We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Manchester
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
ABode Manchester(Manchester)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gardens Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Velvet Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Monroes Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,708)
Filter reviews
2,708 results
Traveler rating
1,069
907
424
189
119
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,069
907
424
189
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner suitepiccadilly stationmini barbuilding worksuperior roomcooked breakfastan upgradebirthday treatreception staffcity centrecomfy bedhotel barlovely roomsaturday nightnorthern quarterstayed for one nightcanal street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,429 - 2,434 of 2,708 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We spent a night at the Malmaison, which is situated directly opposite the Piccadilly Station and a short stroll from Piccadilly Gardens and the Arndale Centre.

The decor is moody, with dark reds and blacks featuring throughout giving an opulent feel. Our bathroom had a wet room, with a really powerful shower and lovely toiletries. There wasn't a bath in our bathroom, which would have been disappointing if either of us fancied a soak.

We ate at the restaurant and the steak I had was the best I think I have ever eaten. The food was amazing!

Service was excellent! The wait staff in the restaurant, the bar staff and the team on reception (especially a lovely Irish girl from Kildare) were all fantastic.

We enjoyed our stay immensely and would not hesitate to recommend the Manchester Malmaison.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chatelaine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Another hotel another day.... But this place stands out

The beds are huge and really comfortable. Probably the best nights sleep i have ever had.

This place is great and i cannot wait to check out the other bunch of Malmaisons when im next over in the UK

it was very well priced and quite chic - my only criticism was it was a bit dark in reception. But loved it other wise. Bigger rooms than you would usually expect in a chain hotel - but this place felt like a well run neat place.

There you have it. If you are in Manchester Go and book online for about $150

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank califdreamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed at the Manchester Malmaison for two nights in July 2010 to celebrate our anniversary. Having already stayed at the hotels in Liverpool and Oxford we knew what to expect, in fact we're quite enjoying gradually crossing off each of them when we have an urge to treat ourselves!

I have to admit that I was a little disappointed with the room. After choosing a more expensive "executive" option (one of the last prices before reaching the suites) the room itself was still relatively pokey. "Space to relax" consisted of a chair and the iPod docking station looked like it had cost about £20 from Currys. The standard rooms must be pretty tiny. That said there was nothing wrong with the room, splendidly decorated and furnished as it was, it was just a bit smaller than expected. The bed was very comfy-we've come to find Malmaison beds a bit hard in the past, luckily this was much better. The reception and bar areas were amazing - really sumptuous and made you feel like a VIP!

All the staff were without exception lovely and friendly. We didn't eat in the restaurant, having found in the past that veggie options are not their strong point and the rest of the menu seemingly expensive for the sake of it (no wonder there are so many eat-and-sleep deals for Malmaison at the moment, presumably desperately trying to fill the tables up). We went for a drink in the bar though, a couple of eye-wateringly expensive cocktails, although they were delicious!

One thing that I have a problem with in all the Malmaisons is them continually trying to flog you something at every turn. In the room alone there's a not-very-amazing bottle of wine with a hefty price tag on it, a box of overpriced crisps and nuts, the mini bar, leaflets for the spa, then in the bathroom an invitation to get a spray tan. It's a tad annoying when you're already paying a fair wad just to stay over. At least we were spared the naff CD of chillout music this time (probably because there was no CD player on the room!). Equally £13 each for breakfast is just bizarre. I'm slightly ashamed to admit we just walked 5 mins to Wethspoons, but at least their breakfast was a quarter of the price. One nice touch though was a complimentary copy of The Independent outside our door every morning, and the usual soaps/shampoo etc you're encouraged to take home with you.

We came by train and luckily saw the hotel virtually opposite the station rather than following the postcode on our iPhones. If you do this you'll end up somewherer near the Arndale Centre! Overall I'd happily recommend this hotel especially if you manage to get a good deal through the website.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Having to stay in Manchester overnight, and after a good stay in the Oxford Malmaison, we decided to plump for this hotel.

After a complete farce with the parking arrangements (note to travellers: do NOT use the Malmaison postcode from your e-mail booking confirmation in your GPS) and not getting anywhere close to the hotel, we finally made our way to the hotel after a long detour walking through the Arndale centre.

My partner and I had booked on the Sunday night rate of dinner + accommodation for £99. The set menu was reasonable but limited. We decided that this offer was not as good as the previous "Spend £75 in the restaurant and get the room for £25" deal due to the lack of choice.

The second floor room was trendy, clean and spacious with a modern bathroom and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. We were well looked after and, aside from a small problem with the bill, felt that we had received good service throughout our stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichH6109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

My view of this hotel is coloured by my main memory of it - a very rude awakening at 6am by the radio alarm going off. We asked reception staff to ensure this did not happen again but were unconvinced that alarm had been switched off. We did not know how to do this and did not want another early call. Eventually a handyman was sent up - he disconnected the radio! If alarms are included in electrical equipment then staff should ensure they are disabled after each guest . Reception staff did not seem particularly bothered about our inconvenience. We had not noticed the radio, let alone realised it was harbouring an alarm.
The bathroom was was all black and white, not very attractive. Downstairs was all black and red, also not very attractive. The hotel seemed to be trying to be cool and trendy but trying too hard I think. We had a light meal in the bar and it was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonniebraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews