We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience!”
Review of Afflecks

Afflecks
Ranked #3 of 52 Shopping in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Buy the latest dance floor and street fashions from young designers and second-hand stalls at this exciting arcade.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting experience!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wandered into Afflecks as part of a trip down memory lane for my husband who was at Manchester Uni several years ago.
A very interesting, but rather odd assortment of shops.
Enjoyed the shoe laces and tights etc and the tee shirt shop.
We were going to try the cafe, but my 5 year old was (understandably) a little put off by the severed heads hanging from the ceiling - I suppose it WAS Halloween!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jules186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Afflecks, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    99
    31
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
“We came, we saw, but we won't be back”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Afflecks was not at all what I expected. From all the reviews, I thought it would be a mall of privately-owned shops with a variety of merchandise. This is somewhat the case.
All shops seem to be geared towards the goth or emo trend. Which is fine, it's just not particularly my thing any more. It was an interesting place, but I seriously doubt we will waste our time there again. I wish we had known more before going on reviews alone. Live and learn.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy4lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed by your visit to Afflecks, we understand that we are not going to appeal to everybody's taste but we will always remain an institution for independents and not a mainsteam shopping mall.

Perhaps if you visit Manchester again you may give us another visit with a different perception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A shopping experience”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Spread over a number of floors, this labyrinth of boutique shopping experiences is a lot to take in, but that is half the fun!

Everything from body piercings, funky hats or retro sweeties there is something for everyone.

Take your time and enjoy your trip

Helpful?
Thank Kicking-Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for the great review, so glad that you enjoyed your visit. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not at all what it used to be”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It's so sad that things change. This place used to be lively, busy & buzzing. When I visited it was quite, most of the shops I loved had gone. It just isn't what it used to be :(

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I am sorry to read the comments in your review, Afflecks is more vibrant than ever, it is fully let and some of the origional stalls that have traded here since 1982 have expanded. We have also been awarded a certificate of excellence from Tripadvisor for all the positive reviews. We are also shortlisted for a Manchester Tourism Award this year. I see from your review that you visited in November last year so perhaps if you visit now your opinion may change.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“c'mon everybody, do Afflecks really care!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Been coming here for 32 years and it is still a great place to walk around and take it all in with some interetsing and nostalgic stuff to buy as well. if anything now we are old (well some of us) perhaps a bar and food would be good!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dmandoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Afflecks, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for the great review! and remember your never to old to enjoy Afflecks, we offer a trip down memory lane! hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afflecks also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Afflecks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing