We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried it again - could do better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tried it again - could do better!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've posted a previous review on here about a disastrous stay at the Manchester Mal and following this the duty manager invited me back to stay for a night free of charge to apologise for the service received before. We wanted to visit the Christmas market so booked in last week. We were greeted with a lovely welcome and the reception staff couldn't do enough for us, the room was lovely and clean and in a quiet part of the hotel - no complaints so far! We chose to go out for a meal but decided to return to the hotel bar for drinks afterwards which is where it goes wrong. Young bar staff who really just wanted to have a laugh with each other and were really rude - not just to us but to other people really put me off. We waited 10 mins to get served even though the bar was empty because they were too busy 'chatting' and mucking around - really unprofessional. Drinks took ages to be poured as well. Went to bed and next morning decided to order room service breakfast, several things were forgotten off our order and the ketchup forgotten twice. Its the little things like this that really add up. All in all, an ok stay but with Abode over the road and the classy and luxorious, Radisson, round the corner, I know where I'll be staying in future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanieLYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    820
    380
    174
    106
See reviews for
142
1,134
90
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here last night while in Manchester to visit the Xmas Markets. Lovely hotel with helpful staff we arrived early but our bags were stored and taken up to our room for us by the time we came back. Rooms are lovely and comfortable. As we only stayed one night we only got a taste of what the hotel was like but will definitely be back to stay again. The only down side was my partner was woken at 7.30 with beer barrels being loaded to wagon however when we mentioned this on checking out we were told the company were not supposed to do this at that time and they would speak to them. We left our bags until we went for our train which was not a problem and on our return to collect them there were freshly baked mini mince pies at the reception for guests a very nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very different in style, quite unique in design ...
Highs ... fab cocktail list, cosy table booths, nice rooms, brilliant shower, lots of little extra touches in the rooms, ironing board, iron, decent hair dryer, good range of complimentary lotions & body washes etc, comfy beds, fresh coffee in rooms, central location ..
Booked with friends for an overnight stay with meal, lovely weekend ...
Lows ... service pleasant but not very swift, breakfast more expensive than average at £15 p/p

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela and Davi... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

A real shame they've closed the lovely ember lounge. The main bar is just doesn't have the same cosy atmosphere as its too busy and public. Foods still good as is the service. Rooms are quality and value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladlenspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I've stayed at the Mal in Manchester (and the London hotel) several times. Its a hotel chain with a distinctive style - it aims to be slightly cheeky - with a black and red colour scheme, some photos of bare flesh in the corridors, which might not suit all tastes - but at least the hotel is trying something different. A good choice of room rates, free wifi, good sound insulation, good sized spotless, well equiped rooms - a lot to like. Food is great (the bar has had a recent refit) - and the chain has announced another multi-million pound investment (work is reported to start early 2013). Staff are efficient - but they have to battle with Chris Evans on the radio blasting out of the speakers in the morning. Is that really necessary?!

Just across the road from the main railway station, and a gentle stroll into town for all major attractions. If the noise of the traffic on the busy main road bothers you (as it did me) the staff seemed very happy to arrange a move to another room.

Although full price seems overpriced, this is my top choice for Manchester on a late deal.

Room Tip: some rooms are in a modern extension, and some overlook the busy main road (although sound proofing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keitharrowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A good hotel in Machester city centre, however rooms are a little small for the price you pay. Very handy for Picadilly. Rooms are clean and well kitted out, but we found the bed quite firm and for me uncomfortabe. Breakfast selection is good and meals are excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

after my meeting at the hotel i was off to the airport,i was asked by reception would i like a taxi ordered,i replyed i would use the b-cabs outside she told me they charge £35 and she could phone a private hire firm that charge £30 ok i said,with this i walked outside and asked the 1st cab on the rank how much to the airport he said no more than £22 so i got in the black cab and off we went,the driver explained the staff at the hotel have a thing going on with the private hire drivers who if they use them the driver gives them £5 and they charge the passenger £30 so they end up with £25.so the staff are using the guests to make money on the side.my fare in the black cab was on the meter and it clocked £21.30.

Room Tip: i did not sleep at the hotel,business meeting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 117 in Manchester
1,649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 117 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing