We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, very good value”
Review of Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gardens Hotel
Ranked #73 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed one night here while in Manchester for a football match. It was an internal room so had no windows, but we were aware of that and it was great value, and very well located close to Piccadilly train station.
The staff were very helpful - we had stayed a few times before. We definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for posting your comments following your recent visit to the hotel, it is always a pleasure to hear that we have satisfied our customers needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
There are newer reviews for Gardens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had a one night stay here, booked via hotel's website, great value for money booked 2 double rooms for only £32 inc breakfast we booked a week before our stay. We were just after somewhere to crash for a night out and this ticks all the boxes. Perfect location on Piccadilly Gardens, ideal for northern quarter and other clubs, friendly reception staff, Room good size excellent choice. Car park 10 mins walk away

Room Tip: Ideal to go by train as very close to train station
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Good Morning and thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased that we ticked all the boxes and hope to see you again shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Been visiting Manchester for years and have stayed in all city center hotels. Just completed my third visit to the Garden's and it will continue to be my first choice. Excellent location near transport and shopping, friendly folks, free (strong) wifi and filing breakfast. Some rooms a little rough around the edges as it's an old building but generally we'll maintained. Can't beat the money for value!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for your review on the hotel and we are pleased to be your first choice hotel in Manchester, We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Gardens Hotel in Manchester is located right in the city center at Piccadilly Gardens, a short walk from both the Piccadilly and Victoria stations. It is right in the center with nearby shopping, theaters and restaurants. The hotel room and most importantly the bathroom were clean and comfortable with basic amenities such as tea and coffee in the room. In fact the bathroom was fairly spacious with a large ledge to place your toiletries and a full size bathtub. The windows are an older style and can be a little drafty, but the room was well heated. Related to this there was some noise from the alley and adjacent rooms, which wasn't a problem for me, but may be if you are a light sleeper. In general the hotel could use some maintenance, but my only real complaint there would be the shower handle. I should clarify that this was in good working order, but is very awkward to use, especially when trying to turn it off with wet hands. I stayed 6 nights, and can say that the Gardens Hotel offered both a good value and was comfortable for longer stays

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Good Morning and thank you for your comments following your stay with us. It is always nice to receive good feedback on the cleanliness within the room and this will be passed onto the housekeeping department who do work hard. Sorry that you encountered problems with your shower, I will try to locate which room and sort this out for future guests. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Gardens, and I'm glad I did. The hotel is about five minutes walk from Piccadilly station and it located in a busy part of Manchester. The nearest tram stop is 2-3 minutes walk away. Being in the heart of Manchester there are plenty of restaurants and shops close by.

The room was a double with en-suite bathroom. In the room there was a wall-mounted Freeview TV, free wifi, desk and wardrobe. Aside from the wardrobe, which was better than most hotels, there wasn't a lot of drawer space. The bathroom was spacious with a strong over-bath shower. Early in the morning, the water needed to be run for a minute or two before the hot water arrived but there was plenty of it.

Having booked several weeks in advance I got an excellent rate which included breakfast. As I was one of the first down for breakfast each morning, the service was excellent. As well as a buffet there is a choice of vegetarian or English cooked breakfast.

The only sour note was noise. My room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a street. During the both the Monday and Tuesday nights, I was woken by street noise in the early hours. However, Sunday and Wednesday nights were unbroken. On my final night I discovered the reason for the disturbance was a poorly closing window, which hopefully the hotel will repair.

Overall, brilliant value for money. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Manchester.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_Diluvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Good Morning, thank your for posting your review following your recent trip to the hotel. Unfortunately our location within the city does mean the noises that go with it, however you mention that the window wasn't closing properly, I will ask maintenance to check this and repair. For future reference some of the inside rooms are quieter, ask on arrival and we will try to allocate. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed there for a day transit in Manchester. It's location is great, close to everything. It's close to Piccadilly station (along the same road), to shopping malls, and trem stops. Lots of restaurant and convenience stores nearby.

The building and its interior look old, but they have lift although small. The room was clean, but small, Small area to move around. I booked a single room, but got a double bed. The bed was comfy, the linen was clean, and had complete furniture (Dressing table, chair, TV, cupboard). Toiletries and towels were provided.

The bathroom is clean and big, with a bath tub style. The only problem was that the strength of the shower spray was uncontrollable. The shower spray was too powerful and I did not know how to slow it down. It's fine as long as we make sure the bath tub curtain is closed.
It was the best bet I got for the hotel around the city center!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daftrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Good Morning, thank you for your review and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed one night at the Garden Hotel before catching a flight from Man Airport. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the receptionist most helpful. Although the room was small (Room 407), mainly due to our over load on baggage, it was very cosy and the bed very comfy. I would definitely stay there again due to the convenience of Manchester Piccadilly Train Station, just a short walk up the pavement as well as been in the heart of the city centre. Many pubs and eateries are to be found along Portland St, right opposite the hotel.
My only concern was that the full breakfast could not be ordered before 7am and therefore if one is catching an early flight as we had to, there is no time to stay and eat it. Sadly we had to forego breakfast. If breakfast could start earlier, then this is definately a handy place to stay before flying, at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at the hotel and your favourable comments. I am sorry you missed breakfast, however whilst our restaurant does not open until 7am, we do offer a continental room service breakfast that is available from the early hours of the morning for guests who have an early departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#76 of 120 in Manchester
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#96 of 120 in Manchester
914 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#63 of 120 in Manchester
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $54 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing