We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Manchester
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,030)
Filter reviews
5,030 results
Traveler rating
1,873
1,865
788
301
203
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,873
1,865
788
301
203
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irish bar sampans restaurant manchester airport pillow spray stayed here club room an early flight courtesy bus days parking shuttle service free phone car parking next morning main restaurant pre flight stay park and fly overnight stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 5,030 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

waiting time for the airport shuttle was 25 minutes, altough i told that i'm i rush and the answer was that it will be here in a minute....if i would have known that it will take 25 minutes i would have ordered a taxi...
so i was really in trouble to catch my flight as i was moving into the airports rushour....
bad expereince

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MichaelL8264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are truly sorry that we have not met your expectations on this visit.

Kind regards, Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having had a mediocre experience here last September we made the mistake of booking here again (largely as we had left it late and our preferred hotel was booked). Nothing has changed apart from the place looking a little more tired and dated. There is also a clear lack of management with each department operating in isolation.

The room was fine apart from being shabby and in need of updating. The bathroom was not as clean as it should have been.

We booked dinner, bed and breakfast. For dinner, we were offered a fixed price menu with some very uninspiring choices so we elected to go for the a la carte menu. We were told there would be an allowance of £25 per person offset against the bill.

Starters were not very good. The pakoras were very overcooked, dry and stale and had been reheated. The prawn and chorizo was bland and luke warm.

The main course of gammon was fine. The duck dish was let down by the overcooked, stale, lukewarm rosti. It was rock-hard around the edges and soggy in the middle from the dollop of spinach The duck itself was well cooked and tender.

The bottle of wine was unpleasant and overpriced.

Service in the restaurant was chaotic wth only a couple of trained staff trying to run the place with staff who were trying their best but not adequately trained.

From around 9:30pm the freezing cold bar had a most odd feel to it, having been partly taken over by mates and/or previous employees.

Although we had paid the dinner bill on leaving the restaurant, we received a further bill which when queried was explained as "overage". Despite being pressed, no further information was given and when I said that the food bill was no more than the allowance, I was told that the information we had been given was wrong. The "overage" was eventually taken off the bill.

Breakfast was a completely different story with a cheerful, efficient team and a good selection of food. The hot food was well cooked and fresh. Had it not been for the breakfast team the rating woud have been two stars.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 808JTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 808jtw

Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent stay. We do apologise for not meeting your expectations.

We will be sure to pass on the feedback to relevant departments and use your comments to improve on our overall hotel operations.

Kind regards, Guest Relations Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stopped at the Crowne Plaza Hotel - they say you should learn by your mistakes...….. Hotel is ok, needs updating, certainly nothing to rave about. The restaurant and bar area is a captive audience, so be prepared to pay over the top prices.

First saga, first trip (a couple of years ago), is that they take your car off site and then return it to the hotel on your arrival day. Great, you finally get back to the hotel, ask for your keys, they say it's located in X and it isn't. Finally, after trudging back to reception, getting a memebr of staff to help locate your car and finally finding it in some other place completely out of the way, we're finally on our way home - even more tired and frustrated after a relaxing holiday.

Second trip, second saga. Hotel still needs an update and wallet extraction required at the bar. Absolute palava to get your car checked in, need to first log-in to the wifi (for reservation numbers etc), but then need to perform a "survey" (as I'm sure you'll understand, 15 minutes of my holiday already wasted due to unnecessary rubbish), only for the phone to ring to ask why we are dissatisfied already! After another 5 minutes of the phone call to explain the nature of the dissatisfaction, I have now filled in the form, so we can waste even more time going back to recption to hand the form and the keys over - as you don't want to get hit with their exorbitant car parking charges - god forbid!

Suffice to say, the journey to the airport was ok, then we return home.......
We use the telephone in the airport, now one answers at the hotel desk. I ring the external number provided from my mobile phone, surprise, surprise, no one answers. The airport phone, eventually answers (after about 10 minutes or so) and we then have to trudge to the relevant bus pick up. Another few minutes faffing about and we are eventually on our way. Get back to the hotel, we have to wait even longer as reception staff think it is ok to keep customers waiting whilst chatting and messing about in the back, we finally get told the location of our car and get handed the keys. I left my wife with the cases and headed off to find the car - the car was actually parked where they said it was! Upon closer inspection, I found dirty foot prints in both sides, front and back of the car (I thought it had been used as a taxi whilst we were away) and then having gone round the entirety of the vehicle, surprise, surprise a nice big scratch on the bumper (it's a red Mercedes A Class if the person responsible wants to own up - thanks for that).

I took the car back to reception and we inform the manager. The duty manager comes out with an Ipad, takes some crap photo's and then asks me to fill in all of the information for them to send to the parking company - what a cheek! After many attempts to contact both the car parking people and the hotel, we finally get a reply from the parking people. They have photographic evidence that when they delivered the car back (early hours of the morning, we picked up the car mid-afternoon), there wasn't a scratch on it. They were very sorry about all the mess inside the car and offered to pay up to £25 to get it cleaned. I then approached the hotel for the damaged sustained to the car whilst in their care and they have said that it is not their responsibility.

So there you go, if you want to leave your car to an entrusted carer who will not look after it whilst you're away, then take it to the Crowne Plaza Manchester. To add insult to injury, I was told by the hotel that next time, rather than the vehicle be taken off-site, you can have special permission to leave it on site. Guess what? We will not be using you again and perhaps it would be better to be taken off-site by a company, as at least they are culpable for any damage sustained. No, we will not be using the Crowne Plaza again and I suggest that no-one else bothers either.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmbradders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are truly sorry that we have not met your expectations on this visit.

Kind regards, Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Crowne Plaza many times over the years this visit being our third this year alone. We have always enjoyed the Crowne especially the friendly and helpful staff, We have enjoyed meals in all three restaurant areas especially Sampans.
However, we felt the Crowne had become a little bit tired in it's appearance and could certainly do with a refurbishment. We understand a number of other airport hotels are in the pipeline to be built on and around the airport so the Crowne will have to up it's appearance if it is to stay ahead of the competition.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paulusmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMANGuestRelations, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paulusmc,

Thank you for your review and for sharing it with us and the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to Manchester Airport.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I called to book/pay for an upgrade and we were made 'Guest of The Day', what a surprise, it made such a difference to the start of what was a birthday treat for my wife prior to flying away to take a cruise. I cannot say thank you enough, I really appreciate it.

Room tip: The room was just right for an over night stay, didn't need any more than what was present.
Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ihg978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMANGuestRelations, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ihg978,

Good Evening,

Thank you for your amazing feedback, myself and the entire team really do appreciate it.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews