We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I visited Manchester to meet a friend who was staying at Malmaison on Picadilly and Gore Street so we decided to stay in the bar to have a drink and go into the restaurant for a meal. The bar has mixed seating from leather sofa's to low chairs around the bar area all set in smaller groups which gave a great atmosphere with people of all ages being able to have conversations without music being too loud.
The food was good although some of the burgers are far too large which means food gets wasted and I do hate waste.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    822
    381
    174
    107
See reviews for
143
1,137
90
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Where do I start.. Me and my ..&& boyfriend went here in September was fantastic we only stayed in the Double Cosy Room and fell in love there was nothing we could fault ONLY the Tv was a wii bit small but still not a big issue. Staff service was excellent always checking up on us that thing where ok..! Soo we loved that much my boyfriend booked for us to go back for my 21st for the weekend. We had lots of issues getting there but once we arrived everything just got better n better.. We checked in only to find out they gave us an upgrade to a superior room .. :-0 Just a big thank you to Jacky Cheung for making our stay even more pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObiieOmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I booked a hotel room for a friday night. Upon booking, I mentioned that it was my one year anniversary with my girlfriend and the helpful receptionist incredibly upgraded us to a junior suite!! The room was amazing, the bathroom in the junior suite is very nice, and the lounge well equipped with ipod dock and comfortable corner sofa. Overall the room amazed us, the style was modern and trendy, exactly the kind of thing we were looking for! Attention to detail was fantastic!!
The service from staff couldn't have been any better. They made you feel as though they would have sorted out anything that you wanted. The atmosphere downstairs is vibrant, exciting and fun in the bar/ restaurant area, but there are also quieter areas to go and sit in comfortable seats.
Overall, there is nothing that i would have changed about our stay, thank you!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Small room which was uncomfortably hot. Air con sounded like a tractor. Had bar food which was poor. £4.20 for half pint of Heineken !. They don't do pints because pints are ostentatious apparently. Breakfast pretty good, but should be at £14.00

Room Tip: Avoid second floor cells
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beekeeper16328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in late January for 2 nights. The hotel is very close to Manchester Piccadilly train station, and so is convenient if you are travelling by train. It is also close to restaurants, bars and shops- so would be a good choice for a weekend away.

The room was modern and had everything you need. It was a little on the small side, but as I wasn't spending long there this didn't really matter. The shower in the bathroom was excellent, and the toiletries were nice too! The plug in the sink kept getting stuck, but you could live with it if only staying for a night or two.

The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful, and made you feel very welcome.

Overall this is a good hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

2nd time to stay here in Manchester. Check in was easy and staff were very welcoming. Stayed in comfortable room on the 4th floor. Decor is interesting and bed comfortable. Although I did not use the restaurant apart for an excellent breakfast, the steak house looks great. The proximity to Manchester Piccadilly is a definite plus. Free wifi also much appreciated so I could keep up with work. Will be staying there again in a few weeks on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a brilliant time at the Malmaison Manchester! We were greeted at reception by an extremely pleasant & smart young man. He was professional, yet relaxed and made us feel completely welcome. We later found out his name was Jackie. He directed us to our room, which we were so happy with, a beautiful suite with 3 rooms (lounge area, bedroom & bathroom). Absolutely spotless & plenty of space. We later ate at Smoak restaurant downstairs, the food was delicious! Overall, we had an amazing evening - great food, outstanding service & extremely welcoming! Thankyou Malmaison....& thankyou to Jackie!

Room Tip: 5th floor was silent and extremely peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 118 in Manchester
1,660 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing