We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, over priced food and not very efficient staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Manchester Airport
Ranked #59 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
nottingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, over priced food and not very efficient staff.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for a business conference on 19th feb 2008. We have used this hotel before but the staff couldnt quite understand that the business pays for a meal and 2 drinks. We finally got this confirmed after 20 minutes and checked in.

Went to dinner and whilst there was advised that although we get dinner we get a limit of £27.95 and we had gone over (my steak cost £25 so no wonder and I wanted a starter!) tried to make us pay the extra and the parking at £10!

Wouldnt let us check out until it was sorted with company.

food was ok but way overpriced, had a steak in another hotel previous night and it tasted the same for a fraction of the price.

a glass of wine cost £8.95! are you joking! i could recommend a good bottle for that price.

Rooms ok, nice size, took a while to warm up. I would say for a hilton it was standard. the staff need to pay more attention to booking so that problems dont occur.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank makeshya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    954
    617
    305
    165
See reviews for
535
1,166
205
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

Stayed here on a Tuesday night while away with work. Checked in around 8:30, was very quick and didnt have to wait. Was in room 417 over looking the car park. Room was an average size, had 2 single beds, nice large flat screen t.v, bathroom was ok, but shower curtain was dirty.
Had diiner that night, thankfully work were picking up the bill as i spent £30 on dinner, on 2 courses and a drink! I took the safe option and had the Hilton Burger, was nice as usual but for £13.00 not great value for money.
Breakfast the next day was good, a wide selection, but again £17.00 ud have to eat alot to get yuor moneys worth!
To sum up i wasnt that impressed with the Hilton, didnt have the usual nice Hilton touches, and staff were average.
Id stay again if someone else was paying, but if i was, i think i would try an alternative.

  • Liked — Close to the aiport
  • Disliked — Dirty shower curtain
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fly_cruise_stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

We spent one night at the hotel before flying first thing the next morning, and it was a fine as airport hotels go. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. The room was well equipped with a flat screen television, and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was reasonable with a good shower. We had dinner in the hotel, and even though we were nearly the last people there, service was good and we didn’t get the feeling that they were trying to get rid of us.

We parked here as part of the package whilst we were off on holiday, and the parking service was generally fine, although it did take about twenty minutes after we called before the bus to come to get us when we arrived back. To be fair, our flight was significantly late, which may have been a factor.

I would be very happy to stay here again for a night before or after a flight.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2008

Stayed here for one night before an early flight. Good location, easy to get to with good links to the airport. Room was of a good size with large bathroom. Clean with good amenities, tea, coffee etc. You can hear planes taking off but it has to be expected when u are that close to the airport. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment but the restaurant looked very busy, which is normally a good sign. Check in staff were not as efficient as I would have liked but overall a good stop over hotel. Would stay again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CocoCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

This is an old property and Hilton have done pretty well to keep it afloat. I stayed on HH points and got pushed up to a Deluxe room. This was quite interesting, big flat screen TV, leather sofa, not bad. However there are some problems - and they are all to do with getting the basics right. Firstly the bathroom was dirty. Really dusty, like it had not been occupied for months. The dust on the bathtub was so extreme it turned to black gunk once the shower ran. Euchh! Not acceptable. Also not acceptable, is a non working sink plug. It wouldn't stay down. Impossible therefore to get a shave. Also, shower had two temps - scalding and freezing. Try as I might I just couldn't get it right. Very noisy air conditioning which unfortunately went on a kind of musical cycle that might drive you mad (could not be turned off).

The room felt like it had been unoccupied for weeks, maybe it was a one-off.

Hilton have added value as hard as they possibly can with this property, all the dressings are great, all the superb Hilton services are there, ironing board, etc. all those good things. Also the bed was very comfortable, and the shuttle bus worked like a dream. But, a bit of back to basics is also required. An airport hotel is a place where you sleep, have a shave and a shower and get on your way.

One other very important point - it is now impossible to walk back to this hotel. (If you didn't stay here for a few years, beware!). This is because the Airport has closed the pathway for security reasons. So like it or not, you'll need to fetch the bus when you get back.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

we booked the Hilton at Manchester for our honeymoon as we were travelling down from Barnard Castle to Manchester Airport to fly out the day after our wedding.

The service was excellent. We were checked in within moments, the room was excellent - upgrade was gratefully recieved!

We had booked a package where we had one night RO and 2 weeks car parking for only £109.

On checking out in the morning, we asked what time the shuttle bus would be arriving to take us to the airport. "Dont worry about that" said our ever helpful concierge - "I'll get the 4x4 out" and with that we were at the airport within 5 minutes.

On our return we literally rang the parking company as we came out of arrivals and as we walked out into the airport carpark they came along in a people carrier to pick us up, drive us to our car which had been started up and moved to the front of the Hilton for us. Just the excellent sort of service you need when you arrive tired at 2am in the morning!

I would recommend this airport hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Excellent customer service
  • Disliked — not applicable
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

Hi, I'm copying the feedback I provided to Hilton throught their website.

My stay at the Manchester, UK airport Hilton was my first, and hopefully last at that property. I was in room 328. For the room rates and premier brand of a Hilton hotel, the experience did not even compete with an economy hotel in the US.

Specifically:
- The light fixtures in the room were barren and in one case was just a bulb.
- The beds had very limited linens and pillows.
- The electric teapot had clearly not been cleaned. It was debris from someone cooking noodles in it or worse.
- The bathroom was sparse and dated looking.

The dining experience in Lowry's was similarly dissapointing. 8.95 GBP for a glass of wine? A fixed price menu of over 50 USD for fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and green beans? I walked out of there with an 80 GBP bill, which I am fine spending for a fine dining experience and good service. This was neither. On top of all that, the server asked for a gratuity in cash, off the bill presumarbly to get around taxes or get more out of the restaurant.

The entire experience seemed to resonate with the facade of a premium hotel while the actual experience was commensurate with a low-budget, corning-cutting economy motel. In the future, I will again be staying at the Radisson SAS and recommend my colleagues flying through Manchester do the same.

I wish them luck in improving your offering at that location because the level of neglect shown for customer experience is more than a coincidental overlap of a few of gaps in service -- it actually gave the impression of willful corner cutting.

  • Liked — Proximity to airport
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.1 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Airport

Property: Hilton Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4WP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#47 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveniently situated only 5 minutes from Manchester International Airport terminals and 8 miles (15 minutes by train) to Manchester City Centre, this modern hotel is home to Mason's Restaurant& Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester
Airport Hilton Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing