We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely not a Hilton standard, or???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Manchester Airport
Ranked #59 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Glasgow
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Surely not a Hilton standard, or???”
Reviewed April 14, 2010

My fiancee and I found the Hilton to be the most suitable for a nights stay before heading on to Cuba for our holiday.
The reason was because the price included a two week parking for our car.
We were quite let down by Hilton to be honest.
Check in went fine, and found our hotel room on the same leve.
The room wasn't all that spectacular, and everything from mini bar etc was expensive.
it also had seen better days.
We opted for a 20 min train ride into town centre as the restaurant didn't look appealing at all.
The night sleep was ok, the shower was pretty good, and the bathroom in clean condition.
When we got back to pick our car up we were extremly dissapointed to find after the cold two weeks with lots of snow that the carpark hadn't been de iced and we were sliding all over the place and nearly fell.
We would not return here, let alone another Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonMA, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Manchester Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and I am glad that you had a good night's sleep and enjoyed your shower and cleanliness of the bathroom.

We tried to obtain as much salt as possible during the snowy conditions but there were severe shortages in this area and, although our concierge were diligent in manually removing the snow, there were days when the snow outfell us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which is always used to keep and maintain our standards which we strive hard to achieve.

Many kind regards
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    966
    621
    307
    167
See reviews for
537
1,182
207
606
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Booked via hilton hhonor points.

I thought since the 1 night stay cost 35,000 points the hotel must be something special.
However, this was the worst hilton experience ever. From the moment I stepped out of my car the air was thick with what can only be described as the smell of sewage.

Check in was less than helpful and there were no extras included in the hhonors booking. Only 2 nights earlier I had used 21,000 hhonors points to stay in the Luxor Hilton which was far superior and had breakfast and other extras included free of charge.

The outside smell also frequented the guest room. The room ventilation system was none functional and the smell was nauseating.

We arrived quite late so found that the restaurants were closed. The room service menu for late night dining was very limited. Still we managed to order paninis and were told the order would take 20 minutes. After a long flight we just wanted to eat and sleep. The order actually took 50 minutes to arrive and was far over priced even by Hilton standards.

The room decor was quite tired especially in the bathroom. The mini bar was unstocked and the fridge was quite dirty.

I had planned to lie in in the morning and check out as late as possible but the whole experience led to me checking out as soon as I had managed a few hours sleep.

There are many better hotels in the area in terms of service, decor and value and I am sure they won't have the smell of sewage either.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonMA, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Manchester Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website. All feedback is taken extremely seriously and your issue was immediately taken to our Chief Engineer to see if any works or seepage had occurred early April. We found no activity relating to this and there have been no other like complaints. Surprisingly, the Airport is surrounded by farm fields and it is possible that there was silage spraying happening as this is the growing season. We are very sorry that your stay was marred but, as above, have found nothing to link the odour with our hotel.

Being an airport hotel, our points redemption is linked to supply and demand and at this time of year demand is always very high.

I will investigate as to why your room order was delayed. We no longer have stocked minibars but have kept the units in the bedrooms for our guests useage. The cleanliness of this unit will be corrected post haste.

Once again, our sincere apologies for your marred stay. We do strive hard here at Hilton Manchester Airport to achieve and maintain high standards and your feeeback is invalubable for making this happen.

Kind regards
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I assume the people who give this Hotel a good review have stayed for a night and left their car there for a week, and i suppose for £89.00 its decent value.

My room was okay, i was actually quite surprised about this-.
I booked seven rooms in all, for myself and some of my oversea's customers- on top of the price I paid I also ended up paying an extra £70.00 in car parking fee's for everyone, I then had to drop one of my clients back off at the Hotel later that day as he was flying out of the Country the following day and yes it cost me another £5 for 20minutes.
Larger- £3.80
Tea- £3.20
2 course meal- £25.00 for one fillet of farmed SeaBass and a poxy starter.
Internet- £15.00
But its the parking that pxxxed me off as its a hidden tax that you cannot get out of paying- why they can't offer it free for residents is beyond me.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonMA, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Manchester Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. We do clearly state what our car parking charges are and being so close to the airport with limited space, parking does come at a premium.

With regards to our pricing structure, we do align this to our fellow hotels in the direct vicinity.

We do take your comments with the utmost seriousness and would thank you very much for your feedback.

Kind regards
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We thought we had got a great deal - £74 for a nights stay and 8 days parking until we ordered a glass of wine and a pint of cider at he bar - £11.20, then decided to go for the burgers in the bar meals section which were equally as expensive, but were actually very nice. The resaurant itslef didnt look at all apealing, and not cheap!
The room was small, but funtional, except the light was very poor, not easy to put make up on at all.
The pick up at the end of our holiday was dreadful, we eventually found the freephone but then had too wait at least 15mins for the minibus, wwe could've walked it faster. We got dropped off at a portocabin and sent to our car, if it hadn't been so cheap, I would never consider this hotel agin.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becca_stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonMA, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Manchester Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments. Our pricing structure is aligned to that of our fellow hotels in the area and does reflect our proximity to the airport.

I am glad you enjoyed your meal. We do have notices in the foyer explaining that our journey to and from the aiport can take about 25 minutes depending upon the traffic and time of year.

I can understand your frustration when not finding the freephone, it is important that all our guests make themselves aware of where these phones are located in the terminals. Alternatively, our guests can call us direct, pressing "0", to call for the mini-bus.

I do hope you will come back again and would assure you of my best attention at all times.

Kind regards
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Good points are the included transport to airport and breakfast but I agree this hotel is not up to usual Hilton standards - my bathroom and lobby smelled of urine (and, weirdly, of cigarette smoke at 5am), and the restaurant was awful - overpriced, faffy and pretentious. My meal was too salty to eat, a companion's turned out to be chillied with no warning. The waiters seemed to think they were working somewhere terribly posh and gave themselves airs to match. The reception staff and breakfast buffet were OK.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelicityYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This hotel should not be called a Hilton Hotel. Definitely not up to Hilton standard, stayed in far superior Hiltons than this one.

Lobby and check in area good, but once you get into the rooms, it is a disappointment. Rooms are basic, bathroom clean enough, bed uncomfortable, best thing about this place is the staff cannot do enough for you. Drinks in the bar are very expensive. Not worth the money

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ice-lemon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreham-by-sea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

This simply isn't one of the better Hiltons, more like a downmarket chain but unfortunately still with Hilton prices.

Only stayed one night but had a number of problems:

Faulty motion sensor causing disco effect in room
"Leisure club" is a dingy gym only, both the running machines were out of order
Other peoples' hair in the bath
Tasteless overpriced food (leek and potato soup was like dishwater)

I stay in Hiltons fairly regularly and this is among the worst I have visited, also watch out for £10 surchage for overnight parking. It is clearly trading on its airport location and assuming customers are just passing through and don't expect much in the way of service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.1 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Airport

Property: Hilton Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4WP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#47 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveniently situated only 5 minutes from Manchester International Airport terminals and 8 miles (15 minutes by train) to Manchester City Centre, this modern hotel is home to Mason's Restaurant& Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester
Airport Hilton Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing