We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little to object to.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #36 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Consistently good, consistently buzzy. Book a superior or executive room. The standard rooms just don't cut it. Bar and bistro are always busy. This is not a typical centre hotel where the bars and restaurants are to be avoided at all costs. It has a great location 3 minutes walk from the train station and within a £5 cab ride to almost anywhere in town. What's to complain about?

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room, however if you do and take the option to join the upgrade list, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,816 - 1,822 of 2,592 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Really nice hotel, the check in was warm and friendly. Requested a quiet room on check in and this was noted, my room was silent! Location wise great, downtown and easy walk to many restaurants however the hotel has a lovely restaurant and bar on site. Great for a pre dinner drink.

Great internet connection, connected straight away with no problems or delays which is key to me on business travel. The bedrooms are comfortable, stylish and spacious, really good night sleep - I booked just a standard room so I imagine the upgraded rooms are even bigger. They also have a full bath tub which is something I look for when at a hotel as many just have a shower.

Breakfast was cooked to order, hot, fresh and of good quality.

Overall a really pleasant stay and I would certainly return when I am on business in Manchester. Agree with the other reviews, its is so far from the hotels I have stayed in Manchester, the best.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room ask the receptiion, they really do listen and allocate according to their t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charl-w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed for two days, one night. Rooms were really nice with mini bar, savoury snacks, free safe, tv and Internet. Friendly professional staff. I really liked the bar, which reminded me of something you would see in New York, doesn't appear to close and with very attentive waiting staff. Also had the added bonus of meeting the group Blue in the bar who were a great bunch of guys and, due to their down to earth and really friendly attitude, made some new fans. This was a business trip, but I would return with my wife and family to try out the restaurant, which had a good queue forming at midday when I was leaving.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rikdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in early May 2013, staff could not be more helpful, we had the room called True Blue, which is amazing and well worth the extra money. Would recommend this hotel for the traveller, great location and great bar downstairs. Make the best bloody Mary's.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzan2550103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Booked 2 rooms ( 1 standard + 1 superior ) staff very helpful about arranging cot etc, but standard room 118 was just that standard and small. Also booked a superior room which was upgraded to executive 132 ..... which was bigger but not sure what a superior room is like ? As executive was nice but nothing spectacular.
Room only rate which gives nothing away I would have like breakfast included for the steep price, but there are plenty of breakfast venues within short walking distance.
Even when they know it is a special treat ( big birthday) they don't go out of their way to spoil you.
I think they are resting on their Malmaison laurels a bit.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank RioSriOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel over the bank holiday weekend. Check in was easy and staff very efficient, the room was really nice and a lot more than we were expecting for what we paid. We had considered upgrading and were glad that we didn't bother as the room was big enough and had everything we needed. The bed was huge and really comfortable, fittings and fixtures were all nice too, and the bathroom was lovely with an amazing shower and decent sized bath. The cleanliness of room was to a good standard, although you did notice some dust on the tables and mirrors when the sun was shining in the window, but not that big of a deal...

We didn't eat at the hotel, but we did have a drink down at the bar which was a bit rubbish, as we waited ages to get served, and the staff don't really seem to know their stuff, which is fine, but if I'm paying nearly £10 for a single malt I would like not having it poured in a glass filled to the brim with ice!!

Location of this hotel is really good, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again next time I'm in Manchester. The only thing we had an issue with is the fact that we were charged again for our booking on check-out, even though the room was pre-paid in advance. They are in the process of resolving this though, hopefully swiftly so I don't regret giving them a good review!!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and they gave us a room on the 5th floor, which did the trick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Overall I am very happy with my 3 night stay in this hotel. The location of it is excellent, especially if arriving by train, and most things are in easy walking distance. The room itself was spacious and well appointed, with a big comfortable bed, nice bathroom, plenty of storage space etc. Blackout curtains worked well, and the windows certainly kept out all sound from the busy streets below. And the shower was remarkable, possibly the best I've ever used in a hotel - most enjoyable! However the hotel does need some extra care and attention, lots of things are a little scuffed, scratched, stained etc. It doesn't feel in any way dirty, quite the opposite, but there are lots of signs of wear and tear that don't seem to be high priority to be sorted. That's all that is keeping me from awarding full marks. Staff were friendly and attentive on reception, including providing me with an extension lead (as all plug sockets are annoyingly at the far end of the room and I needed something close to the bed).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noceross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: 1-3 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $116 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing