We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay at Malmaison”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #39 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2006

Stayed one night at Malmaison, did the £250 suite deal. Check in was cheerful and courteous, and included an offer of help with my luggage. The Suite (Rm 207) was lovely and spacious (sitting room was a bit souless - like a room in a hospital where they break bad news - needs more colour and cushions - but liked the glossy magazines on offer). The iPod docking station is a nice touch, there was also a CD player - and free broadband access (easy to use) The deal included a bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries on arrival, which weren't in the room. There had been a mix up with our booking and we had to wait 30 mins for delivery - we were getting thirsty! Very apologetic staff. We expected a mini-bottle of champagne - but we're delighted to take delivery of a full bottle of Verve Cliquot and the strawberries were divine - chocolate still warm. Proper towels and bathroom products were great, I can't stand those flannel sized excuses for towels in most hotels, not here - thick fluffy huge towels. Didn't use the spa - can't comment. Champagne breakfast was delivered to the room by two cheerful members of staff, keen to hear if we'd had a good stay. Breakfast is delivered in a wicker picnic basket - delighful and delicious - and at normally 9.95 per head I think is great value. Overall I would say that Malmaison needs a bit of sprucing up in areas - but the service we received was good, there are nice touches that you don't get in other similar hotels (e.g. oversize bathroom products that you are encouraged to take home with you) and I would stay there again, and recommend to others.

We ate at Teppanyaki, a japanese restaurant in china town, the chefs cook on hot plates at the tables - dinner theatre! - would highly recommend - still talking about the meal 48 hours later, can't wait to go back. Best japanese ever tasted.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isablu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,553 - 2,559 of 2,654 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London
11
Reviewed June 6, 2006

Efficient and friendly check-in - although we were 2 hours early.

The room was spotless as was the bathroom.

Restaurant had over an hour wait, so reception staff recommended Cotton House only a few minutes away - which was outstanding.

One of the best hotels I have stayed in - and will definitely look out for malmaison chain when I am away.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2006

I have just returned from a 2 night stay in a luxury suite with my boyfriend, and have very mixed feelings about this place. The size of the suite was smaller than expected, and there were numerous little things that let this place down. The safe did not work, and we were promised it would be fixed whilst we were out, but on return nothing had been done about it. The same with lamps in the room that were broken or had bulbs blown. There was no hairdryer and we left the "milk delivery form" on our doorknob to get milk delivered in the morning, but this never arrived. The bed was the hardest bed i have ever slept in (although this might suit some people), and the tv in the bedroom was tiny. Only had 1 bathrobe etc and i could go on and on but you get the point im trying to make. All these things became rather annoying. On the plus side the bar downstairs is great with a large selection of cocktails, and although their cigar cutter had broken and they only have one in the whole hotel which meant no cigars for my boyfriend, we had a good evening in here. Had a meal also at the restaurant, which we could not fault. The service and food was excellent. Good location was another plus point.

A nice enough hotel but has the potential to be so much better.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michelle 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
35
Reviewed May 31, 2006

it was to be a birthday treat. However the hotel did not live up to expectations. One of the main issues was that it did not serve a cooked breakfast in bed, which considering the size and reputation of the hotel was surprising.
However the location was good as was the bar and resturant facilities. The rooms could have been cleaner but were fine for a one night stay.

Stayed: March 2006
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2006

Stayed for a birthday treat, so I was really looking forward to something special. Disappointed with size of room, not as clean as it should have been, some equipment was broken and not replaced after being reported. Reception staff were not very helpful.

On the positive side, the restaurant was good, the atmosphere was lovely in the evening. The toiletries in the room were wonderful and they did leave a small unexpected birthday gift in the room.

Felt sorry for my husband as he knew how much I had looked forward to a stay in a Malmaison and we both ended up disappointed. Would not recommend for somewhere special but better suited for a business stopover. Not enough attention to detail for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wildwood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2006

We spent a long weekend at the Malmaison in Manchester and absolutely loved it. The location was very convenient, only a 5-10 min walk to the main shops, bars and cafes. The staff were very friendly and helpful with maps and advice on Manchester.

The room we had was beautifully decorated and very comfortable and clean, and a real hairdryer was provided, not the usual wall mounted cheap ones!!

We had breakfast on one of the mornings, and although a bit pricey, we had the full English breakfast which also included the continental buffet which had a wonderful selection of fresh fruits, breads, cereals, pastries, yoghurts, etc.

I would highly recommend this hotel and look out for specials, I called direct and was able to get a room for half the price quoted on the internet.

1  Thank VSWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2006

Booked this hotel in the August in preparation for Christmas shopping trip and a definite treat at £145 a night.

On arrival was disappointed with reception staff who were not at all welcoming.

Room was smaller than expected and appeared to have only been set up for 1 person despite booking a twin for two people. The beds were pushed together but made up separately, there was only one water glass, one coffee sachet and one bathrobe.

On our way out to the theatre that evening we asked the reception staff if they could please supply another bathrobe and more coffee. We were told that there were no more robes available in the hotel! Highly unlikely as there is a spa and the hotel was not full! The receptionist then told us that we couldn't have more coffee explaining that it was a two cup filter that had been provided! Obviously you are only allowed coffee once per day!!

The next day we retuned from a days shopping to find that a put up bed had been made up in our room! After not getting the things that we had asked for we found this completely bizarre!! The room was small enough to start with (and that was before the shopping!) but this made it ridiculous! We phoned down and eventually a lovely man came and took it away, he asked if we needed anything else and within minutes had found us another bathrobe! He also advised us to use the shop over the road rather than the mini bar!

The next day, we had spa treatments booked which were lovely treatments but the spa is in the basement and doesn't really have a nice feel to it. It also took a long time as there was only one therapist so we had to take it in turns to have our treatment.

Overall the experience was extremely disappointing, especially the service on reception. Yes the lobby looks lovely at night but that did nothing to make up for the expensive, small room and rude staff.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet Hotel
Velvet Hotel
#10 of 121 in Manchester
1,830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#27 of 121 in Manchester
1,865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: 1-3 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $100 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing