We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed June 6, 2006

Efficient and friendly check-in - although we were 2 hours early.

The room was spotless as was the bathroom.

Restaurant had over an hour wait, so reception staff recommended Cotton House only a few minutes away - which was outstanding.

One of the best hotels I have stayed in - and will definitely look out for malmaison chain when I am away.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    820
    380
    174
    106
See reviews for
142
1,134
90
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

I have just returned from a 2 night stay in a luxury suite with my boyfriend, and have very mixed feelings about this place. The size of the suite was smaller than expected, and there were numerous little things that let this place down. The safe did not work, and we were promised it would be fixed whilst we were out, but on return nothing had been done about it. The same with lamps in the room that were broken or had bulbs blown. There was no hairdryer and we left the "milk delivery form" on our doorknob to get milk delivered in the morning, but this never arrived. The bed was the hardest bed i have ever slept in (although this might suit some people), and the tv in the bedroom was tiny. Only had 1 bathrobe etc and i could go on and on but you get the point im trying to make. All these things became rather annoying. On the plus side the bar downstairs is great with a large selection of cocktails, and although their cigar cutter had broken and they only have one in the whole hotel which meant no cigars for my boyfriend, we had a good evening in here. Had a meal also at the restaurant, which we could not fault. The service and food was excellent. Good location was another plus point.

A nice enough hotel but has the potential to be so much better.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2006

it was to be a birthday treat. However the hotel did not live up to expectations. One of the main issues was that it did not serve a cooked breakfast in bed, which considering the size and reputation of the hotel was surprising.
However the location was good as was the bar and resturant facilities. The rooms could have been cleaner but were fine for a one night stay.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2006

Stayed for a birthday treat, so I was really looking forward to something special. Disappointed with size of room, not as clean as it should have been, some equipment was broken and not replaced after being reported. Reception staff were not very helpful.

On the positive side, the restaurant was good, the atmosphere was lovely in the evening. The toiletries in the room were wonderful and they did leave a small unexpected birthday gift in the room.

Felt sorry for my husband as he knew how much I had looked forward to a stay in a Malmaison and we both ended up disappointed. Would not recommend for somewhere special but better suited for a business stopover. Not enough attention to detail for the price.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildwood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2006

We spent a long weekend at the Malmaison in Manchester and absolutely loved it. The location was very convenient, only a 5-10 min walk to the main shops, bars and cafes. The staff were very friendly and helpful with maps and advice on Manchester.

The room we had was beautifully decorated and very comfortable and clean, and a real hairdryer was provided, not the usual wall mounted cheap ones!!

We had breakfast on one of the mornings, and although a bit pricey, we had the full English breakfast which also included the continental buffet which had a wonderful selection of fresh fruits, breads, cereals, pastries, yoghurts, etc.

I would highly recommend this hotel and look out for specials, I called direct and was able to get a room for half the price quoted on the internet.

Helpful?
1 Thank VSWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2006

Booked this hotel in the August in preparation for Christmas shopping trip and a definite treat at £145 a night.

On arrival was disappointed with reception staff who were not at all welcoming.

Room was smaller than expected and appeared to have only been set up for 1 person despite booking a twin for two people. The beds were pushed together but made up separately, there was only one water glass, one coffee sachet and one bathrobe.

On our way out to the theatre that evening we asked the reception staff if they could please supply another bathrobe and more coffee. We were told that there were no more robes available in the hotel! Highly unlikely as there is a spa and the hotel was not full! The receptionist then told us that we couldn't have more coffee explaining that it was a two cup filter that had been provided! Obviously you are only allowed coffee once per day!!

The next day we retuned from a days shopping to find that a put up bed had been made up in our room! After not getting the things that we had asked for we found this completely bizarre!! The room was small enough to start with (and that was before the shopping!) but this made it ridiculous! We phoned down and eventually a lovely man came and took it away, he asked if we needed anything else and within minutes had found us another bathrobe! He also advised us to use the shop over the road rather than the mini bar!

The next day, we had spa treatments booked which were lovely treatments but the spa is in the basement and doesn't really have a nice feel to it. It also took a long time as there was only one therapist so we had to take it in turns to have our treatment.

Overall the experience was extremely disappointing, especially the service on reception. Yes the lobby looks lovely at night but that did nothing to make up for the expensive, small room and rude staff.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2006

Up until recently, this mid-level hotel had rates of £99 per night. Which was probably about right. Without any logical reason, they now charge £160, which is laughable. There are several MUCH better hotels in town that only charge £120. What are these morons thinking? I used to stay at the Malmaison once a week. Now, I stay elsewhere, spend less, and get more.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 117 in Manchester
1,649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 117 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing