We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable weekend stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #40 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A comfortable weekend stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Quite a comfortable stay. Excellent location for getting around Manchester, so close to the Airport.
Staff welcoming,helpful on front desk.
Room was quiet , a very restful night.
Great extension of Breakfast time , did not have to rush. At breakfast Toni and Claire were very helpful, we felt we were at home. Thank you .

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms were quiet enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JunCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team members that you mentioned. We hope you had a pleasant onward journey and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    1,231
    500
    189
    115
See reviews for
458
1,558
202
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked this in early September before our morning flight to Dubai, purely for on site car parking and the shuttlebus transfer to the terminals.We stayed at the Bewleys in June and thought we would try this one out.
Checkin was straight forward no problems car park allocation was easy enough,no hiccups.
Rooms were ok, not huge, rooms were bigger next door at the Bewleys, preferred the restaurant thought at CP,more choice,nicer decor and reasonable prices for an airport hotel.
The thing that lets the CP down,was the fact that we had to pay for wi-fi think its naughty that a 4 star hotel charges you a tenner for a few hours worth of usage ,the Bewleys was free.Stayed in budget 2 star hotels in Spain, where its complimentary.
On arrival back into a wet evening at T1 we had to ring for the shuttlebus which came round pretty quick, so no issues there.Next job was to retrieve our car again a hassle free procedure,with no hiccups.All in all it was t a bad experience,just let down by the wifi charge.
Would I return?only if the price is right,wouldn't pay full wack as its not worth it,Bewleys edged it for me.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank manchesterlad81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We take all comments and suggestions on board and you will be pleased to know that if you join our IHG Rewards Club (which is free to join) from 2014 we will be offering complimentary wifi. The chargeable wifi service is a maximum secure network with superior bandwidth but we thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stayed overnight at this hotel as it offered (via Holiday Extras) a good deal on overnight accommodation with dinner and parking whilst we were on holiday. All went well with check in and we were told that we should just come down to reception about 20 minutes before we needed to be at the airport terminal. We got up early and were able to grab a quick bite to eat (at 4.30am - very impressive) and then went to the reception desk to advise them that we were joining the queue outside. When the bus came, it was clearly far too small for the number of people waiting. The driver said that he was only going to Terminal 2 - we wanted Terminal 1. Together with quite a number of other people we decided to cut our losses and walk to the Terminal as there was no indication given of when the next bus would come. Only whilst we were away and met another couple who had been waiting at the same time, were we told that a second mini bus arrived within a couple of minutes. Why didn't either the driver or reception staff let us know! It would have saved a lot of unnecessary stress and having to carry suitcases. To give the hotel it's due, on our return, the transfer couldn't have gone more smoothly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website. I was sorry to hear that the procedure for using our minibus airport transfer service was not explained to you. The buses operate 24 hours every day around the airport complex on a first come first served basis. I hope you will give us an opportunity in the future for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for a night before an early flight. Easy check in process and very helpful staff. Room was exceedingly well insulated and no disturbance from the airport noise.

An excellent night's sleep, very comfortable bed and again friendly staff completed the check out process.

Location is perfect and for once it's nice to find an airport hotel that has a car park which actually has spaces!

Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyc0mbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay, our aim is to provide great hotels guests love and I was especially pleased to read you found our team friendly and helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had tried and enjoyed the 'Club Room' experience in the USA and wanted to test it in the UK, so we booked a Kingbed Crowne Plaza Club room before our holiday. The room itself was nothing special - just an average airport room but with a king size bed. The Club experience turned out to be a shadow of that in the USA. The Owners must know what the US hotels give their clients but you could get the impression that in the UK they are only prepared to give away as little as possible foodwise. Food itself was brought to where you sat - not buffet syle as in many US locations- and if you came in later than the allocated time for alcohol to be served - you missed out on whatever had been brought out earlier.The selection of drinks however was good and you would be charged excessively outside in the bar. Overall, value for money is subjective. It is afterall, an airport hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for the observations you gave regarding our Hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is very handy for the airport with a shuttle bus running from the airport to the hotel. The hotel decor and bedrooms are a bit dated and could do with an overall spruce up but for one night and being close to the airport and relatively inexpensive then it was fine. The restaurant in the hotel however was excellent - chinese/thai with some great service and excellent food in terms of presentation, quality and taste. We hadn't booked in for breakfast but wanted to get some food without paying £15 for breakfast. The girl on reception suggested we ate at the bar where we could order toast or bacon sandwiches which was just what we wanted and much better value. All in all, I would stay again if flying from manchester but it would be just because of the location rather than anything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraR2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am sorry you left our hotel feeling that you had not had a perfect experience. Your feedback is very important to us. We take all comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is any thing we can do to make your next stay more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adeliade
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Manchester airport before flying back to Australia after a great UK holiday. Check in was delayed by the queue of people wanting to pay their parking as the machine had broken down but once we got to our room it was clean, tidy and comfortable. The disappointment was when we went down to dinner. We spoke to a member of staff who indicated there were three menus over on a side table and we should choose which area we wished to eat in Bar, Pub or Restaurant and then walked away. My husband and I found the three menus with the same or very similar options and pricing, though I preferred a pub menu option and he a bar menu. We sat in the bar area. Eventually someone came to take our order and told us it was not possible to order from anything but bar menu in the bar area- even though all food came from the same kitchen! Food was delivered by the kitchen staff . The welsh rarebit cheese seemed to be a missing a key ingredient cheese and was really bland and tasteless. I did not eat it all. I told another staff member it was not very tasty, the reply was that chef had followed the recipe (implying I did not know the dish). The final insult was to be charged a "discretionary" 10% service charge that was automatically added to the credit charge for service that was inattentive and unhelpful. I am paying enough to eat and stay here. Breakfast the next morning continued the poor service, with a lack of attention to simple things like someone checking there were bowls by the cereals, bread next to the toaster or tea being delivered but no teaspoons or milk. Breakfast gets busy but this is not a surprise it occurs every morning. I expected better from a Crowne Plaza.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bev m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience here and greatly appreciate the feedback if they don't.
I sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered with the dining and food in our hotel.
I assure you your comments were shared with the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.2 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 294 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with APCOA. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing