We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place what still haunts northern monkeys forever”
Review of Afflecks

Afflecks
Ranked #1 of 55 Shopping in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Afflecks is an iconic shopping emporium filled with unique independent traders selling everything from Top Hats to Tattoo's. Artists, Makers, Creators and innovators sit alongside a range of businesses that include, Vintage, Vinyl, Fancy Dress, Clothing, Piercing Studios, Gifts, Crystals and much more - The 'Thorn in the side of the High Street@ Afflecks offers something for everybody and is a great place to explore with artwork on every turn!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed September 14, 2013

i have been going this place for over 25 years through so many trends with trying to grow up and be trendy.from back in the day MADCHESTER this was the ultimate place to hang out and be A PART OF IT!. the days of that era have gone but this historic place still looks and smells of manchester history. endless fun for all and always a big place in my heart. A MUST!!!!!!!!

Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thanks for the great review, it's great to know that after all these year's that you are still supporting us and enjoy your visits and have shared this with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fancy dress"
in 27 reviews
"shopping experience"
in 15 reviews
"independent shops"
in 12 reviews
"vintage clothes"
in 11 reviews
"high street"
in 18 reviews
"retro games"
in 5 reviews
"several floors"
in 9 reviews
"northern quarter"
in 15 reviews
"treasure trove"
in 5 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 14 reviews
"visiting manchester"
in 7 reviews
"piercing"
in 39 reviews
"jewelry"
in 45 reviews
"goth"
in 25 reviews
"punk"
in 14 reviews
"stalls"
in 34 reviews
"emo"
in 9 reviews
Filter

222 - 226 of 430 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was one of my many experiences of Afflecks and with its fab range of shops from ear spikes to dresses its emo paradise, highly recommend this place to anyone who can visit it, as I am into ATL ADTR Muse Paramore SWS BMTH etc its heaven

Thank chloe123gabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Afflecks. It's great to know that you are a fan and enjoy shopping with us, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great collection of shops, a lot of fun to walk around for a few hours. Lots of unusual things for sale, with a great atmosphere and music. A lot of fun.

Thank Lovely_Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thanks for the review, we really appreciate people taking the time to share their experience with others. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A great place for finding that different something for those of an individual nature. You will find a cacophony of various stores filled with things you won't find on the high street. From jewellery items to clothes, gifts and decor. More than worth a visit for those of a more discerning nature.

Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Afflecks, we very much appreciate your support. Its so good to hear that you enjoyed your visit and shared your experience with others. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My daughter designed her own prom dress in January. Was promised a call when ready, I called Strawberry Peach to query when coming in for fitting 5weeks ago. As its needed for middle of June,we were wanting to see it. They decided to make it into a corset dress,which was not asked for. So they promised to make it right, then it came back again with no binding over the bones inside the dress. This was extremely sharp,and again was told it would be put right. So with four days left to go to prom, 3 of her friends did,nt get what they asked for, so much stress, hour long journeys and a"not bothered attitude"of staff. I would avoid this place ,unless you have no expectations of what you wanted.

2  Thank Greenyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

I am so sorry to hear of your poor experience at Strawberri Peach, at Afflecks we strive to provide excellent service and it is a shame that on this occasion that we need not meet expectations.

I would be grateful if you would contact me on 0161 839 0718 to discuss this matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afflecks also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Afflecks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing