We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Etrop Grange
Ranked #69 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Renishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Etrop Grange the night before our holiday flight, it was so nice to find a hotel which was unspoiled, with very polite staff who could not do enough to please us, the rooms are of a very high standard, we had an evening meal and were more than delighted with the standard of the food. We will definitely stay there again; I only hope it doesn’t change.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    394
    206
    172
    117
See reviews for
159
604
81
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at hotel prior to holiday departing from Manchester. Used stay and park offer, good value. Rooms tidy, but on small side. Used restaurant and bar. Had steak which was excellent, partner had similar but hers not so good. But still edible. Great guy on bar, very chatty and good service. Used shuttle service to and from airport. Can't fault the driver, bags in and out, swiftly arrived on return to UK. If you looking for a hotel, close to airport you can't go far wrong here!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

we booked park and fly
very nice hotel ,reception staff very helpful ,polite ,smiling
great room , nice & clean ,pleanty of hot water
tead ,coffie facilties
transfer to air port ,very good ,driver helped with suit cases
on return mini bus waiting , my car was parked outside main gate waiting
for us
perfect start and finish to a holiday
would stay at Etrop grange agian

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice now before a early flight the following day. The hotel has great character and is very comfortable and clean. We have booked through booking.com on both occasions and found this a cheaper option than the hotel website. The transfer to Manchester airport is approx 5 mins which is great after a long flight, the hotel was very quick to collect us and nothing seems a problem to them. The breakfast is very good and staff offer good service. The only thing I would like to add although they offer you on site parking they are keen to ask for your car keys to park offsite I have declined this on 2 occasions and my car has been perfectly save within the hotel grounds. Overall one of the best airport hotels I have stayed in and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed with family on a park and stay package.
On arrival, staff were bickering at reception about a delayed flight but eventually decided to check us in.
Our room was was dark, furniture mismatched and tired. Bed sheets had holes in and the bathroom was in need of a make over.

It seemed the delayed flight had thrown the hotel into panic, we couldn't even book a table for 6.30pm because 'the delayed passengers may want their dinner and the kitchen would be busy'

When we did get to eat, the food was overlooked and indelible. Certainly not worth the wait.

Room service breakfast did not arrive because our door hanger was not collected. A breakfast was hurriedly put together - not enough cups and mouldy croissants. We could not eat it.

The white-knuckle ride to the airport just about finished me off!

I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesoupkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to complete a review. It was obviously a challenging evening for both the airport and the hotel and I am sorry that we allowed this to affect our normal standards. Please do consider us for the future, let me have a note of your requirements and we can ensure we deliver Etrop’s usual service.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a conference with 20+ others. Staff looked after us really well and with good humour. Piping hot buffet breakfast, delicious lunch and endless supplies of iced water, coffees and teas and pastries during our conference.
My room was lovely and the bed was soooo comfy and a kind of half four poster.
Special thanks has to go Luciano (I think that was his name), without whom I would still be walking the maze of corridors trying to find my way back to my room!! What a true gent.
I hope I get chance to return.
Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindmillWAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
271 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Whilst the hotel has a few shortcomings .... luke-warm showers, food average, decor dated .... the dedicated and enthusiastic staff are marvellous. If you book an early call, you get a call from a person, bang on the time, who asks you what you want for breakfast ... not an automated alarm call. Airport convenience with Country House comfort and a quirky personal service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
1.1 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Property: Etrop Grange
Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Etrop Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing