We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #42 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Easy for the airport. Comfortable room and good bed. Quiet. No fridge / mini bar. Main restaurant huge with useless service. We left for the smaller very very good fusion Asian restaurant. Staff overall very pleasant. A bit off most experiences of Crowne Plazas but good choice for an airport hotel and I would use it again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whatbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for your open and honest feedback and it appears that overall you had a good stay with us. We will certainly review your feedback with our teams and I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope you had a pleasant onward journey and would like to sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,266)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,988 - 1,994 of 3,266 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on Wed 9th Oct 2013, prior to our 10 night stay in Las Vegas at a rate of £146 for ones nights room and parking.The hotel as ever was very convienent and the bar and food were very good, with particularly good servise from 'Madge' in the bar, which made for a very pleasant evening before our holiday.But our room was particularly small and although not an issue due to the length of our stay, was this was noticable, but still clean and had everything required. The parking was easy and we were picked up from Terminal 2 pretty quickly and our car was outside 'near' where we had parked it when we got back, but we might give the Radisson Blu a try next time !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_cadmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad that Madge was able to provide you with memorable service in our bar. We are very grateful that you have taken the time to let us know about your stay and sincerely hope that we will get to welcome you back in the near future. We hope you had a fantastic time in Las Vegas too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recently my wife and I stayed in this 'INCREDIBLE' Hotel, the staff could not do enough to make our stay extra special. It was meant to be a simple stop over on route to a holiday in Egypt but the care we were shown and the quality of the accommodation was such that it felt like an additional mini holiday. We would especially like to mention Thomas who works in the dinning room he was so funny, delightfully rude and an absolute joy to meet. Thank you Plaza I look forward to coming to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and we are delighted to share this feedback with Thomas and the rest of our team. We are sincerely grateful when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay. We are so pleased that we were able to create a mini holiday before your main holiday and this is a huge compliment for us to receive. We hope you had an amazing time in Egypt and hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

After staying in the Manchester Crowne Plaza City Centre, my partner and I were really looking forward experiencing more of the Crowne Plaza brand. However, we were fairly disappointed. On check in there were no people on the priority check in for Gold/Platinum members, despite 4 people on the check in desk. One person was attending to the couple in front of us, but the other 3 were just standing about talking to themselves. It then took a girl from elsewhere in the foyer (who had just started her shift) to see my partner and I waiting. She then logged on and checked us in, all while the other 3 continued to talk amongst themselves.
Having stayed on the 8th floor in the City Centre, we were expecting modern decor with lots of light. The room was spacious and welcoming but felt quite outdated.
The hotel itself was nice with a good ambience from the parts we walked past. The Executive Lounge was clean and bright, well stocked with every drink you could possibly think of having, however it was very busy with guests were a little ignorant and obnoxious towards the host and other guests having some down time.
Breakfast was excellent in the Executive lounge, and plenty of choices were given.

Upon checkout we experienced the same, albeit different staff, but same lacklustre experience. Inattentive staff making the checkout process more prolonged and cumbersome than it needed to be.
Their attitude and demeanour gave off an air (pardon the pun) that we weren't as welcome as we felt at the CP in Manchester City Centre.
It also shows as I haven't received a "Tell us about your recent stay" email from CP Manchester Airport, as I have from CP Manchester City Centre.
All in all a good hotel, offering convenient airport on site slumber, but the staff really need to be taught to be more attentive and welcoming.

Room Tip: Try the Manchester City Centre Crown Plaza and make the trip into the airport. Far better service.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel facilities but also concerned to read about your service experience with us. This is not the usual standard of service that we find acceptable and I will personally look into the points you have raised. May I take this opportunity to thank you for your open and honest feedback and I do hope that you will choose us again so that you can experience our services as they should be. Please accept my apologies on this occasion. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked into the hotel so we could have a good send off for our holiday in Tenerife. We've stayed here 4 or 5 times before using the park and stay facilities but we hadnt upgraded to a Club Room before and we were glad we did.

The club lounge is not very big but there was a nice choice of soft drinks, tea coffee etc. plus fruit and biscuits during the day and then there were alcoholic drinks offered by a hostess between something like 6 and 8 pm They were a bit skinny with the hot nibbles and when there were a few people in these went quickly and they didnt replenish them enough so as you felt you were being rationed to about 2 nibbles each which was a bit cheap and disappointing.

A light continental breakfast is also available in the Club Lounge but again they are a bit slow at filling up when items get low. When I went in for breakfast there was one bagel with cream cheese and smoked salmon left on a plate and myself and another guest approached at the same time. The gentleman kindly allowed me to have this and waited for it to be replenished but this didn't happen! They also packed up well before the finish time for breakfast.

The bedroom was perhaps a little bit bigger than a standard room and the bed was massive and quite comfortable and the bathroom was functional and pleasant. The hotel could do with a bit more soundproofing in the area we were though as you could hear the planes taking off quite loudly. We thought it was more soundproofed in other rooms we've stayed at in this hotel but that could be wrong.

Overall a very pleasant stay and the park and stay park of the deal is very efficient and the drivers are very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Just ask if any of the rooms are quieter than others
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzifloozi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We are very grateful for your feedback and we will certainly look into your suggestions to further develop our club lounge. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for continuing to choose our hotel. We hope you had an amazing time abroad and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our family (2 adults & 3 children)travelled up from the south to see the Manchester United game and decided to book 2 rooms for the night at the Crowne Plaza. The rooms were quite small but more importantly, both bathrooms were dirty, particularly the bathrooms which had mould spores which easily wiped off and there were lots of digs in the baths. One room had a fridge which had clearly not been cleaned for some time, the other room was missing a fridge. I can usually sleep through anything but the aeroplane noise woke me up around 6.45am on Sunday morning. There was a kerfuffle at breakfast because it had not been communicated to them we prepaid for breakfast the night before. The breakfast staff appeared inefficient. My wife politely mentioned the cleanliness to a Chinese chap at reception and he was not bothered by it at all. We thought Crowne Plaza was Holiday Inn's top grade hotel but this one fell well short and comparing it with Premier Inn at Gatwick, Premier Inn was far cheaper and a darn site cleaner. The Manchester Airport Crowne Plaza is tired at best and is in desperate need of a refit.

Room Tip: use another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We are so sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us. Your description falls very short of our expected minimum standards and I will personally look into the points you raised. I do hope that you will try us again in the future, as it is only with open and honest feedback that we can improve. We hope you had a pleasant onward journey and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our flight was delayed for four hours so when we reached the hotel we really needed a good nights sleep, and we were not disappoionted. We were picked up at the airport straight away by the courtesy bus ( driven by a lovely guy) the receptionist was helpful and checked us in straight away, it was late at night so we were offered room service which we gratefully took up. The room was quite large and the bed was to die for. We heard no noise from aircraft as the double glazing was excellent,or from cleaning staff who were very quiet, the bathroom was lovely and clean and the bath and shower were fantastic. We picked our car up the following morning which we had left in the car park with no hassle. On the whole a truly wonderful experience and a good nights sleep, will definately be booking again. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Try booking at the far end of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayside059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review. It means a lot to us when our guests take the time to share their feedback and I will be sure to share this with our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time and hope you had a successful onward journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 120 in Manchester
3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#34 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $111 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 299 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with Peter Ashley Car Parks. Hotel Residents are required to pay for parking at the overnight rate of £15 per vehicle. Our Car Park has floodlit signage and Pay and display machines for visitors. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing