showing excellent plays it's a real asset to the city.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Theatre in the round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great theatre saw a play in the round sat upstairs and you can see everything, lovely bars for drinks before or after, they also have a great restaurant went for pre theatre meal

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just an excellent place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We Cme here at least 3-4 times a year. The venue is fabulous, and somewhat intimate. It's also where we choose to come for a well deserved break when shopping in Manchester, as the food and snacks are delicious. Would highly reccomended it to anyone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emmatheminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good ole time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have seen a mix of studio and main house performances at the RX. When it's good, it's fantastic. The surroundings are impressive and I'm pleased to hear they are diversifying their mix of artforms more.

The venue is worth a visit, and it's a good idea to take a look at their programme. You might be surprised at what you find!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HipHotelier01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Exchange Theatre also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Royal Exchange Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing