We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #36 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed November 16, 2006

We recently stayed at this hotel for one night, and paid £140. The accommodation is fine, but not worth the £140 price tag.

I called reception to ask for some bathrobes. After 30 minutes they have not arrived so I called back and the same receptionist then told me that you didn't get bathrobes in the standards rooms! I did eventually get two robes, but why I was not told this when i initially made the request I dont know.

The bar is also very very expensive. $15 for two glasses of white wine.

You can definetly get better value for money in Manchester.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank jack06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    811
    374
    173
    106
See reviews for
142
1,119
88
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

Having just written a review on The Lowry I feel The Malmaison deserves a much better one.

Piccadilly station is a short walk away and there is a car park nearby.

We couldn't fault the hotel at all.The staff were pleasant and efficient.
The room was lovely and there was a lounge area. great value for money.

Lots of lovely toileties and I'm still using the 250ml body lotion.

I would heartily recommend you stay here when on a romantic getawy shopping trip or business trip..

Simply fabulous.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — I recommend you consider staying here.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bal-a-Versailles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is clean. The decor is dark and depressing and the staff surly, pretentious and completely uninterested in customer service. We chose this hotel because we are fans of the Hotel du Vin chain, and thought that being in the same family of companies, Malmaison may have some of the HduV charm. We were very wrong. It is very, very rare for us not to reward service with a generous tip, but we were that disappointed with the service that our money stayed firmly in our wallets. Over-priced, over-rated pretension.

  • Liked — Leaving.
  • Disliked — The staff.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book elsewhere.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiggertigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

We have stayed at the Malmaison a few times and each time although I enjoy myself I'm glad it's only for a night as I find the predominately red and black decor a bit gloomy, and the hotel suffers from style over content.

Positives
Central location, 5 minutes walk to the shops and even less to train station.
Very quiet rooms, no disturbance from neighbouring rooms or the corridor
Nicely decorated rooms in a modern idiom
If you like that sort of thing lots of bands use the hotel. The Moody Blues were checking out when we arrived.


Negatives
On checking it was lovely to see a group of staff, about 10, sitting in the lobby near the lift having a break and puffing on cigarettes. Surely they have a staff room for this.
We were in a double room but the bathroom only had one bath towel and one face towel.
Terry Wogan on the radio at break fast time in the dining room
Terribly slow service in the brasserie at dinner.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xmapjoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Took my partner for a one off surprise birthday night at the Mal Maison - stayed in the very overpriced Moulin Rouge room.... so named because you can watch the film and listen to the sound track of the film on plasma screens and state of the art dvd/cd player. Sounds good?
Well for the price of 395 pounds you get a 4 poster bed (a bed literally with four posts- but colorful bedding!)in a small room with a view of typical Manchester...not complaining... i(f you want the Lakes... go there.)Also a large red and black sitting room... not bad... candles, beanbags and a bottle of free champers (you pay for it!), plus strawberries... (not dipped in chocloate as we were told they would be .. but whatever...).
I booked the room as I was told it had a number of ameneties..as well as a special "walk in wet room" with fountains and jet showers....(ok... we like a bit of fun!).The wet room turned out to be a power shower and a sink and a loo... disappointed to say the least.......but it looked nice in gray slate... with plenty of bath oils etc).
Highlight was the amazing bath in the sitting room.. great fun it was, watching Moulin rouge and sipping champers in a massive bath which you had to climb into. All in all we enjoyed it, but felt a bit wripped off cos of the lack of wet room!! Hotel people... very nice on reception... thanks for welcoming us. Bit pricey for what there was and we were led astray by the wetroom sell...... but whatever....one off and all.

  • Liked — The bath in the sitting room and the bath oils.
  • Disliked — Lack of wet room as we were told about it before we booked by booking agent.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank U.K.Jay2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

I stay here on a regular basis with work. It is clean in a good central location and has everything you need for a business hotel. The food is good and the rooms of a good size. The decor is modern but not particularly inspiring.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteSimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUFFOLK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2006

Arrived early at this hotel (9am) reception staff let us put our cases in the room so that we could spend the whole day shopping!. Got in the room about 2pm and we were so chuffed with it. Lovely and spacious. Beds were so comfortable it was difficult to get out of them.We had a view of a canal, was bit annoyed that we were not informed there is building work going on nearby so got woken up by cranes and drills making loud noises. Rooms had hairdryer, mini-bar, 2 telephones, internet point. Gorgeus bathroom with a power shower and fluffy towels!. We flew to manchester so got the train from the airport to manchester picadilly and the hotel is about a 5min walk from the station if that. From this hotel we walked to picadilly gardens and the Arndale centre. 1 thing i would say about the hotel is that we asked reception to book us a cab from the hotel to a restaurant it cost us £6 yet on return we hailed a cab from just outside the restaurant and it only cost us £3 to get back to the hotel. Didnt have breakfast at the hotel but prices were around £13.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book taxis yourself dont book them through the reception!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JODIEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 116 in Manchester
1,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing