We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving market with good deals”
Review of Afflecks

Afflecks
Ranked #3 of 51 Shopping in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Buy the latest dance floor and street fashions from young designers and second-hand stalls at this exciting arcade.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Afflecks started in 1982, and remained a popular location for locals to bag a deal. Could be described as a market, it has a range of stores across its floor to cater for most tastes. And the best part is that they are generally indie shop owners. There are toilets and a cafe on site and also a american diner. Great options on clothing and all aspects of unusual or unique tastes you could shop for.

Thank johnretroreload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review, it is great to know that you are a supporter of Afflecks & have taken the time to share your views with others. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Afflecks
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 230 of 409 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

The shop seemed crowded and everything seemed to be everywhere. It didn't seem like anything special and things didn't feel organised in any way.

Thank SPR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Sorry to hear that you did'nt enjoy your shopping experience with us, Afflecks is a shopping emporium with over 70 individual, independent traders - we are not a shop / department stall.
The layout and individuality is what makes us quirky and sucessful in welcoming lots of visitors every week.

I do hope that you will visit us again soon and perhaps your views on Afflecks may change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I used to hang out there a few years ago in my teens, and popped back in recently, I was pleasantly surprised! The place has been cleaned up slightly but retains it's ramshackle charm, I love the quirky little stores and it's still the best place in town for alternative shopping!

Thank nat1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review, it means a lot to us all at Afflecks that people take the time to share there experience with others. Hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Afflecks is alive and well after a slightly troubled few years. Kooky stalls selling all sorts of trendy clothes, redundant technology and fancy dress. Maybe not quite so individual as it was in the late 90's but not a lame pastiche either. Sadly I didn't spot the stuffed Yeti that used to move around the building, but I'm sure he's still in there somewhere! Thankfully you won't find a branch of Starbucks or Subway, just an excellent cafe on the top floor. It's also clean and feels safe. Enjoy it before someone tries to make it into flats. Again.

Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thanks for the great reveiw! Afflecks celebrated 30 years of trading last year and we are proud to be still going strong and pleasing our visitors. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Having spent much of our youth and our hard to come by money here when we were teenagers it was so amazing to revisit after at least 30 years!!! We moved away from this amazing city and were on a weekend break when we decided to go and see what Afflecks was like after all this time.
Still fab atmosphere. Great to browse. A good selection of things from posters, new quirky clothes, vintage shoes and hats, fancy dress clothes, badges, funny t shirts and much more!!! A real cross section of shoppers there too. We weren't disappointed!!! Go and see for yourself.

Thank TheDandyHighwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thanks for the great review! so glad that you are still a fan after all these year's, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afflecks also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Afflecks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing