We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Manchester
Nearby Hotels
$133
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$216
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$159
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$87
$72
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
$71
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$107
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$110
$100
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$112
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
$123
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,725)
Filter reviews
2,725 results
Traveler rating
1,076
914
427
189
119
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
914
427
189
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner suitepiccadilly stationmini barbuilding worksuperior roomcooked breakfastan upgradebirthday treatreception staffcity centrecomfy bedhotel barlovely roomsaturday nightnorthern quarterstayed for one nightcanal street
Filter
Updating list...
2,200 - 2,205 of 2,725 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We love spending time in Manchester & visit on a regular basis! Every time we are in Manchester we stay at the Mal! The presentation of the hotel is very good & the staff are friendly.
The rooms are always clean & the power shower makes a good wake up call!
The food in the restaurant is well presented and there is a good choice - as well as the standard menu there is always specials the specials.
We always vist the Ember Bar for a cocktail evening & even though the cocktails are more pricey than your average bar they are worth it! Overall great hotel & the location is perfect 2 minute walk from Picadilly Station & 5 minutes from Picadilly Gardens and the Shops

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyHols024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great looking room, free upgrade . . . Receptionist couldn't have been more accommodating. Quiet location, 12 pm check out . . . Perfect.

Room Tip: Free upgrade when requested
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashdobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed for an evening last month whilst in Manchester for the weekend. Room was lovely, staff really friendly and helpful and the hotel has a lovely atmosphere. However, cannot say the same about the breakfast experience. We arrived for breakfast around 9.15am to be told there was a 15 minute wait, and to help ourselves to tea or coffee from the bar, which we tried to do but there was no hot water or coffee left. It took some time to get someone's attention and it then took another 10 minutes for them to bring out the replacements. We took a seat at the bar and when we were eventually called to our table, our order was taken quite quickly, however, we were not offered any coffee/tea or toast - when our breakfasts came was asked for this and then had to ask another 3 times before it came - but had already finished our breakfast by then. Considering we had paid about £14 quid each for this the day we arrived (originally having not booked breakfast but deciding with a hang over we might need one) - that's a hell of a rubbish experience for £28 which could have been spent elsewhere. I appreciate the breakfast room was busy but the staff were harassed and it simply was not a nice atmosphere; we could not wait to get out of there which really put a dampner on what had until then been a really good experience. If you're going to charge so much for a really tiny breakfast, the experience needs to be better I'm afraid. We would stay again, but would skip the morning chaos and head to a pub for a much cheaper, more filling and less stressful hang over cure..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Thoroughly recommend this Mal-We booked 3 rooms for a girlie weekend in Manchester and would heartily recommend this hotel for anyone, business or pleasure! I cant praise the staff enough, so helpful, approachable and prepared to go above and beyond the call of duty. Every single one from reception, to the duty manager, to the waitresses and bar staff, and chamber maids-all deserve praise for excellent customer service.
As you would expect from Mal hotels, it was stylish from front of house to the 3 rooms we booked. All rooms were comfy, well equipped (free wi-fi an added bonus!) and thankfully, effective air conditioning, as we stayed during a miraculous Manchester heat wave!
Finally, amazing Eggs Benedict for breakfast, a great selection of cocktails and terrace BBQ were added bonuses!
If you're looking for a mid price, high quality hotel in a fantastic location in Manchester (literally a 3 minute walk from Piccadilly) I recommend the Mal :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayerye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Manchester had been my 2nd city for work for a few years now (up until I left the UK six months ago) and I have tried a few hotels at a medium price range and I must say the Mal always comes up with the goods. As you would expect from this brand-hotel the amenities and service is top notch. The rooms (from the smallest right the way through to the best—literally what they call it!) are very comfortable and the beds are big and firm with down pillows (if you like soft pillows). The restaurant has a good varied menu, reasonably extensive wine list and a staff that knows what they're serving! The deciding factor for me (coming from London) is its close proximity to Piccadilly station.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the old part of the building with high ceilings and (if you like this sort of thing) windows that actually open!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews