We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Nearby Hotels
$87
$72
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
$71
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
$100
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$87
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
$130
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,695)
Filter reviews
3,695 results
Traveler rating
1,275
1,457
589
224
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,275
1,457
589
224
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish barsampans restaurantpillow spraymanchester airportstayed hereclub rooman early flightcourtesy busdays parkingfree phoneshuttle servicenext morningcar parkingmain restaurantpark and flypre flight staywake up call
Filter
Updating list...
3,148 - 3,153 of 3,695 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I booked this hotel using Avios points so didn't have to pay. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from Terminals 1 and 3, and that's my main reason for selecting it.
The check-in was friendly and efficient, but there is an inclination to sell you extras (such as the executive lounge) which we don't need. Easily refused though.
The room was on the ground floor, along a gloomy corridor, but quiet. It was a tiny room with just about enough space but nothing to spare. Bathroom was functional although the shower curtain was mouldy and the floor a little grubby. The overall impression was of an upmarket travelodge.
We'd been assured that restaurant menus are to be found in the rooms, but ours only had the room service menu and the prices were breathtakingly high. Checking the menu in the bar, the prices were still breathtakingly high but at least you don't have to pay another £3.50 for delivery! There are a couple of other restaurants but after being shocked by the prices we dismissed the whole dining experience. I guess that they're aimed at expense-account guests, The Oriental restaurant was completely empty both times we looked, and had no menu on display.

The thing is, you can walk across the road to Terminal 1 and eat for half the price (or less): so that's what we did. I don't think we were the only ones, either! A bottle of wine from the Spar shop made the room feel cosy rather than cramped, and even though we couldn't finish it all it was still so much cheaper than the bar price. I must say that it would have been nicer to sit in a more sociable area but there weren't many people around that evening anyway and it's very much an anonymous hotel for travellers so the bar has little atmosphere.
Oddly, wi-fi isn't free and yet to reach the hotel reception from the terminal you walk past a big sign saying "free wi-fi" (at Bewley's Hotel!). I suspect that Bewley's is no worse a hotel and hardly any extra distance away, so the free wi-fi might swing it next time I have an early morning Manchester flight.
But in the end, the Crowne Plaza was a good choice; at 5 in the morning it was nice to simply trundle our case across to the terminal, check in, and get breakfast whilst waiting for the flight.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humphrey-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We booked the overnight room with 8 days parking and evening meal package.

The hotel car park was almost full but we got a space arriving at 5pm. Not sure if there would have been spaces later- we saw cars driving round looking for a space from our room window later that evening. Checkin was quick and easy.

The room was very nice- little extras like bottled water, toiletries, aromatherapy pillow spray and oil, bathrobe.

The meal was nicely cooked but not big portions- we were allowed the £18 set menu which was very limited choices, however the a la carte menu was extortionate- £24 for steak so the £18 would not have gone far used thus. We should have gone for the bar menu as we saw nice burgers being brought out. Better still, save your money and eat before you arrive or bring pack up.

Transfer to the airport was quick- we were told to be in the lobby half an hour before we needed to because the hotel was full and lots of skiers wanting to transport skis, however we were the only ones apart from another couple so arrived really early to the airport. Only 5 minutes away. Transfer back also quick- we rang the number after collecting our luggage and by the time we had walked to the bus stop, the minibus arrived. Our car was waiting at the hotel and had been moved from the previous location however was not damaged in any way.

I would recommend this hotel for the close proximity to the airport, car parked for the night and didnt need to be moved, lovely rooms with extras and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Used the hotel for a conference at the Wythenshaw Forum and associated night out in the City.

The price caught my eye and then I thought this is awkward, calling the hotel minibus etc, However, it was no problem at all as the minibus was so responsive to the phones in the terminal and the rail station. There's a certain staff esprit apparent within, what is otherwise, a typical airport hotel. Rail and coach connections all within easy reach. Bar staff, breakfast team, front desk and particularly minibus drivers (particularly Eddie) all helpful. Radisson Blu has the best location but this was a good alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippians4-6_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

As we only live a few miles away from the airport we hadn't considered the hotel option before. However we had an early flight with a "day before" check-in facility so decided to stay over and then leave our car at the hotel for the week. I have to say we weren't expecting too much for the price but we were astounded with everything (Stay and 8 day Car Park- Room only deal). The room was immaculate and very comfortable with lots of surprising little luxuries like the sleep pack. The service was excellent - being super efficient and friendly. Once we had checked in our bags we were able to relax, eat, watch a film and get a good nights sleep. There's a shuttle to each terminal every 20 mins but as we had no luggage we walked across early morning (10 mins to terminal 2 - 2 mins to terminal 1)
When we got back from our hols we were a bit unsure what to expect but we just called the freephone number by the luggage carousel and were directed to a pick up point to be collected by a luxury mini bus and taken to our car. Absolutely effortless!!! Car safe and secure. Will definitely consider doing again and would highly recommend. We couldn't really find a downside, the restaurant was maybe a bit draughty being in line of the door but thats being a bit too picky.....

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2HappyTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Booked this hotel for one night prior to flying to Florida the following morning.Parking was included.The room itself is average. We had agreed for 15 days parking with the bill paid before leaving. We were instructed to contact a number given to us on our return. On our return we did as requested and were told to stand outside the terminal building at a certain point and we would be picked up. We stood for approximately 45 minutes in the freezing and pouring rain at 6am after a 8 hour flight and after 4 calls to the hotel and being dismissed by supervisors with a poor attitude, we were picked up.On out return to the hotel we complained to the staff who were not interested, gave no names or their position. Two other staff who looked like supervisors just walked away from the reception leaving one older member of staff to explain that everything was our fault for not flagging down imaginary minibuses that had not passed us!
The hotels own drivers explained the hotel only wants the people taken to the airport given priority.. we were then given our car keys and had to go and find our car by ourselves, if we had been elderly or with children this would have been a nightmare.

Overall less than average room, poor treatment by staff( not including the driver), quite quick to request your bank details so they can charge you for their poor service!

Room Tip: request a room furthest from the airport
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkAnnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews