We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #35 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed July 2, 2007

I have a certain love affair with the Malmaison hotels. Wherever possible, if a place I'm going has a Mal, then I book it. I think my relationship with the Manchester Mal is currently on rocky grounds. Whilst the Mal fulfills its agreement to provide something to sleep on, I'm wondering if it's really worth paying the extra for.

The hotel has two sides - the older original building, and the newer extension. I was told that the older side had just been refurbished, so although I asked for one in the newer side, I accepted a refurb'd room to go see what it was like. My experience of these older rooms hasn't been as great before, they always seem a lot smaller than the other side. Well, I entered and it looked very nicely done out, but with the dark colours in such a small room, it just felt cramped and tiny. The bathroom door didn't open fully, hitting the towel rail as the bathroom was very tiny too.

Back to reception, and they found a room on the newer side. Not refurbished, but no complaints. Larger than before, nice sized bathroom as well. Noticed there was no bottle of wine in the room as usual, assumed they'd run out. Well, we all know what assume did, and so a few days after my visit I received a letter charging me for it. What makes an average hotel great is its staff. The duty manager is currently looking into it and said she'll refund my card , so no issues there, and well handled, as long as the refund does come through!

Not the best nights sleep, mainly due to lots of doors slamming and what sounded like a hen party in the halls. This makes me wonder if I may as well book the Travel Inn where I got a great nights sleep on their Quiet Floor.

If you order breakfast in your room it's left in a box outside with a phone call at the designated time to tell you it's there. No uncomfortable moment where you wonder how much you tip for a £11.95 bowl of cornflakes whilst trying to do your trousers up.

Overall, nothing special so just an average rating, but it is a handy hotel if you are visiting by train, being a very short walk from Manchester Piccadilly. Good if you have loads of bags. Probably the nicest shampoo though out of all the places I've stayed, Oversized bottles with a note welcoming you to take them home with you.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — doors slamming
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chistery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    806
    368
    172
    105
See reviews for
141
1,099
86
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Stayed at the Malmaison for the weekend, and it was just about perfect.

I stayed here about 5 years ago, and it was a bit shabby back then - an underlying feeling of cheapness. The lobby indicated the hotel was
refurbished this year, and I must say that my room was amazingly comfortable. There was free wireline internet access, everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable. My summary points below - I would highly recommend staying here

Positives:
- Unbeatable location - about a 3-5 minute walk to the main rail station
- Great bar / common areas
- Fantastic buffet and full english breakfast (at a decent price) in the main restaurant
- Great rooms
- Free internet (wireline) access

Negatives:
- A bit pricier than other hotels in the area, but well worth it
- No payperview movies
- Limited TV channel selection
- No wireless access
- No breakfast room service beyond a standard continental breakfast

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank busterbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

Ive been meaning to write a review on this hotel for ages, but always busy.
We visit Manchester a lot for concerts which are being held in the city and i would never dream of staying anywhere else, thats how much i love this hotel, it has a modern feel throughout and is very stylish, i am never let down by the bedrooms or the service we recieve.
Its location is great very handy for the train station, shops and bars.
The average price we pay is approx £99.00 per night which i feel is a fair price.
When we visited in February this year we had an evening meal for the first time and the food was very good, but then i wouldent expect anything less.
Unfortunatly our next visit to Manchester is not until November however we will be visiting on 3 seperate dates in that month and you can guarentee where we will be booking to stay - I can't wait.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — There is nothing i dont like
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank winter1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

Excellent service.
Bed was too small - their queen sized seems approx 5ft wide.
Air con was noisy and our windows were locked - we had to call reception and the staff have to come up to open (and close)
5th floor street noise was still quite bad (price of city centre I guess - the location is great)
Big bathroom and fabulous shower.
Only continental breakfast in bed (although the restaurant will send anything off the menu to the room - v.good to boot)
We couldn't sleep with the air con on (too noisy) and the room was too hot without (esp with locked windows + street noise).
Nice hotel but needs bigger beds and quiet air con.
We didn't sleep well so I'd tend to agree with previous review 3/5

  • Liked — Restaurant food delivered to bedroom
  • Disliked — Noisy air con, bed too small
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank meddyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West UK....
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Was looking forward to staying at the Manchester hotel having enjoyed my stay at the one in Leeds.

Great location, a mere 5 minute walk from Picadilly and very easy to find in the centre of the city. Good funky reception area with lively bar and brassiere.

Bedroom was nice, decent size, good use of space in the bathroom with some original touches. Asked for a quiet room away from the main street and got one overlooking a side alley, which was just what I wanted.

Dinner in the restaurant downstairs was good. Excellent service, great wine menu, lovely food.

Retired for a good night's kip, full of food, to my quiet room...except...the bed! My god, how hard was the bed?! I may be old fashioned but I do expect a little 'give' when you lie on a matteress. This was like lying on a concrete slab (and no, there were no other rooms available)! I guess this just wasn't to my taste, but be warned.

The breakfast the following morning (like the meal the night before) was superb, an excellent choice of cereal, fruit etc.. and a good cooked selection (which is prepared to order).

Check-out was quick and efficient. Had a meeting nearby so left my bags with the hotel. In a hurry to get my train on the way back and they returned my bags swifty when they saw me fretting in the lobby!

If it was for service, the food, the room and the location; this hotel would get better marks. However, this don't mean a thing if you can't sleep on an incomfortable mattress. 3 of 5....maybe a bit mean, but I'm tired man!

  • Liked — Service, food, wine and location
  • Disliked — The bed!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWineMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2007

Stylish hotel - interesting funky furniture and a red and black theme going on. Room was very nice, bathroom had black slate floors and walls - great shower but had a drencher showerhead so a bit tricky if you don't want to shampoo your hair every time you take a shower.Nice toiletries, complimentary water and minibar items reasonably priced - probably what you'd pay inthe bar - had an OJ - was about £1.80 I think.
Red wine and two glasses on table with a price tag round the neck - again - reasonable - less than £10 I think.
Comfy bed tho duvet cover was ripped down a side seam.
Everything is in the wardrobe - safe, coffee,tea maker, iron + board - clothes ( obviously) plus I found the mirror on the inside of the wardrobe door the only placeI could style my hair with the hairdryer as very dark in the room. Consequently that small area between the bed and the wardrobe gets very congested with two people trying to get ready. Might have been better to put the coffee stuff elsewhere or give a bigger space. A better lit mirror -preferably with ability to see a rear view would have been appreciated. Of course the best lit mirror is in the bathroom with a SHAVER SOCKET of course. You can tell men design these rooms!BTW this was supposed to be a deluxe room.
Room was on the front - got woken up with alarms going off outside during the night, maid did not clean up our tea things - found dirty mugs when we came back to room.( maybe she forgot they were in the wardrobe) Mentioned it to reception before we went into dinner - said they'd attend to it.Went back to room after dinner - still dirty mugs and coffee sachets not replenished.Phoned reception and they came up with 2 clean mugs and some coffee and milk.
BTW - girls on reception are about 12 ! Can't help thinking older staff would be better.
Dinner was very nice - but coffee was AWFUL and they charged us £8.50 for 2 cups ! And a service charge of about £5 for bread, olive oil and paste.Service not too good - no offer of drinks when first seated and hard to get their attention.Got my glass of wine after food arrived.
Also surprised they could not get us a room when we arrived - I know check-in is 3pm and we arrived about 1.30 I think - but it was a Saturday and no match on. I have never been told to come back at 3pm at any other Manchester hotel before.
Breakfast OK - £ 12 for cereals , pastries,OJ, coffee, toast.( there was a rumour you could get cheese and meats also but never saw them) If you want a hot breakfast item it is only £2 more.
But it seems strange that you pay that £2 supplement whether you want a bowl of porridge or a full fry-up ! I had mushroms in hollandaise sauce on muffin which was lovely.Again coffee not good.Overall nice hotel - not sure if it's worth the price tho as service variable.Lowry much better.

  • Liked — stylish furnishings, bathroom and toiletries
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

After an appalling experience with Didsbury House and a wallet busting stay at the magnificent Lowry, we needed to find somewhere else to stay on our visits to Mancunia. We decided to try the "Mal" . We really liked it, having a style of its own and very pleasant staff who displayed a wonderful attitude to looking after their customers. The little touches, such as high quality soaps and bottle of house red on the table all contributed, not to mention the wonderfully comfortable bed. Next time we go back we will definitely stay there. Only minor gripe was that there seemed to be loads of barstaff, but the service was a little slow / erratic and the music was a little loud.

  • Liked — Service, quality and Comfort
  • Disliked — Music in the Bar
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NW6_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#24 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing