We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baaa!”
Review of Manchester Arena

Manchester Arena
Ranked #22 of 188 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manchester Arena, managed and operated by SMG Europe, is one of the busiest venues in the world and the largest indoor arena in Europe. Since opening in 1995, the Arena has hosted the biggest names in live entertainment including U2, The Rolling Stones, Madonna, Lady Gaga, Pavarotti and the record-breaking 2010/2011 residency by local comedian Peter Kay. In addition to live music, we've also staged some of the biggest events in the UK sporting calendar including several 2002 Commonwealth Games' events, the 2012 Olympic basketball warm-up match between team USA and GB, the 2008 FINA World Swimming Championships and international boxing bouts by Mike Tyson, David Haye, Joe Calzaghe and local champions Ricky Hatton and Amir Khan. We've also played a key part in Manchester's rich musical heritage with historic shows by local bands Take That, Oasis, Elbow, New Order, James, Happy Mondays, The Charlatans, Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds, M People, Doves, The Inspiral Carpets, The Verve, Simply Red and The Courteeners. Attracting over one million visitors each year, the 21,000 capacity Arena is a former winner of the industry's prestigious International Venue of the Year award.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Baaa!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Felt like a heard of sheep on arrival and departure!
Allowed us to queue for over an hour at a door that wasn't going to be opened!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KateT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    666
    389
    142
    138
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrible sound”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Whilst I suppose there is nothing wrong with the Arena in that it is large and well organised the sound quality is very poor; there is no proper acoustic treatment so it is effect just a slab of concrete with a tin roof; bit like a large B&Q!!
If you are really into your music avoid

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Big Venue- good seating”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I've seen a few bands here, most recently I was in a seated area for the Twins of Evil tour and earlier this month I was standing for Evanescence. Everywhere that i've sat or stood at this venue, i've been able to see well, which is always good!

The bar prices are a little high, at £4.50 for a low quality pint and £3 for a coke, but then, it's like that at most arenas. I like that people selling pints wonder around the standing area between acts, so you don't have to lose your place.

They also sell bar snacks such as chicken wraps, hot dogs and crisps, which is a nice bonus for those people who have had to get to the gig straight from work. The Candy floss and ice cream is fab too - I loved that there were people walking up and down the aisles selling it.

The sound quality of the venue has fluctuated depending on the band i've seen, but overall, it's a good sound. The seats are spacious enough and the stadium is set out in such a way that you can see no matter where you are.

its a shame that you can only seem to get tickets through ticketmaster, as they average around £40 with booking fees these days. It would be nice to have a bar area open, so people can meet up and have a chat before the main band is on - its not so great standing around the corridors with drink in hand.

Overall, one of my more favourable gig venues.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ikkleruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“great venue”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

great venue for the entertainment, shame about the diabolical beer choice, carlsberg most definitely the worlds worst and cheapest lager (to purchase for the establishment) which is why so many of these places stock it, buy it for half the price of other lagers and sell it at the same price.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank edthered7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had great seats, Block 115, Row C so really close and a great view of both the boxing ring, the ring walks and the big screens.

Only downside was the amount of people smoking in the toilets, they absolutely stunk of smoke, the mens was much worse than the womens with a haze of smoke showing from the door, why they didn't just put a few security in there to stop this is crazy.

Staff inside the venue were great, really helpful.

Queue's for food and drink were crazy the whole night, we went the entire night without getting a drink as the wait was just too long!

Also getting into the venue you have to be searched which is fine however there were 9 queues for men to go in but only one for women so it took ages to get in and standing out in the rain was not fun. I'm not sure what the laws on things like this are but I'd have no objection being searched by a man, I have nothing to hide so either this should happen or they should have more women outside that are able to search people.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchester Arena also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing