We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Etrop Grange
Ranked #68 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Viewed this hotel on line and decided to book it as it was close to airport and allowed you to leave your car, with hotel transport to and from airport. Was told that we would be given an upgraded room as we would have no time for breakfast due to flight times. On arrival everything was fine staff very friendly,given the keys to or room only to discover the bed wasnt even made up !!!!
Shown to another room which carpet was filthy and mould in bathroom not exactly an upgrade !!!!
On our return TWICE i had to phone for the courtesy car after a 25 min wait it eventually arrived. Would not consider returning and would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear moonfox

I would be grateful if you could find the time to contact me directly so that I may investigate further the issues encountered during your stay. Unfortunately, from your screen name I am unable to ascertain which rooms you occupied, and if there was a specific reason why the transfer was delayed in meeting you at the airport.

I am truly sorry that you will neither recommend nor return, but I firmly believe that once the soft-refurbishment is completed, any disappointing facets of your stay will no longer apply.

I look forward to discussing this further with you.

Kindest regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    389
    204
    167
    113
See reviews for
157
589
80
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very convenient for the airport, comfortable and with friendly and helpful staff. However it was impossible to be comfortable in either the foyer or the bar because of the unnecessary music which made reading impossible.

Room Tip: Don't fo at all if you wnt to read in peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Tim S

Please accept my apologies regarding the welcome music played through the lobby and bar areas. Although we do try to create a welcoming friendly atmosphere, with various lighting and music available to us, obviously on this occasion we have got that wrong for you.

We would be happy to reduce the volume, or switch it off completely, if we know that any of our guests are disturbed by the music, so should you have occasion to return, please do speak with my Reception team who would be happy to accommodate.

I note we do have room for improvement in other areas from your scoring, and I am certain once our soft-refurbishment is completed, should you return we would have the opportunity to show you just what the Hotel is truly about.

Kind regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed here the night before we flew out. Great place and friendly reception staff. fab location - minutes away from the airport. Efficient and well worth staying here. When we landed the car arrived at the collection point within 5 minutes wait which was really handy. Will definataley stay here again.
L. Kaur (Walsall)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakhbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Lakhbir

Such a great review, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with all our Tripadvisor friends.

With our impending soft-refurbishment throughout, I am certain we will score highly enough to earn that 5th star rating upon your next stay. I know the team and I are already looking forward to the challenge.

Kind regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very helpful staff at hotel. Conveniently situated for airport. Room comfortable but not easy to reach. Lack of lift could be a problem. Did not eat there but food looked good if a little expensive. drinks were quite expensive.Efficient transfer to airport.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank welshwalkersWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear welshwalkersWales

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at the Etrop Grange Hotel. Built in 1780, the main house and the various additions added over the years combine to create what we feel is a wonderful amalgamation – although as you state, it can appear confusing at first glance winding your way around the building.

Signage can be found throughout, and the team are always on hand to provide any assistance with luggage, particularly as we do not have a lift. I am sorry you did not have opportunity to sample from our AA Rosette Wineglass Restaurant, although perhaps if you have the opportunity to return to the Etrop Grange you would find the time.

Kind regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife attended a wedding here and stayed over on the night of the wedding.
The wedding venue was lovely, it is a historical looking building and really quirky, our room looked like a scene from a Christmas carol, (minus the ghosts obviously) with high beds and slanting ceilings, with a lovely scenic view of frosty gardens out of our window.
Really nice choice of hotel to get married in.
The food at the wedding was of a really high standard. Great selection and great taste.
The breakfast the next morning was even better with a massive selection of fruits, cereals, continental cheeses/meats, and pastries. Plus I had a full English, because I'm greedy.
The staff were really good, attentive and the guys behind the front desk were really welcoming and natural, sometimes they seem fake when you visit a hotel, but these guys were genuine. Nice to see.
Will definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Chris S

After reading such a wonderful review, the only tinge of disappointment comes from not having earned the 5th star. Perhaps that would change should you ever decide to return to the Etrop Grange once our soft-refurbishment is completed.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and we ensure our guests start theirs in the right way with the various items on offer. This along with the high quality ingredients for the Wedding or Restaurant fare ensure we are worthy of our AA Rosette!

All the team and I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Etrop should you ever find yourself in the area once again.

Kindest regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAKEFIELD
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed her the night before our cruise, we were not very impressed as there was mould on the ceiling, paint was flaking off the bathroom wall. Our evening meal was very poor and the service in the restaurant was not good, we had our soup spilt all over our table by the waitress as she gave it to us, she said sorry these are hard to carry, she never came back to clean it all up through our whole meal. If staying at Manchester airport in future we will always now go back to the Marriot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear yorkscouple

Given the impending soft-refurbishment of the Hotel, I truly believe it would be a shame should you decide not to return to the Etrop Grange. I am sure we are the equal of the Marriott, and I know the team and I would welcome the challenge of making sure you believe this as well.

That said, I would be grateful if you could contact me separately so I may investigate further, as some of the issues you encountered are not down to wear and tear. My Housekeeping and Restaurant Managers are keen to know more about your stay so they may take corrective action with their teams. I must also say that there is a Duty Manager on shift at all times, and are available should any guest ever have the time to discuss this further whilst at the Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review you experience whilst staying at the Etrop Grange Hotel, and I do hope we can convince you to provide a second opportunity for us to provide the service and the product we are all so proud of.

Kindest regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford, uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, conveniently located for the airport and the train station with frequent transfers to and from both, would definitely use the hotel again as ideal for both the airport and also for the city centre

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljk-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear ljk-1

Thank you for your kind words, and for taking the time to review and share you experience with the Tripadvisor family.

The team and I all hope we can look forward to welcoming you to the Etrop Grange again in the near future, particularly once our soft-refurbishment is completed - we'd be eager to get your feedback, and for you to share that too!

Kindest regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Property: Etrop Grange
Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Etrop Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing