We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Go.”
Review of Afflecks

Afflecks
Ranked #1 of 57 Shopping in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Afflecks is an iconic shopping emporium filled with unique independent traders selling everything from Top Hats to Tattoo's. Artists, Makers, Creators and innovators sit alongside a range of businesses that include, Vintage, Vinyl, Fancy Dress, Clothing, Piercing Studios, Gifts, Crystals and much more - The 'Thorn in the side of the High Street@ Afflecks offers something for everybody and is a great place to explore with artwork on every turn!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Reviewed April 16, 2018

If you like, vintage, costume, clothes, jewellery, art, eccentric, weird and wonderful things - or even if you don't - just go and take a walk around it will be worth it.

Thank hotelworkerfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Thanks for the review and encouraging people to visit us, it is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fancy dress"
in 27 reviews
"shopping experience"
in 16 reviews
"independent shops"
in 13 reviews
"vintage clothes"
in 11 reviews
"high street"
in 18 reviews
"several floors"
in 9 reviews
"northern quarter"
in 15 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 15 reviews
"visiting manchester"
in 7 reviews
"retro"
in 38 reviews
"piercing"
in 39 reviews
"jewelry"
in 46 reviews
"goth"
in 25 reviews
"stalls"
in 36 reviews
"punk"
in 14 reviews
"emo"
in 9 reviews
"vinyl"
in 6 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 440 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

This is now my favourite place ever! We spent so long here, the artwork inside is amazing and all the different stall was great. Cannot wait to go back! If you are in Manchester definitely stop here.

Thank Lizzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thanks for the lovely review of Afflecks Lizzie, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and that you will be coming back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

What a fun and unique place! I am always on the lookout for one of a kind items, and I was not disappointed here. So many interesting shops if you’re looking for something out of the ordinary!

Thank aut72usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thanks for the review and for encouraging people to visit us, it truly is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018

Afflecks is great, and well worth a visit but beware if you are planning to visit on a Sunday as some of the floors (and therefore the retailers) are not open. This isn't made clear on the website as far as I can see or at the entrances- it's only when you get to the stairs to the next floor and there are barricades preventing access that it becomes apparent!

3  Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2018

Hi Shelley

Thanks for the review, we are really sorry that you were disappointed to find some of our shops closed during your visit on a Sunday.
As the majority of Afflecks businesses are sole traders they can not cover seven days and therefore choose to have Sunday as their rest day. The more established businesses on the ground and 1st floors are all fully open as they have the resources to do so.
There are notices at the entrances to say that 2nd and 3rd floors are closed on a Sunday but you are very right to point out that there are no opening times displayed on the website and this is something that we will address as we do not want to mislead or disappoint our visitors.
Our website was recently updated to a new site and the opening times are something that have been missed off so thank you so much for bringing this to our attention.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2018 via mobile

Funky place with everything you could possibly need, Fancy dress, Guitars, rollerskates! Its a local treasure trove. Visit just to see how amazing this place is.

Thank AllieEssex_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thanks for the review Allie and encouraging future visits, it is really appreciated. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afflecks also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Afflecks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing