We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gardens Hotel
Ranked #66 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just arrived from a shopping weekend, the hotel has everything we were looking for. Good central location, a few minutes walk from station and the shops. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room which was an internal one was not noisy but could do with a bit more lighting to make up for the lack of windows. But I would surely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Many Thanks for taking the time to post your comments following your recent visit to the hotel and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are looking into the lighting levels within the internal rooms, if you do stay in an internal room again - please ask for another lamp as we do have some at reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    427
    292
    126
    90
See reviews for
89
292
228
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on 20 November. I had a few questions for the lady on reception, she was mega helpful and pleasant - my room was a decent size and in decent condition, the breakfast was excellent, way above what I expected with the full English freshly prepared. Location was so central, only a few hudred metres from the train station, right on Piccadilly Gardens. Couple of small niggles, the toilet seat moved around a bit, and the fan in the bathroom needs replacing as it sounded like an old fog horn. Overall enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is always nice to be able to pass on good feedback to the staff. I have managed to find out what room you stayed in and will ask maintenance to look at the points raised. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was slightly concerned about the cost of the room given the very central location [in the too good to be true category...] but I shouldn't have been. The chap who checked me in was extremely friendly and helpful. Admittedly, the room was slightly tired in places but the bed was comfy, the linen was spotless and I had a good night's sleep. All in all, I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGaviganos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Many thanks for the review posted following your recent stay at the hotel. We do try to ensure that our rates are competitive. I will pass on your comments concerning the friendly receptionist, this is something that we work hard, it is important to make a good impression to guests on arrival.
If you do recommend the hotel, please ensure you use our website for the "best rate guarantee" and a free breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Enjoyed our brief stay at The Gardend Hotel and i am sure we will return. The location is excellent and allows to the return to the hotel and drop your shopping off before returning to the shops. The room was fine as was the breakfast. They also have a deal with a nearby car park with was £8.50 for 24 hours. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooliekev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Many Thanks for posting your review following your recent visit to the hotel, If you do decide to visit again, please ensure you book via our website to get the 'best price guarantee' and a free breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is my second visit to this Hotel, couldn't have been a better location for my requirements. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My special thanks go once again to Anthony, unfortunately we didn't get much time to chat! and to Paris. My room was more than comfortable, almost home from home! Have already recommended it to family and friends and will be visiting again whenever I am back in England.
jaqui zoetmulder

Room Tip: front of hotel is a bit noisey. Room higher was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaqui Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your second visit to the hotel, I will pass on your comments to the staff and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Booked in advance, price was brilliant. Updated to double room without any problems, staff was very helpful. Centeal location, clean and nice. The only thing room was very hot as there no windows, ventilation needs to be better.

Room Tip: Choose with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleona56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Many Thanks for the comments posted following your recent stay at the hotel. Sorry that you found the room too warm, if you do stay again, our heating is on a timer system but in each room there is a temperature control for guests to regulate themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I love Manchester. I live 40 miles away in Preston and go there with my GF as often as possible. We try different places but this time we decided on the Gardens. Great location and several car parks within easy reach. Reception staff were cool I.e. not too gushy, a tiny bit cheeky (its a Manc thing and it appeals to me) but very helpful. The hotel is nice, we were in the top floor executive rooms which, for the money, are great. All except the floor. It squeaks and groans for England! I swear, they must have asked the developers to make it this squeaky. Either that or everyone was deaf. The bed didn't squeak though (use your imagination) which was good.
The breakfast was OK, nothing to write home about - one rasher of cheap bacon, one sausage etc. (They bring it to you so no chance of filling your plate lol!).
All in all though we both enjoyed it and we left our bags in a secure room at no charge after checking out so we could have a walk around the area.
Would I return? Yes. It's now on my list.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoviceClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the hotel. I will pass on your comments to the staff who will appreciate the favourable remarks. It is shame that you were disappointed with the breakfast as we usually receive good feedback on this. The floors!!! yes they are very squeaky and creaky, the hotel was converted from a very old building so this was inherited. I am glad to see that this has not put you off returning to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#49 of 116 in Manchester
1,628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Property: Gardens Hotel
Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing