We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #40 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just the job”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Overnight stay. Check in and check out quick and efficient. Rooms comfortable and clean. Friendly and helpful staff and room service was quick, delivered with a smile. Convenient shittle service to and from hotel. Would recommend that they advise clients that the hotel has to be phoned from the bus stop to avoid a wait.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay, our aim is to provide great hotels guests love and I was especially pleased to read you found our team friendly and helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    1,231
    500
    189
    115
See reviews for
458
1,558
202
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel itself is fine, clean comfortable rooms, bar and restaurant provide freshly cooked food and service is fine.The hotel is very close to terminal 1 but noise is not an issue.The hotel provides no problems but as it is an airport hotel and the vast majority use it prior to flying then shuttle service is far from ideal.
However we were told we only needed to be at reception 20 minutes before we needed to be at the airport as there were 2 shuttle buses running all the time.They do not take into account the number of people travelling at any time and there is no prebooking as some hotels have so they have no idea how many people may need to travel at the same time. Shortly before we needed to depart there was a very large family group and when 1 of the shuttle buses came back the driver got off and said there was only 1 bus running. As the buses only hold 8 people this soon caused a huge back log. After we had been waiting over 30 minutes ( and were getting late for check in) I went back inside to question why there was only 1 bus and was told the driver was doing a ''security round'' and had to finish this first. Fortunately a senior person in reception over rode this decision and the driver was told to go to the bus. Although the hotel is fine we wont be using again as we saw numerous buses from the adjacent hotel whilst waiting for our single bus and again on return the adjacent hotel had several buses before ours turned up.
My advice to the hotel is find out how many people wish transfers at what time and provide more buses at the busiest times.

Room Tip: If you want an efficient shuttle service use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your experience when taking our bus over to the airport terminal is very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

An overnight stop. Desk service excellent, room on the 3rd floor quite small for a double, bathroom could do with a spruce and good clean.
Incredibly if you want to check the weight of your suitcases they charge 1 GBP for 30 seconds of weigh time !
Service within Chinese Restaurant in the Hotel was average, one got the impression that they were too tired to serve, and in fact after several requests for the bill only brought it as we decided to walk out.
In all the our stay was average at best, I just with the hotel bill had reflected that !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience here and greatly appreciate the feedback if they don't.
I sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered with the dining in our hotel and want to assure you your comments were shared with the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

From booking in, Meal in Restaurant, Shuttle to terminal, Shuttle back to hotel on return, and collection of car after holiday,. Whole experience very efficiently and courteously carried out.Have used this hotels facilities now on numerous occasions and never been disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ossettonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed another stay at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future when we aim to give you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here while starting the Trans Pennine walk so can't comment on any of its benefits as an airport hotel, close enough to walk over to the terminals though and shuttle buses seem to run very frequently. Check in was ok, staff not exactly welcoming and no upgrade as a Platinum member as they seem to have rooms specifically for Premier Club members with bottled water, 1 robe! safe and single bottles of toiletries, not much use as there was two of us so two robes and more bottles of shower gel and shampoo would have been appreciated. Room was quite small overlooking what looked like the long term car park, clean enough but we checked out the bed linen and found what looked like blood spots on the top of the quilt cover, on further inspection they were also all over the underside of the cover and large black footprints on the bed sheet!! Whoever made this bed and left the linen like this should be sacked, it was disgusting in a so called freshly prepared room. Found a member of the house keeping staff who was appalled at what she saw and could not do enough to help, changing all the sheets, quilt cover and pillow cases and making sure we got a bottle of wine for the inconvenience. I can not praise her efforts enough. We had meal in the bar, staff were excellent, attentive and helping with all the serving, Fish and Chips arrived promptly, well cooked and plenty of it, highly recommend the bar food, never tried the restaurant or breakfast. Checked out next morning, machine for car park not working so had to pay the guy behind the desk £12.50 for a nights stay! All in all not that bad a stay apart from the disgusting bed linen, more attention needs to be taken with the head housekeeper inspecting rooms after they have been made, and I would suspect some staff retraining to make sure they don't leave clean rooms with soiled linen. I would say this is more a Holiday Inn than a Crowne Plaza, it does not have the presence or quality to deserve that title, also the reception staff need to smile more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grindlehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ideally located for the airport as well as the centre and south Manchester. The rooms were good size, clean and modern. I asked for an upgrade to a Club room and the concierge met me with a new key, carried my luggage and updated me on the services for Club guests. He was extremely helpful.
The Club lounge was perfect for this trip, very quiet, so that I could prepare for the following days work, aided by complimentaryt wifi.
Breakfast in the Club lounge was good and not overcrowded at the busiest time.
Overall, a very good hotel with a nice atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and courteous througout my stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowlerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I was delighted to read that you had a great experience staying in a club room and availing yourself of the facilities within our club lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the facilities. We waited about 5 mins for a bus transfer at the airport then decided to walk as we hadn't checked the bus intervals. Even with two very young pre-schoolers walking it only took us 5 mins (typically the mini bus arrived back at the same time we did ;o) it is very close and very walkable (confused by some of the below comments on the subject). The reception area/restaurants are very clean and nicely decorated. The rooms are also modern and very clean. Some of the woodwork has not been updated to match the rest of the room but that is a very minor point - would much rather it was clean and comfortable which it was.
We ate in the bar and were served by Sue who was amazing. The food was really nice and everything was perfect (which is something I rarely find where ever I go these days). Nothing was too much trouble for Sue and even though I felt like I was being a right pain (multiple requests for things due to the kids, pushing tables together, asking for meals off different menus etc) she didn't waiver in her helpful attitude. She was a genuinely lovely lady. Also the american gentleman on reception that checked us in was polite and courteous as was the deputy manager. Finally we did manage to get the transfer bus back to the airport (hey it was raining) and Mike the driver was fantastic. Another genuinely nice guy who was more than happy to help. The attitude and helpfulness of the staff definitely made the stay for us. I have stayed in quite a few chain hotels and can honestly say I wasn't expecting much as usually the staff are sulky and the food is dire but this is not true for the Crowne Plaza manchester Airport. Would definitely stay again :o)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MummyMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I was delighted to read that you had such a great stay, our aim is to provide great hotels guests love and I was especially pleased to read you found our team friendly.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.2 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 294 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with APCOA. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing