We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #39 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I booked 1 night at this hotel on 6th January. When I arrived at Manchester Airport Terminal 3 at about 21.00 and walked to the hotel courtesy bus stop, I eventually found a sign stating that you had to phone the hotel to request a courtesy bus. This was fine for me but would be a bit of a bummer if you had just arrived in the UK without an operating mobile phone. I phoned the hotel and they didn't reply. I phoned again and after a few minutes, somebody answered and just said 'Can you hold". I did hold and after a few more minutes, an exasperated female eventually came on the line and I requested a courtesy bus. The bus came quite quickly and took me to the hotel. When I arrived at the hotel, I was dismayed to see a lengthy queue for check in with only 2 staff at reception, not what you want to see when you arrive tired late at night. It took about 15mins to get to the desk and when I did eventually check in, it was clear that they had an issue with housekeeping as my room wasn't ready and neither were the rooms of several other guests checking in, judging by the conversations. I eventually got into my room about 45mins after first entering the hotel lobby which is unacceptable especially when arriving late at night. I cannot fault the reception desk staff who were obviously doing the best they could. The hotel lobby itself looked a bit grimy and unwelcoming.
The room was OK but considering it was a Club room, I was disappointed to find the minibar empty and overall, the room and bathroom were quite small. The bed and pillows were comfortable though.
Overall a disappointing experience for what is supposed to be a 4* hotel and, speaking personally, I would try another of the many hotels at the airport before using the Crowne Plaza again

Room Tip: Club room gets you into the Club lounge for breakfast which is worthwile for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you sent regarding your experience as this allows us to review the services we provide and on which we pride ourselves. With regards to the pick up at the airport I regret you were not made aware of the courtesy phones which are located inside each of the airport terminals as well as the railway station for the use of our guests. I have taken note of all your comments and once again thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to leave this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    1,256
    512
    193
    120
See reviews for
476
1,604
209
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here on the 8th Dec. after arriving back from Gambia as there were no trains back up to Newcastle until early the next morning.Would have stayed at the Radisson Blu but the price was nearly double what I had paid for my outbound stay.After leaving the terminal you just phone up the hotel and they send a free shuttle service to pick you up.Waited about 10 mins for the bus but it was only a 2 min transfer.Our room was on the ground floor just along from reception.Room was very nice with huge bed/flat screen tv/nice bathroom.Both had a good nights sleep even though we were up early the next day.Checked out at 0745 and had a few minutes wait for our shuttle to the train station.This is a very good hotel if you just want a good nights sleep after been up from early in the morning.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyUK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope you will consider staying with us again when you next travelling from Manchester Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we stayed here the night before flying out on holiday we had an excitive room with drinks but to be honest with you did not think it was worth the extra money .you could only have alcoholic drinks between 6-8pm & they gave us a few peanuts & spring rolls .we have stayed in the hilton but this hotel was a poor relation .we were here 21/12/12 .also when it was booked they told me it was on site parking but its not they take your car on a 25mile round trip in the end we took our keys with us so it could not be moved & we had to pay an etrxa £2.00 per day on top of the parking fee so beware .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavinalincolnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for writing your review. I am sorry if you were not advised that your vehicle would be taken off site for the duration of your holiday- this is in the Reservations team information and also is clearly stated on our website. I trust this did not impact on your enjoyment and I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Used the car parking/stay package which was good value.
As left hotel at 04.45 didn't have breakfast. However had a drink in the bar, food menu seemed to be mainly fried things with lot of chips on menu. The drinks weren't cheap but that is to be expected from a 4 star hotel.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The drop off/pick up from the airport was efficient with very helpful staff
We asked for a quiet double room which we got on the forth floor. The room was compack in size with just enough room to move around the bed.
The bath room was disappointing, it was small in size the shower hose had been removed from the tap unit with a hole left and a new shower had been placed through the wall over the bath. the grouting/sealer could have done with being replaced also.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors seem a little quieter if you want a good nights sleep before an early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website. I can see you were disappointed with the condition of the bathroom and I have noted your comments and will ensure these are taken into consideration with any future refurbishments that are planned. I will also share your comments regarding your dining experience with the team.
I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Being one of only three On site airport hotels, this is my preferred for several reasons, not least that I get Priority Points on my stays. Efficient check in (though not always the case) free WiFi and a reasonable bar (a little overpriced, as it the restaurant). Bed comfy, room clean, bathroom good, no complaints really.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to give us your feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased to read favourable comments but would like to have an opportunity in the future to show you how great our hotel really is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel before a 6am flight from T3 and overall had a good experience. There is a complementary shuttle service that will not only drop you off at the airport before your flight, but pick you up from the train station when you arrive! This was a nice touch and I was expecting to have to navigate myself or get a taxi.

The room was nice - clean, spacious, complimentary tea and coffee.... all the standard things you would expect! The quality of sleep was good and cant complain about anything room related.

We ordered room service as it was quite late, and I was not impressed with this at all. However, I have not included that in my overall rating for the hotel as I feel it would not be fair as the rest of the experience was pretty good - I would definitely use them again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Le_SigNagE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, and stay. I'm sorry you were not fully satisfied with your Room Service and trust you did raise your concerns with the manager on duty. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were glad we made our booking through booking.com as we paid £69.00 for a double room for one night. We did not choose breakfast as we thought £15.95 per person was expensive for a breakfast. We noted the room prices on arrival £160.00 for a standard double so felt pleased with our deal. The room was worth the money we paid but had we paid full rack rate we would have expected a little more luxury. Rooms are clean and spacious, bathroom was quite small. Staff at reception very efficient as was the shuttle service to and fro from main airport terminals. We visited o,callaghans pub inside the hotel and paid £17.00 for two drinks and one shot which we think is excessive most places you can buy a standard glass of wine for £5 but £7 at o,callaghans for a small is OTT. Other than this we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it but look out for Internet deals would have been disappointed had we paid full rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocknrolla444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you sent regarding our Hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#57 of 116 in Manchester
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.2 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 299 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with Peter Ashley Car Parks. Hotel Residents are required to pay for parking at the overnight rate of £15 per vehicle. Our Car Park has floodlit signage and Pay and display machines for visitors. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing