We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for taking the stress out of early flights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #39 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great for taking the stress out of early flights”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had two rooms booked for Christmas night, along with car parking which I had booked through the travel agent. The name of the hotel was confirmed after booking so I had got a great deal.
The receptionist couldn't have been more polite or helpful and gave us a room upgrade.
The rooms were interconnecting and made a huge suite which was perfect for a family of five. The rooms were spotless and had everything we needed.
The bar area was extremely busy but the waitress got us a table so that we could order food. The food was pricey but about what you would expect for an airport hotel. The food was hot and well cooked. The bar staff were friendly even though they were really busy.
Our early morning calls were on time and the shuttle bus ran regularly.
We would stay here again if we were flying from Manchester as we arrived at the airport relaxed after a good nights sleep. A good start to the holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. It is our aim to create Great Hotels Guests Love and I can see from your comments that we achieved this. I will ensure to share your comments with the rest of the Hotel team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    1,256
    512
    193
    119
See reviews for
476
1,603
209
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Christmas Day night 2012 and had a very nice stay. Check in was very easy and the lady behind reception also had a nice smile on her face which is always a positive in my book. Room was reasonably modern and had everything that you could possibly need and the communal areas were also well appointed. The Free Shuttle Bus to All Terminals was also a big plus. As someone else has pointed out, you can hear the aircraft taking off from the nearby runway but it didn't keep us awake by any means. I would definitely stay here again especially at the £43 a night Hotwire Rate... Bargain !!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTT2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport.
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 1 night for early morning flight. Arrived 23.12.12 Hotel, room, bar and shuttle service all fine for our needs. Bar attendant (male, name unknown) was welcoming and helpful. Reception lady on check in unhelpful, inpatient and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us but so sorry that some of the service you received let you down. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
759 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 764 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport before about seven months ago which was disappointing, we decided to stay again, this stay was for one night in a Club room. We took the free shuttle from the aiport and the check in was hassle free, we were welcomed as Platinum Priority members and we were given a room on the third floor and we were advised that we had free wifi for the duration of our stay.

The room was fairly compact but pleasantly furnished if a bit crowded. The bed was comfortable, there was a flat screen TV with a good range of domestic channels and a small range of international channels. The room had good storage space, tea and coffee facilities, large writing desk and a comfortable easy chair with stool. The bathroom was ok with a selection of toiletries and a good shower.

We used the club lounge and we were warmly greeted, there was a good range of snacks and drinks available and we enjoyed a few relaxing hours in there. We returned to the lounge for breakfast where there was a small but sufficient buffet selection.

A very nice stay and hopefully we will stay again in the future

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed an improved experience on your most recent stay with us. I am delighted you chose to stay with us again and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here overnight and then left our car for the weekend as part of the overall deal. We booked directly with the hotels website and found this gave us the best deal -- bed, evening meal , breakfast and parking. The whole experience was excellent and we flew from terminal 2 which was a complimentary bus ride (10 minutes). On arriving back a quick a phone call and the courtesy bus was with us in a few minutes.

Taking the whole package into account it was excellent value for money and made the start to our flight and break away an easy and pleasurable experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room on one of the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It is our aim to create Great Hotels Guests Love and I can see from your comments that we achieved this.
I will ensure to share your comments with the rest of the Hotel team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Cost me £110 pound for family room, evening meal and breakfast for 4 of us, the Raddison was charging £155 just for the room, and then you would have easily spent £100 on food for the 4 of us, I am lying in the bed at the moment and it is so comfy you can feel the quality in the linen, rooms are good size with everything you need, tv loads of channels including sky 1, sky sports 3 loads of HD channels, location good. Just right and value for money

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancasterJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience here and we clearly achieved this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
255 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed 2 nights 1st night in standard dbl as we were leaving very early the next morning and one week later we had an upgraded room which was really good with 42" flat screen tv. Hotels supplies a free bus services to all terminals, runs day and night if required.
Ate at both restaurants at this hotel, the Asian was very average and quite expensive.
The bar restaurant was something of a joke, can't remember when I've had such bad food at so expensive price. I was told the chef was very good, I'm afraid he would be looking for a new job if he worked for me.
We ordered a starter platter for 2 at £13,45 it came out as 2 chunks of very dry bread (no butter) 3 small slices of chicken, 3 very thin round slices salt beef, 2 wafer thin slices of cheese 2 slices of game terrine and a small pot of piccalilli. sounds good? it wasn't. We also ordered dessert, an Eaton Mess £5,95, A MESS it certainly was, just basically meringue and whipped
cream. Caramel apple granny with Cornish clotted cream £5,95. They should be done under the trade descriptions act, it was a little warm pie with whipped cream which is a lot different from clotted cream and was the only reason we ordered it. The chef refused to come out to talk to me. What a rip off. Good hotel rubbish restaurants because they have new clients traveling through every day they get away with it. Disgusting and should be ashamed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sturob47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience here and greatly appreciate the feedback if they don't.
I sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered with the dining and food in our hotel.
I assure you your comments were shared with the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#57 of 116 in Manchester
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.2 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 299 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with Peter Ashley Car Parks. Hotel Residents are required to pay for parking at the overnight rate of £15 per vehicle. Our Car Park has floodlit signage and Pay and display machines for visitors. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing