We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Etrop Grange
Ranked #68 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We checked into this hotel as the it was the closet to the airport and car parking was included.

Check in was simple and the receptionist told us we were on the first floor. I looked hard for a lift but could not find one so eventually I found a member of staff (the receptionist then had a queue). The young man (sadly I did not get his name) told us there was no lift but would we like him to carry our suitcases up the stairs (43kgs total)-it was quite a route to our room and he took them all the way. Great service from this young man however the receptionist should have really asked us if we would like help.

The room was reasonable size and a 4 poster bed.

Next morning we were whisked over to the airport by minibus-not set times for transfers as and when transfers were needed.

On our return we telephoned the hotel who told us the mini bus would be there in 5 mins and were immediately picked up and dropped near our car in the car park.

Great location with excellent transfers -great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardandJanet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
There are newer reviews for Etrop Grange
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

My Partner and I stayed over on the 21st May prior to our holiday the following day. The meals we had that evening although I thought were expensive but freshly cooked and tasted okay. The breakfast the following morning, had a brilliant choice of food.

Our bedroom was spacious and the bed needed a ladder to get on, it was so high. Very comfortable and the furnishing was of a good quality. The transfer from hotel to the airport was smoothly done and the driver pleasant.

On our return we were collected promptly. I was ready for a cup of tea; so asked the driver if was possible to get one before driving home; he said no problem it could be ordered. I asked for tea for 2. This arrived in a teapot with 2 biscuits. Although okay, I didn't think it was hot enough or of any superior flavour. It provided 5 small cups of tea. When I asked for the bill, I was staggered to find out the unspectacular refreshment had cost £7. It is the most expensive 'hot' drink I have had in my life and I'm 59. The drink consists simply of hot water and 2 teabags, It's ridiculous. Please be aware anyone else, ask before you buy refreshments.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Prompt pick up service from airport, although assistance with luggage to our room not offered this time! Lovely clean room, quiet, good sleep. Night porter/ reception desk lovely guy, so cheerful & helpful at 4. 15 am! Helped us to our courtesy taxi. Great place to stay, will be back !!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

It is always great to welcome guests back to the hotel. I am sorry that we did not assist you with your luggage on this occasion. It is remis of us, my apologies.
Let me know for your next visit to Etrop and we will be happy to upgrade your accommodation.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel visually looks great and has nice interior decor. We stayed for a friends party that was held there. The location is a bit out of the way so we had to walk quite far to access the nearest shop. The hotel had wifi and rooms were a nice style and clean. The food was nice and breakfast was your standard continental or full English, but was nice enough to start the day.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Etrop. As a helpful tip, if you need to pop to the shops, one of the drivers can take you across to the Airport terminal and then collect you. They have lots of choice for shopping. If it is just for a walk we are right next door to an open park.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

brilliant hotel -very welcoming - room very nice and cosy - bar area very friendly. Food was the very best and served by very attentive staff. We will stay there next tri. So close to the airport but no noise from aircraft. Easy drop off and pick up.

Room Tip: they all looked good and no-one said a negative word about anything.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veronica b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Friends of ours booked us in to this hotel for a golfing weekend. Being near an airport, next to it actually, we feared the worst. Our fears were totally unfounded. We did not hear any aircraft noise at all over the weekend. It was very busy, as you would expect, for an airport hotel where most guests only stay for one night. We stayed for three! The food was was outstanding with a different menu for the twelve of us each night. We met one of the chefs every evening and the rest of the staff were brilliant. Our room in the basement was more than adequate and the bed very comfortable. Our hosts had a suite with a four poster bed (suitable for honeymooners). The breakfast was a real treat, as on two of the days it was A la Carte the eggs Benedict were awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower ground floor were the quietest,but don't have the room at the end (51?) of th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Chose the hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. From pre-arrival enquiries answered cheerfully on the phone through to the old-fashioned welcome at reception with bags carried to the room this was a stay worth remembering. One of our party was anxious about over heavy duvets which are now getting common but the duvet provided was just right. The room was really quiet even though you can see the Airport buildings a few hundred yards away. Free transport to and from the station very prompt. Dining room service excellent - we only had dinner once but it was high quality - the wine prices are a bit steep!

All staff very helpful - would always ask if they could help if you passed them in the corridor.

Room Tip: If you want a twin, specifiy it when booking but phone a few days ahead and confirm. (This was a hin...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monsieur_Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#59 of 119 in Manchester
3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $93 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Etrop Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing