We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In Again Out Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #41 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
I O M
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“In Again Out Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed yet again on our way too and from Gran Canaria.
Check in once again a dream, pleasant welcome, did we need anything, help with bags etc.
Reservations quickly made for dinner/breakfast.
A special thank you mention to Toni in the main restaurant.

Negatives ? not a one, will be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Chris C,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review and we are delighted that we were able to help you achieve your goals once again. It really means a lot to us when our guests take the time to share their thoughts on their stay.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback and thank you for acknowledging Toni's efforts! We hope you had an amazing time in Gran Canaria and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    1,229
    500
    189
    115
See reviews for
458
1,556
202
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Booked way in advance for a new-year trip from Manchester airport and got a good rate including parking. On arrival it was a challenge to find a space but we succeeded and booked in quickly.
The room was much as our previous stay, being comfortable and clean but very small - however, more than adequate for an overnight stay.
Our evening meal was enjoyable, but in our minds the price seemed to have escalated significantly since our last stay.
The early morning queue to a shuttle was very long - thankfully we had allowed loads of time as it wasn't until the 4th or 5th minibus that we were accommodated.
Upon our return we were warned that there might be a delay in collecting us from the terminal, but there wasn't. The only snag came when we were told our car was in one car-park zone but it wasn't - we eventually found it exactly where we had left it, so clearly it hadn't been moved off-site as they advise might be the case.
All in all it's a good choice for an airport stay and if you get the right deal then it's well worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mighty-Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mighty-Red,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay. There are a couple of points you have raised that I will ensure are reviewed with our team. Please accept my apologies if we caused any inconvenience with the zone location of your vehicle.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and we hope you had an enjoyable New Year flight! We hope to see you again and thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

On arrival there were chain smokers at the entrance( I know.....but this does not look good) No greeting of any kind from the receptionist.... who continued to be impolite, to not understand what we were saying to her and then proceeded to be impatient when we asked for some simple information.... like for example "Please can you tell us how to get to our room!" Once we arrived at our room it was a twin not a double......back to reception..Finally we were offered a double room after being told that "non were available". Trekked again to another room... Freezing cold with what I would call a shabby bathroom. Asked reception to help us with the temperature of the room and we were told .. it will take some time to warm up...which it didn't.... Had to leave for a flight at 5Am or would have gone back home....will I stay here again? No.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear K M,

We are extremely sorry that we appear not to have met your expectations. I do hope that you spoke with our duty manager whilst you were here so we could put this situation right for you. The points you have raised fall very short of the usual high standards you come to expect from Crowne Plaza. I will ensure that I review this feedback thoroughly with my team.

We provide a smoking area just to the right and round the corner from our main entrance which is in a garden setting. It saddens us to hear that you were affected in such a way on your arrival.

Thank you for advising us of your feedback and most importantly we hope you were able to achieve your goals and overall have a successful business trip. We hope that you will reconsider and try our hotel again.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have stayed here on a couple of occasions when flying from Manchester airport. Our last visit was a bit of a disappointment. Firstly I am a Platinum IHG member but was offered a free drink as I was told no upgrades were available, but the Hotel was far from full.

The rooms are tired and in need of an refurbishment. I have stayed at other hotels at the airport for the same price, and their room were much more comfortable.

We ate at the asian restaurant which was mediocre, with a very limited choice, and was very surprised when checking out, that our bill for the restaurant was THREE times what it should have been. Luckily the receptionist was on the ball and queried this herself, and went and checked the actual restaurant bill and quickly corrected it.

There is better value and more comfortable hotels nearby and although it will mean i dont get any IHG points thats where I will be going next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear yorkshirebhoy,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the points you have raised in this review. I do hope that you raised these points with our team whilst you were here. It really saddens me to read reviews like this and I can assure you that your feedback will be reviewed with my team.

I can see that you stayed some time in December and can assure you that we were indeed very busy throughout the month however we do always try to upgrade our valued Platinum IHG Rewards guests. We are extremely grateful to welcome a high volume of IHG Rewards guests and endeavour to maximise the benefits for all our loyal guests when possible. Please accept my apologies that we were unable to offer an upgrade on this occasion.

I do hope that you will choose us again but thank you for letting us know how you feel. We hope you had a pleasant onward flight and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the 1 night . on our way to Florida..US,
Suitable for our purpose. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Parked the car for 10 days.
Easy pick up on our return from the US.. Nice friendly staff.!

Room Tip: If parking your car at the Plaza an easy transition picking up the car after your travel. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear delwyn2,

Wow! Thank you so much for the fantastic rating of our hotel and we are delighted to hear that we provided a seamless journey for you from start to finish.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope you had a fabulous time in Florida! We hope that you will choose Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport next time you travel.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

A very busy day for any airport hotel, but was offered a room as soon as I arrived early. Unfortunately there was no TV control & the heating wasn't working. Very quickly a lady from housekeeping arrived & had me moved to another, perhaps better, room, with many apologies about maintenance service being unavailable over holiday days. An ugly building from the exterior, but efficient & knowledegeable reception staff. It seems only one lift point, so the corridor hike to the room might be tiring for some? Bar service at lunch was a little slow, but excellent in the evening when a middle-aged waitress, on her own suggestion, moved me from a draughty seat, offered to bring a magazine when she saw I was alone, & correctly advised on the meal choice, which was ample & well priced. She certainly got a tip! Efficient wake up call & free transfer to airport terminals. Two special touches were that the rooms have a pillow spray & roll ons with essential oils to aid sleep, & that they request no smoking at the entrance doors, but provide a small garden area, tented & with benches, where one can enjoy a fag & watch a little rabbit hopping around! All considered, I will certainly return, the whole experience & value for money exceeding that of their nearest rival.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank tarasandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear tarasandy,

Boxing Day was indeed a very busy day for us and we are delighted that we were able to take such good care of you and overall you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the room issues you highlighted and I am glad our team were able to resolve this for you.

We are also glad you benefited from our Sleep Kit and hope this aided you in achieving a good nights sleep. We are extremely grateful for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Location: the location is very convenient for Manchester Airport. The hotel is easy to find and there is plenty of parking available. I had an earlier bad experience with the park and fly package at the hotel (reviewed last year) but decided to try the hotel again after reassurances from the hotel manager that the parking problem had been addressed.

Check-in: quick, friendly and professional. My fiancee was recognized as an IHG Gold member when we checked in.

Room: we stayed in a club room and it was nicely appointed although fairly small. The room and bathroom were very clean. There was only one bathrobe in the room and a second one was delivered within ten minutes after we notified reception. The bed was too firm for my liking as I prefer soft/medium beds rather than firm beds.

Breakfast: we had the continental breakfast in the Club lounge and there was plenty of breakfast options available: yoghurt, various fruit juices, cold cuts, pastries, porridge, cereals and toast.

Overall: we had a great stay prior to our flight and the there were no problems with the parking this time. A minor detail is that the hotel website states that there are pastries available in the Club lounge in the morning after breakfast and that there are snacks available in the afternoon - there were none when we were there. Soft drinks and coffee was available throughout the day. The evening reception was nice and there was a large selection of alcoholic beverages available, in addition to soft drinks, and there were two different canapes on offer. I will certainly use the park and fly package again if I have a morning flight from Manchester. I would stay in a Club room again if the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear SwedeAbroad,

I am so pleased that we were able to restore your faith in our hotel and thank you so much for sharing this positive review with us.

Thank you for your comments regarding our club lounge. Please accept my apologies and I will follow up why there were no pastries on the date you stayed however we do like to provide a selection of different snacks throughout the day, such as our fabulous chocolate chip cookies which are a regular favourite.

Congratulations on reaching Gold status in our IHG Rewards program and we are thrilled that you chose Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport once again. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.2 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 294 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with APCOA. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing