We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel perfectly located in City centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #38 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Returned to the Malmaison after over 5yrs and have to say the service and quality of hotel remains as I remember.

Rooms are spacious but could do with a bit of a touch up and dusting..

All in all a pleasant stay and a great breakfast!

Didn't try the steakhouse this time round but will on my next visit, the 30 day hung meat looked amazing!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Unicornbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,741 - 1,747 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great location for shops and Main railway station. We arrived for a night last Saturday. Staff were friendly and we were able to store our luggage until our room was ready. I was really disappointed with the room. We were given the disabled facilities and although a large room I would rather have had a bath and a proper shower. The bed was large and comfortable. We had problems with the room temperature and this resulted in the room being far too hot. We did ask for someone to look at this and were told it would be controlled by maintenance. The bathroom was very dark as some lights were out and we are still waiting for those to be fixed! I have stayed in Malmaison Hotels before and Manchester is in need of a major refurb. The furniture was chipped and the carpets downstairs to to the toilets were threadbare. I think for £129 without breakfast its not cheap. I wouldnt stay there again as there are newer cheaper hotels with better tripadvisor reviews nearby. Rather disappointed!

Room Tip: If you dont want a disabled room state that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaznles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I booked this trip as part of a Thomas Cook football package because it was close to the Manchester Picadilly train station. It was a very short walk, I'd say two minutes from when we first exit, easily identfiable by the big restaurant sign of The Smoak. Once we got in there, it was dark and loud, a lounge atmosphere, something I haven't been very accustomed to for a long time. It didn't bother me too much, except for the fact that I looked like a college backpacker and everyone else in the restaurant was dressed up for a Saturday evening out. I checked in and got my room on the 2nd floor.

Our room was well equipped, spacious and clean. Lovely rainshower and full size bathtub. A decent sized flat screen tv, refreshments of tea bags, coffee bags, hot chocolate and a tea kettle. A minibar stashed with alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks was also available.

Breakfast was included as part of our package. It was quite decent with an breakfast entree of hot food, drinks including both juice, tea, coffee and unlimited access to the continental breakfast bar of croissants, pastries, and cereals.

For shopping, it is a 10 minute stroll to Arndale shopping centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a base for a company jolly. Everything was clean and tidy and the ambience as good as I remember from 10 years ago when my wife and I spent our honeymoon in Malmaison Edinburgh. Staff very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my stay. Don't hesitate in booking this hotel for business, pleasure, or leisure.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Theboywatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having stayed in the Mal chain in previous locations, I felt the Manchester hotel would be a perfect way to celebrate an anniversary with my partner. Unfortunately this venue didn't live up to my expectations.

To start with the positives, the room was spacious, extremely quiet (even with it facing the front of the hotel) and the shower was heavenly. The reception area and bar seating area was really nice, welcoming and the same dark and moody atmosphere that gives Mal it's signature look. The location is great. It's literally a 5 minute walk from Piccadilly Station and not even a 10 minute walk into the town centre.

To point out the negatives, for me, I could only describe the room as shabby. The walls were severely marked, the furniture was severely scuffed, the bedding - although it was clean - had a very strange smell to it and the bed was clearly broken with a huge dip in the middle of it. The room itself was dusty and felt like it hadn't been used for some time, even though I know this is a popular hotel and I was told upon check in it was fully booked. Normally, small things like this wouldn't bother me as much however the Mal chain isn't cheap. They portray their image as luxury boutique but I wouldn't have described our allocated room as that.

We did eat in the restaurant which was again, very average. I have no qualms about paying for top class food and drink but unfortunately, the food was not great and the bill was very heavy. The tempura fish then pasta that i chose was very tasteless and boring. Perhaps I wouldn't have made the same conclusion if I had chose something different on the menu but I was really disappointed. Same with the wine, for £11 a glass, I would expect something really impressive but I've honestly tasted better from Tesco.

All in all, I wouldn't exclude a different Mal hotel in the future but I would look for an alternative place to stay when revisiting Manchester if I was looking at this kind of price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regina214Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

5 of us paid a visit on a Thursday evening and have to say was very busy. We had to book and advise anyone to do the same.
We had a 3 course meal each,bottle of wine and a few other drinks and it came to £250. I thought it was OK to what we had. Overall everything was OK, only downside was we had to send back the potatoes as they were not cooked properly.
Device was good.
The gents toilets were not of the same standard, they smelt of urine as they do not use fresheners in the buckets.
Don't pee and have a good time :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Overall the hotel is excellent however as with all experiences it is unfortunately the worst aspects that often stay in the memory after the event. Even a few weeks later the image of about 8 members of staff all moving around the bar area whilst achieving absolutely nothing and serving no one remains the image of service at this hotel. It's true to say that never has so little been achieved by so many serving so few. After twenty minutes of having any eye contact avoided even though we were sat at the bar we left for the evening foregoing our restaurant booking and ate elsewhere - by all means stay in the hotel - even eat in the restaurant ( I've eaten there before the food is excellent) just don't expect to get a drink at the bar!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndasC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#25 of 120 in Manchester
1,833 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Velvet Hotel
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: 1-3 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $117 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing