We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay but rooms are a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #44 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The reception area is quite modern and so is the main bar area however the Sampans restaurant looks a little bit too much like a conference room rather than a nice restaurant. Food was nice though. The rooms are a bit tired and the bathroom is TINY!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to read that you had a good stay and hope to be able to welcome you back here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,151 - 2,157 of 3,316 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night before a 6am flight the next morning. Arrived at about 8pm and we checked in immediately. Staff member was very friendly and informative. Requested 3am wake up call which we got. Room was spacious and modern with sky Tv (inc sports). Bathroom was similar to a travelodge / premier inn style but very clean so all good! Decided to eat in hotel that evening; 1 Asian cuisine restaurant, 1 bar/dining area and an Irish type bar at the back. We chose the Irish bar as the menu appealed. Food was ok.
Shuttle bus arrives approx. every 20 minutes (has soace for 8 people) so if there's a queue there may be a wait. There was quite a few of us waiting but the hotel requested a taxi to take some which was great! I'd say it's about 5-8 minute walk to T3? But the shuttle/taxi was much less hassle.
Wll always stay here again if I have an early morning flight again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymraes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your stay. I am delighted you had such a good experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future should an opportunity arise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza either side of our holiday to Gran Canaria. Very comfortable hotel at very reasonable prices. Staff were very attentive (eg we didn't arrive until 2am so we were given a late check out at no extra cost and with no hassle). Fabulous restaurants and bars making it a great place to start your holiday. The only downside (although not the hotel's fault) is that it's not the easiest place to get to from the airport as it is within walking distance but involves walking round very busy roads that at parts don't have pavements. The hotel do try to resolve this by putting on a courtesy bus which was great, but it was never mentioned how we could get the bus from the airport back to the hotel. All in all, a great hotel for a pre-holiday stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aberdeen1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport. Guest feedback on your experience is very welcome and I am pleased to read that you had such a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed the night before our flight to the US and got a great deal on dinner bed and breakfast for 3 of us plus 15 days free parking in with the deal. The hotel itself was clean and well maintained. Getting to the terminal couldnt have been easier - a free shuttle bus every 15 mins to the door.

But what made the stay extra special was the staff - whether reception, bar, restaurant or the shuttle bus driver, all went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Really impressive service.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay as our aim is to provide a perfect experience for all our guests. I was especially pleased to read you found our team so friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here from the 6th- 7thJuly as we had an early morning flight. Check in was very quick considering the hotel was very busy. The room was as expected a comfortable bed, clean bathroom and normal facilities (tv, fridge etc). Considering the hotel was very close to the airport there was very little noise which was great! The only two problems we had was the expense of the food which was average. Secondly my boyfriend found the room extremely warm even with the air conditioning on. Overall we would return to the hotel as it was very convenient for the airport.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here one night in a room for 3 people before our flight back home to Switzerland. We had been to attend the graduation ceremony of our son at Lancaster University ( First class Honors)!
We were checked in by an efficient but unsmiling receptionist.
The room was at the far extremity of the hotel and a long way to walk. If you do have a mobility problem I would suggest requesting a room close to the reception side of the hotel. The room was large enough to accommodate 3 adults and 6 suitcases! The room itself was very clean and the shower had a good powerful jet. Hot water was also plentiful. The only negative side to the room was that the carpet had become unstuck at the entrance.
We had booked a table at the Sampans Restaurant. The service was friendly and the food was good and plentiful.
My husband and I slept very well but our son, on the sofa bed, found the bed rather uncomfortable.
Breakfast was first class. Good service with a good varied choice of food.
As our flight was not until the late afternoon we decided to leave our luggage at the hotel and visit Manchester. The concierge was friendly and efficient. We took the free shuttle bus to the train station at the airport. Manchester was a wonderful vibrant place that we thoroughly enjoyed. Upon arrival we called the hotel on the free telephone at the train station and we were picked up and taken back to the hotel to pick up our luggage.
The reception was busy but we still only waited about 10 mins to have our luggage returned to us.
The shuttle bus then dropped us off at out terminal. I feel that we had good value for money. All of the staff were efficient but some were rather robotic! Others, like the lady who served us in the Sampans the night before remembered us the next day in the reception area.
We would use this hotel again if we needed to stop over at Manchester airport.

Room Tip: If you have a mobility problem ask for a room near the center of the hotel. The corridors are very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patjoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport. I was delighted to read that you had a great overall stay, and I was especially pleased to read you found our Sampans team friendly. We hope to welcome you back here in the future should an opportunity to return arise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The front desk staff were very good ensuring the check in process went smoothly. Whilst waiting to check in they dealt with a troublesome guest who was ranting about not be able to pay with someone else's credit card very effectively and ensured no one was inconvenienced. The room we had was very good and we were able to sleep without any interruptions. The breakfast was very good and set us up for out flight to Miami via London, our terminal was Bout 5 minutes away. Will certainly use them again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

I was pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#59 of 120 in Manchester
3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $109 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 299 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with Peter Ashley Car Parks. Hotel Residents are required to pay for parking at the overnight rate of £15 per vehicle. Our Car Park has floodlit signage and Pay and display machines for visitors. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing